We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Reasonable base for touring Old SJ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reasonable base for touring Old SJ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here this week with two friends on a four day trip to explore old town. We had a reasonably priced room on the third floor, nice bed and small bathroom, shower only. No elevator in the hotel but there is someone around to help ladies with heavy bags. Quaint lobby, Bogart on the loop movies of course, 24/7. Free coffee with a small cafe for a decent breakfast, brunch on weekends. Guests enjoy a price reduction.
We always tip daily for the room service, but once had no extra tp, solved that by getting some downstairs, also a miscue left the room undone one day. It was quickly remedied by staff. Overall, very good deal, air in the room was nice after a long hot day of touring, walking. Wear very comfy shoes.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TopSarge41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    258
    77
    21
    14
See reviews for
112
509
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I would have given this place a 10/10 if not for the construction right outside the hotel. But well, this was beyond their control.
The hotel is well designed, the furniture were hand-picked, creating a wonderful feel to the place. A sanctuary amidst the noise and dust outside.
The best part of this hotel has got to be the staff. They were so helpful, going out of the way to assist us. Special mention to Juan and one more spectacled guy (so sorry for not remembering his name). We were so amazed by their hospitality.
If you're visiting old san Juan, this place is a must stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank genhxa2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Genhxa2707!

Thank you so much for your review, we are very excited about your comments about Juan and other employees. We all take pride and satisfaction in what we do, and you on the other hand make it all worth it with your comments and pleasant visit!

We are so over the construction and it's only been 43 days. Yes, we are counting! Thankfully they have finished pouring concrete entirely in front of the Hotel and have moved to our right side past the intersection. We have had only one complaint from noise on the rooms towards that side of the hotel when they were drilling up the old concrete but that part is over. We are very thankful to all the hard working crew in the construction, and to our San Juan Mayor for tripling up efforts in order to affect tourism the least.

We hope you can visit us again when we are completely beautiful again!

All the best to you in your travels!
CasaBlanca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here after some beach time in Fajardo. We wanted to get a chance to see Old San Juan and walk around as much as possible so we wanted a hotel in the middle of all of it. Hotel Casablanca fit that mold. The staff there was great and very helpful when it came to offering up suggestions for places to eat and things to do. My only complaint would be the construction on Fortaleza st that was occuring when we were there. The road will be beautiful with cobblestone down the middle of it but when we were there the construction noise was a little loud. Overall, if you're wanting to be fully immersed in Old San Juan I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gocards166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Gocards166!

Thank you so much for your pleasant comment and five star rating despite the construction. We have survived construction better than we anticipated, thank to all of you for being such good troopers! We couldn't have done it without your patience and understanding. If it is true that we received massive cancellations after we sent out our "Fortaleza under Construction" notifications we are very pleased that we have done all we can to make sure you have a wonderful time here in Puerto Rico. We expect to see you all next time when all the dust has "literally" settled!

When the road reopens on December 15th, 2013 we will have gorgeous blue/gray cobblestones, super wide sidewalks finished in granite tiles for a totally new experience of Fortaleza Street like never before.

See you again for trip to Puerto Rico part II !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I researched my trip to PR for months; I was looking for a hotel located right in the heart of Old San Juan affordably priced without sacrificing comfort. We were very happy with our stay at the hotel, we stayed in room 2I it was clean & since it’s located to the back of the hotel it remained quiet even with the construction going on outside. The breakfast was delicious and guests receive 20% off their bill. There is no elevator so if you are unable to walk up stairs I would suggest you stay on a lower floor, but do attempt to climb to the top at least once to enjoy the rooftop view. The only thing that bugged me was the window in our room that looked out to the hallway, it needs a curtain because it lit up the room at night, I had to put a towel over it to block out some of the light. One last thing I have to mention is hotel employee Miguel, he was so kind in helping us plan our stay in PR, he helped us map out sites, and gave us advice on where to eat and drink. He is very polite and gracious.

Room Tip: No Elevator so stay on lower floor. Fortaleza street is currently being repaved until December 2013...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwilliams117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Kareen,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you had a chance to enjoy our breakfast and the view from our rooftop. We have installed a curtain in 2I today thanks to your comment and have made a list of other rooms that might have this same issue so it can be fixed for future guests. It is incredible all the little things that can slip out attention and this is why we really like Trip Advisor as a tool for communication.

You guys make us better with every review!

We hope to see you back in PR soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a great boutique hotel in the main street in old sj. Is a 5 floor biulding in the old centre, so don't expect an elevator here or in any old centre in any part of the world. Great rest and family like service. Say Hi to the chef!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtravel1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Jtravel1967,

Thanks for your review!!! We will say hi to Chef Felvio for you, I take it you liked breakfast. We are very pleased to read your comments and sometimes wish everyone knew about how good our breakfast really is.

Please visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed for 2 nights in a standard queen after having spend a few days doing the "beach resort" thing on the east end of the island. I'm definitely glad we decided to stay in Old San Juan itself instead of nearby - was great to have a home base to drop stuff off and take a break during the day - location is fantastic!

The Casablanca appealed to us because of it's uniqueness and affordability and it delivered on that. We'd been a little spoiled at the beach resort with a free upgrade to premium ocean view balcony room so in comparison, the room seemed a little cramped, but I know it's not a fair comparison. The decor in the room/bathroom was fun, the A/C worked great, and it wasn't too noisy despite the construction. The bed was ok - frame was a little creaky but the mattress was ok. Pillows were a little flat for me but I like them really fluffy. A wardrobe or closet would have been nice and I did miss having a hair dryer and an iron in the room. We might have been able to get one at the front desk - we didn't follow up to ask and there wasn't any kind of "welcome" book in the room that we could find out about amenities available; that's an easy fix that would be nice.

Overall: good value, great location, unique rooms. Some small things to improve on but nothing critical.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a brief tour last May when we had a day stop over and I fell in love that day but we never saw our room. I imagined for 5 months what our room looked like and we were not disappointed.
Check in was a breeze as we had already paid in advance. Now for the trip up to the fourth floor.
I had the two carry on bags, two shoulder bags and my husband had the 50 pound suitcase. If you've read other reviews, you know there is no elevator. Yes, its true... the stairs are BRUTAL.

Got to our room, 4G and knew that every step we took up to our room was more than worth it!
Our room was actually on the larger side with a large wardrobe and a smaller desk with the tv on it. Bathroom was good size but there is no counter space like everyone states. But there is a stand in the corner that you can place your toiletries on.

We had a walk out with our room. It was a large space with four lounge chairs. We spent a lot of time out there. Noise wasn't an issue inside the room but you could hear the street noise from our walk out balcony.
Almost forgot about the rooftop. Great views of the city.
There were imperfections with the room, peeling paint but to me, it was part of the charm. The linens were clean, bed was comfortable, was in Old San Juan... why fret about the little stuff.

We had breakfast at Ricks Café in the back of the lobby. Guests of the hotel get 20% off their bill. Decent breakfast. Coffee is available to guests 24 hours a day, no charge and my husband who loves his coffee said it was pretty good.

This hotel may not be for everyone but we will definitely be back and we will also book the same room and climb those BRUTAL stairs...

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohmandy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#4 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.8 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#6 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing