We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We shall return.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We shall return.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Although there is no elevator, our stay was very enjoyable.
Location is perfect. Walking distance to all sites in Old San Juan. Don't forget the Bacardi tour across the harbor. The ferry ride to Cataño is a pleasant trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Papote72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    285
    83
    27
    16
See reviews for
128
564
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dizzo1
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

we have been going to PR for the last 20 years , 2 to 4 times a year , each time we go we have stayed at a few hotels in the old san Juan , Casablanca opened a few years ago , we strolled buy it last year and took a look and said lets try it next time we go , we stayed one night last week and I wish we could have stayed a few more but we had to get to our house in Aguada. What a great location walking distance to all historic attractions, night lfe and some of the best resturants . The staff was very nice and the rooms where very clean , My wife and I had a room that was very romantic ,valted ceilings, large shower and a kingsize bed that was drapped in white linens , WOW , The reception area was very nice with art peices and some nice comfortable furniture , in the back of the hotel on the first floor they have a small bar and some tables for for you to eat at there resturant , we did not have time to eat there but in a few months we will get the chance , Our Son and his three children and wife had a room with a belcony right on fortalaza street ,it was very comfortable for them but they did say they had some noise from the street . all in all a very nice hotel with great location to go and enjoy old san juan !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night coming off a cruise that ended in San Juan. Location: perfect. Walking distance to everything in Old San Juan. Room was, though small, comfortable. The hotel has a rooftop patio with spectacular nearly 360 views of San Juan, including downtown, the port, Old San Juan, cruise terminal, forts, and ocean. So much to look at. Only a 20-minute taxi ride from airport. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with a large group and the staff was incredibly accommodating and helpful. The rooms are clean and each one has unique art work and design. A must see/do is the rooftop tubs. You can see the fort and the ocean on the other side (usually with a cruise ship docked). We enjoyed relaxing in the tubs snd gazingat the stars after a day if sight seeing in Old San Juan!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from July 10-12 and we liked it very much. The rooms are cozy and quiet which is very important since its in the heart of Old San Juan! From the rooftop you can see the San Cristobal fort which is a plus!

However, this hotel is a work in progress and they are still doing renovations but setting that aside is a good hotel to stay a couple of nights!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliennise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I read reviews about CasaBlanca before I booked my reservations so I knew about the hotel not having an elevator, some rooms not having elevators, etc. I wasn't expecting anything fancy for the price which was very reasonable for 4th of July weekend.

When I arrived check-in was quick and I was in room 5e. I packed light since I knew there was a possibility I would have hike several flights of stairs. The room was older but nicely decorated. I was surprised that there were two beds as i booked a queen room and didn't even see an option for double beds. The room had a small flat screen tv with direct tv. There are no outside windows all of the windows opened to inside the building but I was able to tell when the sun rose as the room got lighter.

The bathroom had a sink but the shower was large. The water pressure was a little low but not bad. The paint on the wall was peeling a little but not much. The room was clean but didn't have a closet or anywhere to hang clothes so luckily I used the second bed to Kay out clothes for the next day. Also the hotel gets loud of Fri, Sat nights with the bars and clubs that are around. You can hear it even in an inside room but I got in late both nights so it didn't bother me.

What really makes this hotel nice is the location. It's on Fortaleza which is a popular street in old San Juan with souvenir shops, restaurants, bars, etc and it's close to the piers. Its also across the street from Marmalade which is a great restaurant in PR. I walked everywhere I needed to go and only needed a cab to/from the airport. I forgot my toothbrush and wanted to pick up snacks and there is a CVS a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsNikkiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here prior to our cruise that departed out of San Juan. We loved it's location right in the middle of Old San Juan and only a couple of blocks from the cruise port. The decor was fabulous and the staff was very friendly and courteous. They were always ready and available to assist us with any of our needs and questions. On the day that we checked out, they allowed us to store our luggage there for the day since our cruise ship did not depart until later in the evening which allowed us another day to explore Old San Juan.

The only con that I could come up with was the fact that it did not have an elevator and our room was on the fourth floor. However, a member of the staff quickly grabbed our bags and carried them up to our room for us but we did have to bring them down ourselves. Although, I'm sure the staff would have been more than happy to assist us with carrying them down if we had asked. From what I understand, very few of the hotels in Old San Juan have elevators in them as they are mostly located in the older, original buildings which are fairly small in terms of a hotel. For what we got in return (comfort, service, decor, etc.), the lack of elevators was more than tolerable. In short, my wife and I absolutely fell in love with this hotel and we will be returning here on our next visit to San Juan!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing