We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“moroccan inspired hotel in Old San Juan”
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

hotel check-in = friendly and easy (cant check in until 3pm but can safely leave bags)
room (3B) = LARGE, separate sitting/sleeping areas, clean, comfy bed, lovely balcony (great sun)
*paint chipping from walls and some rust on bathroom vanity (can be off-putting at first)
amenities = SUPER rooftop bathes (5 total) - to soak and sunbathe (still under construction but lovely)
breakfast = complimentary plate is small but just enough (other menu items offered 20% off)
location = right in busy Old San Juan (can walk to marina, casino, restaurants, fort close by)
*cannot walk to Royal Caribbean port location (taxi ride, minimal cost - hotel will hail taxi for you)

We'd stay here again for sure!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank monikaesu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
There are newer reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 961 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great location. parking isn't too horrible, there is a city lot nearby.....wouldn't recommend street parking (very narrow streets). Once parked, hotel is a short walk....in great location. great value for location....front desk help was excellent, very helpful and recommended great places to eat. There are rooms without exterior windows, which is what we had, but this didn't matter, we were not in room that much. Room was clean, bathroom clean...no complaints...
we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Seriously, how much do you want to stay in your room.....your in OLD SAN JUAN...if your not walking...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00Mike117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Casablanca hotel before our cruise. We were looking for something a little different than the run-of-the-mill hotel strings and Casablanca was exactly that. Like nothing we have stayed in before! The artsie/boutique style was so unique and full of charm! The location is perfect! Walking distance to all the activities in Old San Juan and also the ports. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Looking foreward to the next time we visit San Juan and the Casablanca Hotel!

Room Tip: Keep in mind there is no elevator and the stairways are narrow, depending on your floor #... heavy s...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 57Hines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear 57Hines,

We are so unbelievably happy to hear you truly enjoyed your stay with us! We recently won an award for top 10 most affordable hotel in the Caribbean and we are very proud it is not only just about our affordable rates but that our service and the overall experience is one to remember.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel has a friendly staff. Joyce is very attentive and a very nice person to talk to.
The room was small but it is an old structure in a colonial city so that's something to consider; but it was comfortable. The decor is gorgeous. If you want to see all the museums and historic places in the Old San Juan and the location of this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

As soon as you step in the reception you will fall in love with the design! It's really unique. Rooms are quite good as well and well clean. Breakfast is included but the only negative point is the waiting time to be served. I don't know if it happens all the time but be prepared to wait even if it is not busy. We had to go to the airport and therefore it was quite stressing. On the positive aspect there are the soaking baths they have on the roof. It looks really like a terrace on Marrakesh. You can fill the bath with water and relax as much as you like. It's open also at night. However, they should tidy up a bit the terrace, part of it is like a building site. The hotel is also very central and close to any old San Juan attraction.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diamarchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Marusca,

Thank you so much for your review! It is an absolute pleasure to hear all your comments the fabulous and the not so fabulous so you keep us on our feet! We have had a meeting with our Restaurant team so we can be more speedy on service specially if you are about to head to the airport. Chef Felvio y very meticulous and makes everything from scratch for you, that is why it is so good! Fresh & delicious!

Thank you and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed there for my Honey moon in May 2012 for 4 nights.
The place is nice and in Old San Juan where it provides a nice walk to all sites , castles , cafes , restaurants , ocean ,....
I had the BB package ; the breakfast is simple ( Cereal - Milk - Coffee - Toast - Jam )

My Only concern was the room service specially changing the bed sheets , pillow sheets and bath towels ( the bed sheet were not clean in some days
The poor room service affected the cleanliness of the bed which caused some itching for me and my wife.

Other than the room service and bed sheets changing everything else was good and worth the money ( specially the location in Old San Juan )

Tip : Try to check the dates of Feria Internacional de Artesanías ( Artesania Festival ) that will be held in Old San Juan in 2014 , they have articrafts from all south american countries and musical shows everyday , usually held in May

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Looking for a place to spend the night before our cruise departed, Hotel Casablanca was the perfect choice. Right in the heart of Old San Juan, near the cruise terminals, shops and restaurants, the location couldn't be better. A funky, boutique hotel, Hotel Casablanca had plenty of charm and style. Best of all, the roof top patio was all set for sun worshipping, and even had oversized bathtubs for the epitome of relaxation! The only real warning of note is that, like most buildings in Old San Juan, there is no elevator, and the climb up the stairs may be over taxing for some. Myself, the next time I am in Old san Juan, I expect to stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,761 reviews
2.5 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
2.1 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $102 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing