We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel all round”
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Antigua
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel all round”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I travelled to San Juan with another couple. We really enoyed this hotel, it was clean and modern, the receptionist on arrival was extremely helpful and polite. The rooms had plenty of space with a very comfortable queen size bed, the en suite was modern and clean. The location was right in the centre of Old San Juan, so great for exploring the shops, the historic side of things, (or the bars!) We feel it was excellent value for money compared to other hotels. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: There is no lift so expect a hike up the stairs- it wasn't a problem for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    290
    83
    27
    17
See reviews for
131
581
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

After reading the mixed reviews here on Tripadvisor, I decided to give CasaBlanca a shot. The location turned out to be perfect for seeing Old San Juan. The employees were very sweet and welcoming. However, there were certain areas that could either be improved, or visitors should be aware of prior to booking.
The walk-up is imposing. Make certain you are in excellent condition or book a lower floor. The noise from the street is loud! During our stay the fire alarm went off several times (a day). The breakfast (provided free) would have been decent (if not minimal) coffee, pastries and toast - however, every day one or more of these items were depleted and took a bit of time to be replaced. Our room for two had two bath towels, yet just one hand and washcloth and no bath mat. And, I don't think I've ever been in a shower without a soap dish before. Or a shower curtain liner.
So, my expectations were such that I was not expecting a luxury property, so many little things could be done to improve their guests stays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foredan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Loved the location -- being able to walk around Old San Juan was a treat. Easy to walk safely to the waterfront and to the fort from this central location. The decor is very comfortable and unique. Our room was on second floor, and like a few other reviews, a bit noisy...but it really didn't bother us. Our room had a balcony out to the street, a beautiful view of the Old San Juan architecture. Make sure you stay for breakfast which included an organic menu. The chef has it going on!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with more than two, Room #2 right at the top of the stairs on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We only stayed here one night before we flew home, but this is a great place to stay in Old San Juan. The location is great, it's close to all of the tourist spots in Old San Juan, probably a 15 minute walk at most to any of them. The guys at the front desk are very helpful in telling you a place to park. They recommend the parking garage which was maybe $10 a day which is cheap in Old San Juan. Many restaurants and bars close by as well and the room had a balcony to hang out and take in the nightlife below. The only complaint was our bed sounded like an air mattress, not sure what was going on with that, but it was comfortable.
We will stay here again when back in San Juan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed on the second floor of this charming historical hotel in old San Juan, Puerto Rico. The hotel is located in the center of most shopping, dining and site-seeing on foot. The brick paved roads and sidewalks are very narrow and the buildings very old so do be careful of traffic during the day. But at night the streets are filled with people walking to restaurants, night clubs, casinos and very few cars driving. A policeman or security person is on just about every corner and it is safe to walk about even at night. The CasaBlanca hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful, suggesting great places to eat and sites to see. The rooms are small, ours had no closets, the water in the shower was funky turning hot and cold at random while showering with no soap dish in the shower, but the room was clean even though the walls could use a fresh coat of paint. I found it quite charming and nicely decorated. Silent movies of Casa Blanca were showing in the lobby and complimentary coffee and iced water are available in the lobby as well. We stayed one night prior to boarding our cruise ship bound for the Virgin Islands. I liked the hotel but there are no elevators and the hotel is five stories high, so bear that in mind when choosing to stay here, you will be climbing stairs. The roof top offers 5 huge bathtubs to relax in while taking in the views of the city and the bay, definitely worth the climb. If you are physically fit this is a very unique hotel to stay in from the beautiful chandelier hanging in the lobby to the romantic tubs under the stars on the roof.

Room Tip: Bear in mind this hotel has 5 floors and no elevator when checking in. However if you venture to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leachwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal quebec Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful surprise this we had read a few negative reviews. It is set in a convenient location. Close to piers, Staff is very friendly and always ready to help you. We were able to leave our bags there even after checkout in order to do some site seeing.
Our room had a very romantic feeling. The ceiling are very high. The shower was also huge and separare from the bathroom. The air conditioner was very loud but we didn't really need it. The bed was extremely comfortable and so was the pillow, so I was able to sleep like a baby. One funny incident was that the staff told us that there were tubs on the roof top. We were thinking hot tubs but there were literally 2 rows of 3 tubs with a focet (like this kind you with ussually find inside a home) but here they were on the roof top surrounded by some houseplants. Yes the roof top needs some renovations but other than that it is a nice setting. There is no elevator in this hotel so it can be tough if you are on the fourth floor with heavy lugguages. We were lucky to travel lite and to be on the second floor.
The breakfast was included but by 8 am there was not much choice, good thing there was a starbucks around the corner so we did not starve.

Room Tip: choose a room on the 2nd floor max
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pagani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Casablanca for three nights. We specifically asked for a room with balcony onto the main street. I had read the reviews so I knew it would be loud. And it was (mostly workers cleaning up from the day), but for the experience we wanted it was worth it. The staff were very nice and offered great suggestions for restaurants and bars. The rooms were nice. We didn't want a generic Holiday Inn so this unique hotel fit the bill. With this type of place we expected to miss out on some of the amenities of a standard hotel (down comforter, refridgerator, etc.), but that's also part of the charm.The location was the best part. We walked to every site we wanted to see. Our one suggestion would be for the hotel to open the wine bar at night or at least offer to sell a bottle to guests. We would have enjoyed to wind down on the rooftop after a long day. Although after we realized the bar wasn't open, we bought wine from the local grocery store!!

Room Tip: No elevator. Street balcony rooms are loud at night, but the payoff is being on the balcony enjoyin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,690 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing