We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best VAlue in Old San Juan”
Review of Il Bacaro Venezia

Il Bacaro Venezia
Ranked #236 of 1,014 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Milford, NH
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best VAlue in Old San Juan”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was introduced to this restaurant shortly after it first opened (2003 or 2004??) by a friend who lives in Old San Juan. I have been there many times, but not in several years. Nothing has changes. The food is simple, but well prepared, reasonably priced and the wine is also reasonably priced. Not fancy, but it has a comfortable neighborhood feel. Every time I go there, and this time was no exception, the vast majority of the customers are local residents. The tourists still have not found this gem in Old San Juan just one-half of a block from the corner of Calle Cruz and Calle San Francisco on Plaza de Armas. Had the caprese and penne with the best puttanesca sauce that I have ever had, even in Boston's North End.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo C, Owner at Il Bacaro Venezia, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
I always thought the sangria was our forte, but evidently my supervision is required... Thanx for the helpful feedback. Riccardo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    31
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san juan, puerto rico
Level Contributor
254 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A bit of Venezia in Old San Juan.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Italians can't help himself we need good Italian food matter where we go. Naturally the cuisines has to be based on what they find locally so it's not always 100 percent. But this place is good. Good representation of northern Italian food with some
favorite southern dish is included. A few taste to become a bit Puerto Rican overall true to their Italian heritage. A great place when you're done with rice and beans.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariap1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Italian Delight in Old San Juan”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Delightful stuffed pastas in an enchanting and romantic setting right in Old San Juan. When you can, select the coveted front seating table for two: You will get to savor Il Bacaro Venezia’s food and atmosphere while having front views of Old San Juan’s Cruz Street. Then again Il Bacaro Venezia is so charming and cozy you will come back for the food and the atmosphere that embraces the whole restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo C, Owner at Il Bacaro Venezia, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It must really be true, charm does go a long way!! We try hard to deliver, thank you for the feed back, we'll make sure to keep the window table available on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian food in Puerto Rico!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice atmosphere, and very good food with fast and efficient service.
Risotto di asparagi and Gnocchi gorgonzola are amazing!
A must try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo C, Owner at Il Bacaro Venezia, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Grazie!! Good feed back from someone who has certainly tried these dishes several times elsewhere(Italian guest) is very gratifying. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian food in Old San Juan.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, cozy atmosphere. I have recommended this restaurant to many friends and they all lace it too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TereArzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo C, Owner at Il Bacaro Venezia, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good word of mouth feedback is what keeps this little neighborhood place going through the years. We are all immensely grateful for that! See you soon, and thanks again. Riccardo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacaro Venezia also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Il Bacaro Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing