We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egh. Kinda feel like we wasted our money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We arrived at the Sheraton on Valentine's Day almost three hours after check in time and were originally told that our room wasn't ready and it would be another hour... but then, while we were doing a pre-check-in, the room showed as available, so what could have been a big deal, turned out not to be.
The facility of the hotel is beautiful. Very well done and open. Very clean.
The front desk staff was nice, not over friendly, but nice enough. The staff outside was super friendly and helpful, and got cabs for us immediately when we needed them. We were given two good restaurant suggestions before we went into Old San Juan.

Our room was large and the design is great. Beautiful bed and chair in the room. The Bliss bath products were a plus for me who adores Bliss.

Samuel, the bartender in the main lobby lounge was fantastic! He made great drinks, was super friendly, and we had a lovely conversation with him about different local foods and things to do. Valentine's night, there was also a very talented singer performing, and we really enjoyed listening to her.

Those are the good things; here are the bad:

The dream bed... it not a dream. It felt like a basic, hotel grade mattress. Nothing special at all.
But the BIGGEST problem with the room is that there are only sheers over the majority of the window space- which means that you are woken up with the sun blazing into your room the second the sun is up. That is NOT good.... and reason enough that I would never stay here again.

The location of the hotel isn't great. It's between the beach areas and Old San Juan... which means you can't walk to anything and whether you go to the beach or to OSJ, you're going to pay $30 round trip cab fare.

We spent the day roaming around El Morro and Old San Juan and were tired enough that we decided to just head back to the hotel to have dinner... big mistake. The Choices restaurant on site was having a Valentine's deal, and I think you could order off the regular menu as well... but either way, we weren't interested. The menu was small and uninteresting. And had nothing on there that was any type of Puerto Rican food- disappointing. The food in the lounge was more a tapas type menu, and not really what we were looking for either. We were looking for a nice gourmet style Puerto Rican meal or seafood of some type, but after asking the front desk for suggestions close by and getting none, we gave up and ended up ordering delivery pizza b/c by that point we were just tired and hungry... we saw the delivery guy in the lobby about 6 or 7 times while we were waiting on ours to arrive, so obviously, more than just us had the same issue.

For breakfast the next morning, we were hoping to be able to order food and eat outside by the pool (which was beautiful), but the pool side cafe wasn't opened (it closed early the night before as well... and the pool closed at 8- super early in my opinion) We ended up eating the Choices breakfast buffet for $19 each... it was your typical overpriced hotel buffet. Not bad at all, but not worth $40 for the two of us either.

Check out was painless. They do put a $100 hold on your card for things like, breakfast and the bar, etc, and that’s fine, but the employee who checked me in would not have told me this except that I asked him why he needed to run my card when I had pre-paid for the stay. I don’t have a problem with them putting a hold on my account… but I do have a problem with them not telling me this up front.

So overall, it was just kind of a blah experience. We could have stayed somewhere else for much cheaper… and not had to spend $100 in cab fares… and it would have been really, really nice to be able to sleep in on a getaway weekend and not be woken up with the sun.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superwoman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,284)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,956 - 1,962 of 2,285 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2010

We were staying here for 3 nights last minute due to a flight cancelation home and we loved the hotel. The housekeeping was a joke on the 7th floor though. We had to ask for our towels, washcloths, etc. Overall, the hotel was great! Great pool, casino, everything but housekeeeping was great! The location of the hotel is not very good though for restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertoluvsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed for one night in December before a cruise. Great location if your going on a cruise...right near the Pan American cruise terminal. The hotel is brand new and beautifully decorated. Loved the pool area, especially the private cabanas. Restaurants are a bit pricey, but the food was great. Although we didn't eat there, the restaurant next to the convention center (Ficus) had a more affordable menu and seemed like it would have been nice.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ml_812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Hi can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel.

The staff, across the board, from the guys at the front door to the room service attendants to the dancers (!!) in the casino to the amazing personality pool waiters/waitresses to the front desk people! EVERYONE was happy to be there and happy to help us.

We were there for ten days over Christmas and had a wonderful time. Personally, I loved the location. We were close to Old San Juan, Condado and highways so we could get up and go. We felt like we had won a prize--a brand new hotel with people who were happy to help us and it wasn't swamped with tourists.

The hotel is beautiful. The pool area is relaxing and laid out wonderfully. We previously stayed in a hotel with a very similar layout in Curacoa (Marriott) last year. They both have pools above the ground level which makes for interesting views. This pool area far outshines the one in Curacao--larger with more room for privacy. The only negative regarding the pool area is that whatever kind of lounge chairs they bought they are quickly mildewing.

The gym is AMAZING! Everything is new, there was ALWAYS availability and there were diagrams on the walls describing different exercises.

The only downfalls were that the spa was not open and there was only one restaurant open. Also, the pay-per-view movies program was not yet up and running so we devised our own setup using our laptop. This is to be expected for a new hotel. I'm sure these things will be functional soon.

This is a beautiful, brand new hotel with wonderful, helpful employees. Thank you to everyone for providing us with a much needed relaxing vacation! (especially Dominique)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltime47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

The Sheraton had exceptional customer service, was very clean and comfortable and was the Convention center is right outside the door. Taxis to Old San Juan are reasonable and during the day, buses are also right outside the hotel.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
Thank MariaR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

New hotel but poor service. As a Platinum SPG member, very poor recognition and no upgrade. I really wish I stayed at another hotel! Do yourself a favor and stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFOPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPR, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2010

We were very disappointed to read your review about your experience at the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino.
While we did not have any available suites for upgrading, we truly regret that you did not feel that you received the recognition that your status deserves. We strive to recognize all of our SPG members and take these criticisms very seriously.
We are very proud of our team here at the Sheraton and have shared your comments with our staff as we continually strive to provide excellent service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

It's nice to stay at a new hotel. Everything is so....new. The bed was okay, not the highest quality.

The location was a set back. We used taxis to go every where. If you are planning on spending most of your time in Old San Juan, Condado, or Isla Verde, add $30 to the room rate for the taxi cost.

They had most of the opening day bugs worked out when we go there on 12/27.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,909 reviews
4.7 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
4.4 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $177 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. Our hotel in San Juan, Puerto Rico features a comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots, all for a premier place for you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing