We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for pre cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great for pre cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was a great hotel for a pre-cruise out of San Juan! It was a great location to the cruise port, clean, great pool area, casino, and we felt safe in this part of San Juan. Rooms were large with a modern decor. We traveled with a large group and everyone was please with their rooms. I would recommend this hotel for a pre cruise. The only down side was that their wasn't anything in the area to do with in walking distance. Only one restaurant across the street. The hotel was secluded from town or any night life. Other than that, we all had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4qqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, sales coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review

We appreciate your positive feedback in regards to your recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    703
    283
    94
    82
See reviews for
447
635
86
471
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Metro Region, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is perfect overall. The hotel staff is super friendly and are always asking in what they may help you with to keep enjoying your stay. The infinity pool is gorgeous over looking the San Juan Bay. It's great for parties and is conveniently located right next to the Convention Center. A Must Stay Hotel if your visiting for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrystyMedPAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaI-ExecAssistant, Management Representative at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear ChrystyMedPAW,

Thanks for your review! It is inspiring to know each time our guests have a great stay. As per your review we can tell that you enjoyed our hotel. Your suggestion to our future guests is greatly appreciated and we definitely look forward to another stay with us.

Warmest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed at the hotel for two nights using points.

Pros:

- The place was clean, quiet and had a nice pool overlooking the bay.
- Rooms were a good size.
- Workout room was nice. The cool towels were a plus!
- The front desk staff were friendly.

Cons:
- No good places to eat within walking distance.
- Food on premises is expensive. As someone mentioned earlier, the hamburger was a bit pricey (> $10.00). We spent $60 (includes tip) for lunch for a family of 4.
- Concierge services were OK. The women was at the desk was not very helpful and friendly. Both times I approached her she was on the phone and didn't acknowledge that I was standing there.
- Need umbrellas in the pool area.

Overall, we really had no complaints. I would recommend this place for business travelers or couples with no children.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey/NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The customer service of the staff was excellent and friendly. The pool area was clean, albeit missing umbrellas for shade.

$15 for a hamburger and bag of chips?! Typical hotel tomfoolery. You'll pay it because, there are no other options around. I did have sushi from the Chinese restaurant (umm, ok) and it was fresh and actually pretty good.

Texas de Brazil is a carnivores dream. They only charged us $5 for our 5 yo. But the deal stopped when I realized they charged us $18 (!!!!!) for a pitcher of lemonade. Smh. The food however was excellent. This is where you spend your expense account dollars.

The hotel fee is ridiculous. They would be better off charging the fee as part of their rate, as I don't see exactly what I am paying the fee for. If parking (another $16 for self or $22 for valet) was included then maybe I would understand the value. Wifi is not free and neither is the gym. That's the $15 fee that your paying whether or not you use them.

Also, wanting to charge us an additional $30 to upgrade to the Club Level for just continental breakfast and snacks at a time we wouldn't be at the hotel anyway. This hotel is not for families. Perhaps if you're staying to cruise out for a night and for those with deep expense account pockets.

Water at the coffee bar was $3.75 and coffee was $4. Bagel and cream cheese was $3.50.

There are better and more reasonable options for people coming to the island to site see. You will need a car and may I suggest that you park it on the street to avoid the extra parking fees.

I would only recommend this hotel to business travelers
or those staying one night for a cruise. If you've already booked, no worries make the most of it and have a great time!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelsMyMidleName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Saludos TravelsMyMidleName! Thank you very much for sharing your experience while staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy a meal on each of our restaurants. In regards to the parking garage, this one is managed by an outside company since the parking structure is owned by the Convention District. We do reccomend our guests to use it for safety purposes since we are not responsible for the areas surrounding the district. Since we are all about making our guests feel at home, we offer upgrades to Club Floors, where you can enjoy breakfast on a private area, have WIfi, computers and printers only for Club guests. Also, you can relax at the Club Lounge terrace and enjoy the astonishing views of the San Juan Bay. At night, you can also share a cozy time while enjoying light snacks, a galss of wine or beer. We truly hope to welcome you back at our property and make you feel right at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here prior to our Caribbean Cruise
The rooms were spacious and well appointed with everything you need
The pool on level 4 was fantastic with views over the harbour area
check in was a little slow but then a whole bus load of us arrived at the same time so i will forgive them that
Food however is an issue!
We ate at the BBQ place and if I am honest I thought this was over price for what we had although I couldn't complain about the food itself
Breakfast was however a nightmare with a 45 minute wait and people getting quite annoyed at having to wait, the buffet choice was not exactly that comprehensive but service was with a smile

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilSIDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review

We appreciate your feedback; the corresponding departments have been advised of the situations encountered during your stay. We hope to welcome you during your future stay in Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very friendly and accommodating, high quality staff. Very clean and good food. Near convention center with a Mexican grill across the street (outdoor patio), Chinese and Continental restaurants on site but no coffee shop. Walked across the street to catch bus for .75 rather than pay cab $15. Easy to get to Old San Juan or downtown. Check the specials when booking, i.e., the birthdate special. Biggest complaint is that the Starbucks coffee packet is too big for coffee maker and made a mess with each cup, but it tasted great. No frig in room, but they are a "green" hotel and recycle. Our room overlooked bay and we watched the cruise ships come and go. Pool area is great with lots of lounge chairs. Large spa and large children's pool. Stayed one week, part work and the rest enjoyment!

Room Tip: We were above the pool with a balcony which was great. The weather is good for sitting outside look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlaW93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaI-ExecAssistant, Management Representative at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear MarlaW93,

We appreciate your review. It looks that you enjoyed our hotel's amenities to the fullest. You could relax in our great pool deck, indulge from our different food options and venues, mix with our locals by taking the public transportation to visit historical sites. Your week became a great experience to creat memories that will last a lifetime.

Either for business or pleasure, the Sheraton Puerto Rico is your best option in San Juan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. The staff is very pleasant and willing to accommodate any reasonable request. The hotel is very clean. The pool is very calm and relaxing. We highly recommend to try to get an upgrade to Club. The Club is in the 12th floor with an amazing view of the port and the ocean. Overall, we rate this hotel very high.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarkoIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaI-ExecAssistant, Management Representative at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Markols,

Your review to our hotel is very appreciated. It seems that we connected with you in different areas and that makes us proud. We boast in our Club Lounge as is the best in Puerto Rico! we value your comment and welcome you for another stay at the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel and Casino.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,765 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
1.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
22.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. The hotel’s comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots makes this hotel the premier place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing