We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for a short stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for our last 2 nights in Puerto Rico. The check-in line was pretty long and slow-moving when we arrived around 10:30am. Our room wasn't ready so we just checked in our luggage. Our room was clean and the bed was really comfortable. We stayed in a room right by the elevator...which was a little annoying when a guest from a wedding at the hotel decided to bang on our door at 1am in the morning as a prank. We were barely in the hotel room during the day so the hotel is fine if you're not spending the majority of your time in the hotel. We did not take advantage of the pool, fitness center, or bar so I can't comment on those, but we did do some gambling in the casino The location was fine because we had a rental car, but it does cost $16/day to park in the parking garage. There is also a $15/day resort fee. While the room feels clean and comfortable, you can tell the hotel is a little older because there were stains on the carpet and the bathtub faucet needed repair. Would I stay here again? Probably not unless I got a really cheap rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi aznevon,

Thank you for taking your time and providing feedback about our hotel. We appreciate all comments, we will be sharing them with the team and use them as an opportunity of improvement for our future guest. We are also very happy that you enjoyed our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed, they are truly very comfortable.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    737
    293
    100
    86
See reviews for
479
669
90
499
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were happy with the price and location (nice way to see Old San Juan), but there were so many little things that were missing that should be a staple at a nice hotel.

The first impression was very bad. We pulled up to use the valet and you could see them just slowly walking around checking their phones while ignoring you. The next day was the same thing, had to go out of our way to get their attention and then watched them slowly walk off to get the car. No friendliness, not even a smile.

To be green they offer you Starwood (SPG) points if you tell them not to clean your room for a day. Sounded great until checkout when they refused to give us the points because we had prepaid for the stay and just said tough luck.

After our first night we were woken up by construction noise, only to receive a letter that should have been given to us upon check in about the noise (a day late). Pool was small with old chairs.

I would look for other options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I think this was a great hotel. It looks brand new, every meal was great, and it has a nice little casino attached to it. You can take a bus for 50 cents to old san juan - it only takes about 10-15 minutes. The room was pretty nice. I loved that you could watch planes land and take off from the pool. Drinks were pretty good as well. It's about a 15-20 minute walk to condado beaches.
Few things I would improve: Needs a bigger pool, casino staff need to be a little more attentive for drinks, and a little more sound proofing for the rooms.

All in all, I would stay there again. If you have a conference at the convention center - I would DEFINITELY stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SP123311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Saludos SP123311. We appreciate all the fantastic compliments you have mentioned about our property. I fills us with great pleasure to know that our guests are enjoying their stays to the maximum. Our Infinity Pool is one of our most sought after attractions and the views are just breath taking during the evening. We wish to continue creating great memories with you and hope to welcome you soon! Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way back from Tortola. Inbound we stayed at the Howard Johnson Isla Verde as something cheap but I wanted to relax on the last day of my vacation so we chose the Sheraton.

We arrived early for check-in but were still met with a line. While it took awhile to get through, it wasn't too much of a bother as the employees seemed to be hustling. I made a change to my reservation at the desk which they had no problem accommodating.

The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable as you would expect from a Sheraton. It is definitely built for business travelers as the rooms are along the lines of a Courtyard or HGI. Perfect for a night's rest but not the sort of place I'd stay for a long vacation.

The infinity pool is very large and has a fantastic view, especially at sunset. Texas de Brazil looked very tasty but also very expensive and we exhausted most of our budget on bar tabs in the BVI so we opted to eat at Choices instead. Their food was good for the money we spent but nothing was overwhelmingly impressive. The large onsite casino was nice but I wish they had a craps table. If you're looking for craps you'll have to take a cab out to the Ritz Carlton.
Our flight left early the next morning so we had to catch a cab at 4am but being such a large hotel, there is always one outside waiting which was very convenient.

The one downside to the Sheraton besides not having craps is its location. It's just a little too far of a walk to Old San Juan and there isn't a whole lot near the hotel currently so you can end up spending a lot of money on cab fare. The restaurants on site can be a little pricy as you would imagine so the money you save by booking here compared to some of the other more expensive hotels in Isla Verde or OSJ could potentially be erased depending on what your stay in San Juan entails.

Overall, if you're looking for a quick night before a cruise or just a place to crash and don't want to stay in a 2 star hole in the wall, the value of the Sheraton San Juan Convention Center can't be beat.

Room Tip: Some of the lower floors overlooking the pool have views obstructed by palm trees so if you're l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is very clean and in very good condition. Looks like it is new. However, the staff is very inattentive, services at the pool area are non to minimal since they appeared to be short staff and half of the items in the menu they didn't have. Overall this hotel really needs to improve in service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOMIHAA, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
enrand,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We really appeciate feedback from our guests werther good or bad.

Please know that your comments have been shared with our Director of Restaurants and Bars who will ensure we have all menu items in stock at all times for our guest enjoyment.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I we stayed at the Sheraton for a night celebrating our anniversary. We were greeted by Melissa who helped us checkin-in plus conviced us about upgrading to a bay view room. The overall condition of this hotel is great, standard for a 4 star hotel. My only area of improvement would be the overall service at the pool area, nobody seemed interested in getting tips since I had to walked twice to the bar area and after hardly having eye-contact by both bartenders I took my not-so-cold beer and walked back to my pool chair. For the hotel Mgnt: I believe we need to step it up a notch if we want outside tourists to leave with a great impression not only for our infrastructure but mainly from our dedicated and outstanding customer service. There is lots of people out there waiting for a shot on any of our customer service positions; keep this in my if you read me.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi pedrodo,

Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel, we appreciate all the feedback you have provided. We are also very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that we will share your comments with the Director of Restaurants and Bars, we want to ensure that all of our guests are well taken care of.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecru MS
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

So our stay at the Sheraton was kind of by accident. We were waiting for our flight to Vieques, and if anyone knows how unreliable VAL is, then it goes without saying that they can just cancel a flight at the drop of a hat. We were stuck in an unfamiliar place so we had to find a room for the night. As we walked out of the airport terminal, we see the Sheraton about half a mile away so we thought we would just stay there since it was so close. I will start by saying that our first impression of the hotel was fantastic. Right off the bat we were warmly greeted and made to feel right at home. Ashley checked us in and she was a lifesaver. This night was obviously an unexpected one and she took that into consideration. She used any discount she could to help with the price and it ended up making a huge difference! We ate at their restaurant, Choices, and it was amazing! She even thought to bring us a 20% off coupon for the ticket, which was just nice of her to do. The beds were so comfortable, the room was clean, and it was quiet all night, so it went down as a great stay for us. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Clay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Greetings from Puerto Rico, Clay G! Thank you for your review and we are happy to learn that your stay was a positive one. Ashley has always been one of the best employees in the hotel and I will make sure to inform our front desk manager about her excellent service delivery! Thanks again for choosing Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel and Casino and we look forward to serving you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,046 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#23 of 47 in San Juan
4,812 reviews
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,205 reviews
4.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. The hotel’s comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots makes this hotel the premier place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing