We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at this facility for a conference. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and patient.

The room was very nice - clean and comfortable. Everything was in working order. There was an ice and vending machine on each floor.

The pool was on the 4th floor and it had a jacuzzi, bar, and plenty of chairs to relax in. There are 2 restaurants, the food was ok. I was a little disappointed in the casino as it seemed small and didn't have a casino "feel" to it. It was quiet, the bar was empty, and hardly anyone on the slots or tables.

Now on the downside, there is nothing in walking distance from the hotel except a restaurant diagonally across from the lobby called Ficus. There is also a Sizzler a few blocks away that you could walk to but I would advise otherwise, just due to the fact that i don't think there was sidewalk to get to it. Other than that, I would advise renting a car but be advised they drive very reckless and fast. You can also take a cab (which is a van, not a car) and they will charge a flat fee for under 5 people, and then charge per person $3-5 depending on the time of day. Most of the restaurants in Old St Juan are about a 10 minute ride from the hotel.

The restaurant that had breakfast has option for buffet ($19) or choose from menu. They also have a small area where you can get grad and go breakfast sandwiches and coffee.

Meeting facilities were clean - no complaints in that area. Computer area was clean as well with several computers available for use.

Room Tip: You will either have a view of the convention center or downtown. There is no view of any water beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawheat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dawheat77,

Thank you for taking your time to give your feedback about our hotel. We are very happy that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed your time in Puerto Rico. All the comments you have provided willbe shared with our team.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and wish you the best in all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    738
    293
    100
    86
See reviews for
480
669
90
499
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San German, PR United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed with my family during Memorial Weekend an had dinner at Choices.
I ordered mahi mahi with mamposteao rice, others tried the trifongo with shrimps, churrasco and chicken breast with sweet plantain mofongo. All plates were delicious!
Our waiter, Jose D' Leon gave us an outstanding service. He prepare the best strawberry frappes!
We had a pleasantly stay at Sheraton!
Diana & Joaquin

Room Tip: 10-12 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Diana V,

Thank you for your time and your comments. We appreciate all feedback in regards to our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to having you back. I will definetely share your experience with the hotel team members.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have very mixed reviews about this hotel. The parking is convenient and a good value at $16. The lobby is very nice,but the hotel is great if you need to be at a convention in San Juan. At the airport, there is a sign that says welcome to Paradise, but you will not get that feel at this hotel. There is no Puerto Rico vibe and you would not know you were in San Juan if someone placed you here. Yes a lot of things are 5 to 10 minutes away, but that is by car and you have to struggle for parking. If everything is 5 minutes away, I would stay there then. I will stay somewhere else on the next trip. The pool is nice and you see the Marina, but what about the parking lot directly in front of you that looks like I am swimming in a Walmart parking lot. Rooms are nice, but I was very disappointed with this hotel. It is about location,location,location. I am a Starwood Platinum member and there was very little recognition and the Club Room is sparse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikefaud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino last minute an got a really great rate for one night stay before we left back home to Boston the next day. When we checked in the hotel staff was really friendly and let us check in our bags before the check-in time for the room. After we checked in we went to our room with a view of the pool. The one draw back was we were one floor above the pool so you could hear the kids playing. But it didn't bother us as we relaxed on our private deck that came with the room.

As we unpacked our clothes we noticed one of our suite cases was broken. We called the front desk someone came up stairs right away to take a report and told us someone will contact us about them breaking one of our suite cases.

We dined in the sushi restaurant for lunch which my girl loved. An for dinner we at at the Brazilian Buffet my favorite the food was so good. If you are in to a little gambling they have that there too not really big but enough to get you're fix.

Overall the hotel and stay was amazing would stay here again.

Now here comes the but..... As I said they broke one of our suite cases and took the report this happen on January 2013. No one ever called me back about my suite case. I called a number of times left my information for them to get back to me about it. Never heard back from the hotel about this matter till this day and its may 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBUCKETTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaI-ExecAssistant, Management Representative at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for your review. We appreciate you took the time to share with others your experience at our property. We are very pleased you had a great time and enjoyed dining at our different concessionaries. However, we want to apologize in regards to the inconvenience with your suitcase. We would like to urge you to contact our Front Office Manager at your earliest convenience so we can discuss a way to take care of this matter. We look forward to connecting with you in a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very good venue for holding conferences and meeting. The conference facilities, rooms were very clean and modern. Staff were friendly and spoke both English and Spanish. Great location as well in proximity to Old San Juan. The landscaping was beautiful with trees and fountains and pools as well. Security was not bad and they are somewhat eco-friendly which is good. The rooms were equip with everything required and everything worked well ( a.c, fan, sliding doors, shower etc). Great view from the room also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RashidaBeckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna G, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
RashidaBeckles,

Thank you for your time in writing your comments about our hotel. We are very grateful of your feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to having you back in Puerto Rico and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've stayed here two times in the last year. Hotel is new and staff are warm and friendly. Had a lovely lunch at the restaurant at the end of our last visit and the food was great (service a little on the inattentive side).

Back again in a month!

Room Tip: We used our suite upgrades and the suite was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okepat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was in San Juan for a week for business and was excited to stay at this hotel - the pictures were beautiful and reviews communicated that while the location is not great, the service is.

Upon checking in, I got a beautiful room on an SPG Prefered Floor. The room service menu is good and the Chinese food restaurant was excellent, and I went there twice. However the Bell service really disappointed me. I had a cab hailed for me on my first day and the cabbie quoted (they do not run on meter) what sounded like a very high fare. I turned to the guy who hailed the cab and asked if the fare sounded, well fair. He said yes. Upon getting to work, they told me I paid double what I should have.

The next morning I first went to concierge to have them print me a map to my work so I could better negotiate how much taxi fare I should pay. There was one person in line in front of me and the concierge staff refused to even may eye contact with me while I was waiting. I certainly did not expect concierge to rush to help me, but wanted some acknowledgement. After 5ish frustrating minutes I went to the front desk and they helped me. Then I went into my cab with the map and was quoted a rate almost half of what was quoted the day before, confirming that the bell staff could not care less if their guests are being ripped off.

If work brings me back to San Juan, I will not stay at this resort. As an SPG member, there is another Sheraton in Old San Juan with more favorable reviews that will get my business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmeeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,050 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,815 reviews
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,205 reviews
4.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. The hotel’s comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots makes this hotel the premier place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, TravelUp, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing