We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Sheraton Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were here just for one night but were pleased with the hotel. Having a car will certainly help, as there isn't too much to walk to nearby. Self parking is convenient and there is a valet option as well.

The lobby offers free wifi and access to the casino and restaurant. We had a lovely breakfast at "Choices" with some top notch service and traditional breakfast items, with a slight Puerto Rican twist.

The rooms are well appointed and have free wifi available for all your devices. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom amenties were nice. I always like the in room coffee makers. Our room was quiet and we didn't experience any problems. The in room safe didn't work but given our short stay we just let them know as we left.

While there be sure to check out the pool area. The infinity pool is appealing and there is a hot tub near the bar area as well. There is also ample seating on the rooftop to enjoy the balmy Puerto Rican weather.

Overall the hotel is in a great location, easy to get to Old San Juan and not too far from the airport. If you are looking for a "city" hotel (one not near a beach) this is a solid choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATWTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words ATWTravel. It seems that you were able to enjoy to the fullest our beatiful property and exciting views. For your next visit, you should try our Zen Spa Retreat and enjoy a massage or facial. Aside from Choices, another great place to have dinner is Texas de Brazil or if you are up for sushi, China Club prepares an oustanding selection for your enjoyment. We hope to keep hearing from you and creating lasting memories throughout your journey with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,476 - 1,482 of 2,309 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Me & my husband just got married on 3/30/13 so we decided on staying here. Once we arrived to the hotel via Taxi (which was $15 from the airport to the hotel) we had nothing a GREAT time here. Yes it's not that close to the beach however Escambron beach is just 15 minutes way from this location. But to the others you will need a taxi. The location is also 15 minutes via taxi to Old San Juan which is such a beautiful place to see when visiting for the first time. We did eat at other places but we didn't eat at Choices which is located in the hotel. I just refuse to pay such prices for food I will "eliminated later" lol (sorry for being so blunt but that's how I feel) I mean it's not even in a romantic spot either. It's right in the front of the hotel where you will see & hear everyone getting on & off the elevator & coming & going of those from the casino etc etc. so I doubt you are paying for experience. Room service was great. The staff was friendly too. The room spotless. The pool area was relaxing. At night, the Infiniti pool is a sight to see. The whirlpool is awesome. All & all great place to stay. If you want to sightsee rent a car but be careful because the locals aren't the best drivers :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyLuvs2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Congratulations on your wedding AshleyLuvs2Travel! What a great way to celebrate such a special occasion. I am very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our beaches and also explore Old San Juan and its cobblestone streets. The Cafe, located right next to Choices restaurant, its a Grab and Go restaurant with easy access to our guests providing exceptional service to corporate travels and guests in a hurry. The Cafe is also located next to the elevators. Choices on the other hand, provides a more intimate experience with more private areas, dimmed lights for dinner and a tasteful decoration with warm colors. We thank you very much for your kind words and wish you a long and happy journey next to your significant other. See you soon on your next trip to Puerto Rico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Hotel is aesthetically pleasing but is not the type of hotel you vacation in with a family for more than 2-3 days. The Hotel is isolated but is very close to the Convention Center and is a 5-10 minute cab ride to Old San Juan or the port ($20.00 each way--$40.00 roundrtrip just to get there and back). For travelers staying 1-2 nights for business or to get onto a ship leaving from San Juan--its centrally located. However, I would not recommend satying at this location if you have a family vacation planned. There is simply nothing for children to do.
While the pool is unique--it is small and there is no activities near or in the pool. Also, there is no beach.
The room was clean and had a great view of the Bay. The room safe was broken and one lamp didn't work --but not major issues. Room service is very slow and very expensive. The restaurant in the Hotel served good food and the staff was pleasant but who wants to eat in Hotel every night in the same restaurant.
The Hotel is clearly understaffed. Many times I saw only one person at front desk area. They do have SPG desk--but it was rarely manned and as a SPG member I received no different treatment. Defintiely probelms with key cards and magnetic strips. Everyone we talked to had same issue--a day or two after being issued room cards they would deactivate. Seems like a minor problem except you must use your card in elevator to get access to your floor. When you have kids in elevator and you need to get to your room but the elevator doors will not open--then its frustrating. We had to get cards "reactivated" 3 times--the Hotel's attitude was that it was "par for the course".
This is just an Average hotel-- at best.

Room Tip: Request room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel-Notten, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Lana J, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the incoveniences experienced with the room keys and the slow service at times. We continue to look for solutions to remedy the key situation with the elevators as we understand this is an issue. Our Front Office Manager is re-aligning the process of the SPG line and desk to better suit the needs and requests of our most loyal guests. Thank you again for sharing! Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is nicely appointed. Free bottled water, flat screen TV, a fantastic outdoor pool area on second floor, with a view of the cruise ships and water. Hector at front desk (night shift is especially helpful with room upgrades).
Have stayed here many times. The noodle shop in the main lobby has good street noodles on menu, just ok on the other Chinese food. Bell staff is great with the cabs, breakfast is good. Just a good experience overall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Saludos Terry S! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great time and we will certainly give your compliments to Hector. He is one of our stars at the Front Desk. We look forward to welcome you back and keep creating wonderful memories together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We held a 1 week conference at this Sheraton location and I must say that the staff was absolutely impeccably organized and extremely efficient - they were willing to work and accommodate our budget, they upgraded us to Suites and deluxe rooms at no additional cost for our VIP Meeting clients and responded to last minute logistical issues with promptness and efficiency that was incredibly comforting. I recommend this hotel for its efficiency, remarkable service, amazing rooms, perfect location, and impressive amenities including a large pool and recreational area, gym, sushi restaurant (big sushi fan) on the premises and finally a front desk staff that exuded confidence and professionalism that cant be surpassed!

Please plan your next stay here!!

Room Tip: Ask for the best rate they can provide!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooklyn_SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

What a great experience Brooklyn_SS! Our associates are always giving their 100% and going above and beyond to make our guests feel welcome. I will share your great feedback with our team and hopefully we will be welcoming you and your group soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night before our crusie. It looked like a new hotel. The room was nice and clean, as was the lobby area. We had a club level room. The food was average there. There are TONS of fellow cruise passengers staying here as well. There are not staffed to handle that many people at all. It was so disappointing. They have room service, but no one to answer the phone to take your order. They have housekeeping, but no one to respond to your request and about 2 people working the front dest at check out so you will have to wait at least an hour to check out. There are never enough taxi's available and you will have to get your own luggage. Stay someone else, near old town, anywhere but here!

Room Tip: my tip is to not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel-Notten, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Njmom4, We appreciate your critique and sharing your experience. We apologize for the lack of service received while staying with us as it is disappointing to hear that several aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Please contact me directly at michel.notten@sheraton.com to provide me with some more details of your stay so I can discuss this with our management team. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve our services. Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just wrapped up a one night stay at the Sheraton Hotel and Casino on our way to Vieques.. Yes, it's not close to anything, but as long as you understand that going in, it's a very nice place to stay. We're SPG Gold and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Jr. Suite. Received a complimentary drink voucher to use at the lobby bar. The casino was fun and most importantly smoke free. Every staff member from reception and concierge to the dining staff and housekeeping were helpful and always smiling. Food was consistently good, even the churrasco steak at 3am had a fresh depth of flavor. We walked around the pool deck. Looked like a fun time. We wish we had time to take a dip in the pool. Overall, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel-Notten, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Atis, We would like to thank you for your warm words regarding our rooms, facilities, services and most important our associates. I will make sure to pass on your kudos to the entire staff. We are truly happy to hear that you have had such an outstanding experience with us. Next time when you are with us take some time to enjoy our infinity pool and its amazing views over the bay. We hope you enjoyed your time in Vieques as well! Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#23 of 47 in San Juan
4,926 reviews
1.8 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
970 reviews
0.9 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $221 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. Our hotel in San Juan, Puerto Rico features a comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots, all for a premier place for you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing