We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Pre Cruise Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I honestly can't say there is much I would change about our stay. Though the property is not located within walking distance of Old San Juan, it IS practically at the Pan American Pier (Royal Caribbean & Celebrity).

From the airport it was a quick cab ride...$20 for 2 passengers with bags.

We arrived about 4:30pm and was eagerly greeted by Cesar at the front desk. Though our room was cleaned it had not yet been inspected so Cesar ran to personally take care of it for us.

Our room was a large corner king room with balcony overlooking the cruise ships...located on the Starwood Preferred Guest Floor. Complimentary wifi and bottled water were additional unexpected perks. We also splurged.for a breakfast package...definitely worth the extra $20.

Overall...we were VERY pleased with our stay and would not hesitate to come back again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Buenos dias suzd123! We would like to thank you for taking the time to give your thoughts about our hotel. We are happy to know that you were very pleased with your stay. We are looking forward to warmly welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,573 - 1,579 of 2,368 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel and Casino is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed. I stayed at this hotel last year in February. Everything was fine, until my safe was broken into. I lost a nominal amount of money, and called security when i realized. The evening security people made out a report, and told us to come down to be reimbursed for the money. I was ready for bed at this time after a long day. So, I decided to address this in the morning. Big mistake, The female daytime manager, JR is terrible, has no customer service experience, and is downright rude. She made me wait in the lobby for more than an hour until she decided to make her way downstairs. After threatening to call the police, she finally returned my money. After writing a terrible review on SPG, she called me and offered me any amenities I would like upon our next visit.

So, I decided to go back because the location is good. After various emails back and forth finally she called me and asked what she could do to make our stay better. I was impressed, So, I was a bit over the top asking for an upgrade to a suite. She, of course, did not do this. Now, starwood guests are offered upgrades if one is available, so really I did not get anything more than was expected. I told her in an email that I would be arrriving at 1 am. She had no room available. Once I told the evening staff that I would be happy to pull out a blanket, and sleep on their couch, they amazingly found a room. They charged me for an extra day, saying that I arrived at 11:59 pm. My flight did not touch down until 11:47, and I checked my bags. The airport is more than 15 minutes away,so I could not have ever checked in at that time. Customer service is not something this hotel excels in. The first room, and the second "upgraded" room were dirty. There were stains on the carpeting, under the sink dirty. This is not a four or five star hotel. This is a two star hotel at best. Another thing that happened, which of course was accidental, was that when we were checking into our second room, when I put the key in, the room was occupied. I think you can imagine our horror, as well as the other guests horror. I can go on and on.

The women at the front desk, especially A.S. is a very sarcastic nasty woman. She used an affected Puerto RIcan accident to let me know who the overall manager of the hotel is, and then implied i was stupid, since it is a very easy name. Yes, it is, if you speak proper English.

By the way, there is a very small blurb that says they are not responsible for anything left in their safes. So, if you have anything of value, I suggest you put it behind the front desk, in their safety deposit boxes.

A wonderful vacation, turned into a vacation from hell.

Sncerely,
Elizabeth DIerking

Room Tip: I wish I could add a tip here. Unless you get hte presidential suite, then maybe you will have a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michel-Notten, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Elizabeth O, First of all we truly would like to offer our sincerest apologies for your experience at our hotel. This is definitely not the way it should have felt. We have met internally with our management team discussing the processes and behaviors that were not up to our & Sheraton standards. As a team we are committed for occurrences like this not to happen to any of our future guests. At this moment our Corporate office is working together with us investigating and at the same time communicating with you as we do appreciate you and your husband’s loyalty to Starwood Hotels & Resorts. Once again we would like to apologize on behalf of the Sheraton Puerto Rico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was in PR for a conference and was traveling by myself. I sat at the Choices Restaurant bar and had dinner. The staff was extremely friendly and kind. Daniella and Gabriel, among others, went out of their way to make sure I liked my food choices and was happy. I plan on staying at this hotel again in the future. Really makes a difference when you're traveling for business by yourself.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank citygirlMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Good day Citygirl Miami, thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at our restaurant Choices and you appreciated the service you received. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Puerto Rico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Booked this hotel because it was the only thing available through Aeroplan in San Juan and we were not disappointed!
Rooms were clean, staff were friendly, and the pool was perfect.
Although check out time was 11am, we were able to stay at the hotel and use the facilities until heading over to the port for our 10pm cruise departure.
We made great use of the pool area and had lunch up on the pool deck.
One thing I found strange was that although the pool area was open until 10pm on the Saturday evening, the pool bar was closed around 9. Why not keep it open the extra hour. I'm sure we weren't the only ones who would have taken advantage of a late night drink by the pool.
Will definitely recommend and will hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShanLeigh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We hope that in the future, you can experience all the amenities that our property has to offer and toast to creating fond memories. See you on your next trip to Puerto Rico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Because of a change in plans we booked one night stay at the Sheraton, really because it was one of the only hotels with rooms available. In the end we were quite pleased with our stay, I would say the hotel is much more geared to the convention/business crowd (the convention center is next door) but the pool is nice the building is well kept and the staff is friendly. One minor complaint, the front desk was understaffed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

We truly appreciate your feedback and are very glad to hear that you had a positive experience. Please know that we have addressed your Front Desk understaffing concerns with our Management Team so that it does not reoccur in future instances. We look forward to connecting with you during your upcoming visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is awsome!! Music at the lobby with DJ is fantastic restaurant great much kudos to Elsie always very attentive great leader severs Sixto and mark great service Food great love the mahi mahi keep un the good work guys.

Room Tip: Top floors have the Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamoztee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about our property. Please know that we have commended Elsie, Sixto and Mark for their great service. We strive to exceed guests expectations and we look forward to welcoming you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton the night before meeting a cruise because the Hilton was booked solid. The bed was comfortable - nice pillows! - and the shower was pleasant. Our flight didn't get us to San Juan until 11pm, so we arrived late to the hotel and the lobby was very loud with music from the DJ in the adjacent bar - it was difficult to hear the desk clerk while checking in. But our room was quiet and in the morning we looked out the window to see the cruise ship waiting for us over at the docks. It's not a great location if you want to do some walking around old San Juan, but it served our purpose. The wait for breakfast the next morning was much longer than it should have been (there is a buffet, though, if you are in a hurry) - but the oatmeal was well worth the wait!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogbonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

We are very appreciative of your comments since we utilize such valuable input to enhance our services. For your future stays, we would like to provide a unique and memorable experience. We wish to welcome you back to our property very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#11 of 48 in San Juan
912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Juan/City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#8 Family Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $265 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. Our hotel in San Juan, Puerto Rico features a comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots, all for a premier place for you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing