We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in the middle of the PR Convention Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in the middle of the PR Convention Center”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just stayed there for the weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday. The hotel is very nice and modern. Rooms are neat, clean, big and very comfortable.

Hotel is very big; more than 400 rooms, so this is an upscale business hotel with a huge convention center and right next to the Puerto Rico Convention Super Center.

On the plus side: It's a new hotel, very clean and comfortable. Decor is very hip and modern. The place is practically new. Breakfast buffet a Choices Restaurant is excellent and well priced.

On the down side: The hotel it's in the middle of the Convention Center area and beside the lobby, hotel restaurants and bars, there is only one Tex-Mex restaurant within walking distance named Ficus. I will review this place later. There is no more entertainment nearby, so you would need a car or to move on a cab to more vivid night-life places like Condado or Old San Juan.

My best bet: This is a business Hotel.

Room Tip: Try the bay view balcony room... its nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,014
    747
    293
    100
    86
See reviews for
496
677
93
504
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

OK, here I am at Choices Restaurant once again. I decided to bring our girls and even the youngest ate to his satisfaction. Jose at the bar is always a way above average and Mark can't be beat as a server. Wilfredo, the on duty manager is attentive to every detail. This nouveau cuisine to its best.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesusHuertas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritere M, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
“Consistency” You said it, we like to take our food to a level of excellence and exceptional quality like no other every single time. Our staff is always very attentive with his customers and aims high on service quality. Most of all I will personally make sure to recognized Wilfredo, Mark and Jose for going above and beyond. Our menu also has a kid’s option for little ones to enjoy. We are glad you brought them along; we always make sure you they are well taken care off. Thank you for reviewing Choices Restaurant.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Checked in at the hotel on 9/13/12 and was told they have no doubles left and my friend and I had to share one bed even though our reservation confirmed two beds. Despite being a Starwood Preferred Guest member, I was offered nothing. My other friend behind me was checking in and got a different receptionist and was given the option of a double or a single bed. When we checked in the room and later that night, we found out that most of the floor was empty, so they definitely had doubles still available. I checked back the next day and was still told that they could not do anything for me. So much for being an SPG member. The other clubs I'm part of will bend over backwards to make you happy.

We ate at Choices, the restaurant in the hotel. Out of the 8 of us there, we had to sent our food back 3 times. First, my dish (the Caribbean Bouillabaisse) had only 1-2 shrimp and barely any other seafood in it while my friend, who ordered the same thing, got twice as much food in his dish and things like scallops, which I didn't get. My other friend's pork chop was way too salty to eat and another who had the fried risotto balls received them still frozen in the middle.

All in all, the ambiance of the hotel is not bad, though the location is horrible (to Condado and Old San Juan). Hotel staff can't really do much for you either, regardless if you're part of their loyalty club or not.

If they're not loyal too me, it doesn't leave much incentive for me to be loyal to them, either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritere M, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for posting. We have shared your review with our management team so we can review what happened. We recognize all our guests have different needs and we strive every day to please each and every one of them. Feedback like yours is what helps us keep us in good direction. We appreciate your feedback and hope you give us another chance to serve you the right way on your next visit to Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great friendly staff at Choices bar/ rest. Jose (bar tender ) always pours good drinks and is very attentitive to anything you need. Jennifer the hostess is always pleasant, friendly and helpful. Great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSworld12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritere M, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed Choices Bar "The Cafe" especially with the company of Jose and Jennifer.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

terrible. absolutely terrible. What a joke of a place. We got this place from priceline and wanted to cancel it because the poor location (we're a couple in vacation, wanted by the beach). we spoke with different ranks of supervisors, all not cooperative and rude. When we got here, we discovered that indeed for a couple on vacation there could be no worse place. keys did not work and we were stuck twice outside of the room (differernt occasions!) took them 20 minutes to send someone to let us in. Bathroom stunk from sewer. toilet stopped working (did not flush). bath tub broken despite supposed to be new hotel. and last day, when we were supposed to check out- we got a strange extra bill for 45$ because we booked through priceline. Noone ever told us about his charge and they were extremely rude about explaining why. The receptionist,Lissette, said (we were in the room, trying to call them) that the supervisor can not talk to us on the phone and if we want- we can come downstairs.
on our last day, we asked for another capsule for the coffee maker (as there was only one). They said that they will be happy to provide it and will send it right up. We finally got it after 50 minutes (!!)
All this and more problems- in 3 days stay only!
Also, not to mention that when we booked this place with priceline and had a problem and asked for their help to cancel- they were extremely rude ("you booked through priceline? It's your problem!!) including Mr. Matos, manager in "in house reservation" and the supervisor, Ms. Larochele.

Terrible experience- really. people are rude, not helpful, just trying to get their job with doing the minimum they can. bad bad location. Overall worse hotel experience we've had

Room Tip: avoid coming here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yairu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritere M, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for posting. We apologize for an unusual experience you encountered during your stay. Clearly there are some areas of opportunities for improvement. We’d love for you to contact us directly to 787-993-3627 or write us an email to prcc.sales@sheraton.com so we can better understand the issues and situations that you encountered, just to make sure this does not occur again. We definitely missed an opportunity to provide a pleasant stay for you. Our goal is to make sure every guest feels comfortable and has a pleasurable stay. We hope you welcome us the opportunity in the future to provide you with the service you have come to expect from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My hubby and I treated ourselves to a much needed nokidation (no~ki~daytion). I searched many reviews and pros/cons of nearby hotels. With ppl complaining about filth, rude staff, & theft. We were very pleased with booking the Sheraton thru orbitz and we rec'd a $75/food & beverage credit which we used at Choices restaurant in the hotel. The smell of the Brazilian steakhouse was mouthwatering. Smart choice is to rent a vehicle from Avis across the Street, the former Alaskan cop and his wife were extremely helpful and offered great advice. We visited Old El San juan, El Jabarito food is good, the forts and took great pics at El Yunque to Isla Verde. This hotel is in a 'remote area" where nothing is going on but the service was excellent, rooms cleaned, and infinity pool on the 4th flr is breathtaking (although the backdrop parking lot isnt quite a view). We used the gym and its 5 star fabulous). The casino isnt vegas but none in the isla are. The lounge is stunning and the a/c refreshing. Im very critical and did not have any complaints and although the location was not great, if we got a lil lost all we asked for was convention center and we were there. Cant wait to visit again with the ladies!!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with the view of the pool, the view we had was boring, facing construction beams and flat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlyShirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritere M, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Puerto Rico and had time to visit some of our treasures. Our rain forest; El Yunque is one of my favorites places, you can feel the breeze, connect with nature, take a swim in the fall and breathe pure air, what else you could ask for, right?

It was really great having you. We are truly happy to hear you had such a great experience in your Nokidation with us as well as Puerto Rico and certainly look forward to welcome you and your kids in your next visit to Puerto Rico. I assure you, they will enjoyed the infinity pool in the forth floor.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our waiter, Gabriel, was excellent, prompt and kind. Will definitely return to Choices for special occasions. The location was very neat and clean, but what I enjoyed most is the ambience. Food was delicious: served in adequate time and hot on the plate. Very attentive staff always leads to a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yamaira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritere M, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing our property. Thank you very much for sharing the details of your wonderful stay with us. Next time I will recommend the District lobby bar, its a great place to have a couple of drinks with our guest and locals too. Every Thursday we are now having the 2*1 District Lobby Bar! Live music by Project 80’s, with a great happy hour of our very well know local beer “Medalla” at 2x $4, Don Q Puertorrican Rum 2x $5, Sky Vodka 2 x $6 and Cutty Sark Black 2 x$6 from 6:00pm-7:30pm. We hope to welcome you back so that you can enjoy once more what the Sheraton Puerto Rico has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,110 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,857 reviews
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,229 reviews
4.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. The hotel’s comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots makes this hotel the premier place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing