We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pre-cruise stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great pre-cruise stay”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here the night before our cruise. The staff was outstanding from the moment we got out of the taxi as we were about to check in until we checked out the next day headed to the cruise port. Eduardo and I had a long conversation about why my husband and I were vacationing and I mentioned that it was our 10 year wedding anniversary. Within 2 hours of checking in (which was amazingly smooth), someone delivered a complimentary bottle of wine and snack tray with a note from Eduardo. We vowed, at that moment, that we would stay at this hotel when we returned to San Juan. The hotel room was spacious and we had a great view of the mountains and of the water. The breakfast buffet the next morning was great, too. We had an great stay!!! Thanks, y'all!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BibySPHC, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and comments of the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel and Casino.

We appreciate you recognizing Eduardo for his efforts as well. We truly hope that you enjoyed your vacation. Congratulations on 10 years of marriage, see you again for your 15 year anniversary?

We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    725
    289
    95
    84
See reviews for
466
661
88
486
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I stay often in the San Juan area for business and I have stayed at many hotels in the area. This hotel is by far the newest, cleanest, nicest and most comfortable hotel I have stayed at in the San Juan area. it is spacious, safe and has beautiful, large rooms. The beds are very comfortable. It is quiet and relaxing. The exercise room is fine--not great, but certainly more than acceptable. It has treadmills, some other aerobic equipment and some free weights. The pool is beautiful and the staff is quite friendly and helpful. Most everything about the hotel is really top of the line and very inviting. There are bars in the lobby area and casino area and restaurants too, and you can eat at the bars. The food available in the hotel is not cheap but it is ok. The only downside to this hotel is its location at the convention center, which is just a bit remote. You really cannot walk anywhere. You need to take a short cab ride to Old San Juan or to the Condado area. I do not understand why this hotel does not offer a free shuttle service to those nearby areas, but it really should. A free shuttle service would make this hotel nearly perfect. All in all, I will stay here again as it is a great place for business travel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RunningOnAndOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BibySPHC, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
An excellent review that is brief and to the point - speaks to location, service, cleanliness and efficiency.

As a note, while we’re unable to offer a complimentary shuttle due to various laws and agreements between the government and taxi providers, there are shuttle/bus options available that leave on a regular schedule from our front door. The prices vary depending on location, but are an inexpensive alternative to taxis.

Thank you very much for your candid comments - we hope others read the review with interest and come to enjoy the island, the hotel and our staff all at the same time.

Be well and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I booked and paid for this hotel via British Airways to stay one night in Puerto Rice prior to a cruise, and upon check-in presented the voucher to the desk clerk. The following morning, I received a copy of the bill pre-checking out including the pre-paid room charges. I queried this only to be told that BA hadn't honoured the payment and I would have to pay again. The desk clerk made it my problem to resolve, which I did by phoning British Airways who said they would contact the hotel's accounting department to explain their invoicing policy. After breakfast it was apparently resolved, I received a new bill without the room charges and left. However on returning to the UK I checked my credit card account, only to find that the Sheraton went ahead and billed me for the difference despite having handed me a revised bill. Shame on them. Two weeks later I'm still resolving this with my credit card company and British Airways - the Sheraton has yet to respond to either, and in the meantime I've paid twice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AMB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BibySPHC, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
We apologize for your experience – I have forwarded this information to our accounting department. We are eager to resolve this. If the issue has not still not been resolved please feel free to contact us at prcc.sales@sheraton.com. We are sorry once again for the inconvenience this may have caused.

Please come back for another visit and an experience that we believe will be without incident.

Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
224 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My first stay at this hotel. It is isolated with nothing nearby except the Convention Center. Yet, the hotel may be all you need as it has a casino, infinity pool with a huge deck to get a tan or a drink, 3 good (not great) restaurants, a fitness center, and a large lobby. I spent time in the 24 hour club lounge with indoor/outdoor views and TVs and couches and 2 computers with printers. Simple, limited food served at breakfast and dinner. Taxis were plentiful. About 15 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Old San Juan. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BibySPHC, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
"I will definitely stay here again " - this says it all.

We are pleased you had the opportunity to come visit and share your comments as well.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The entire staff was great. I would have given it a five out of five rating if not for the hugely unrealized potential and for the somewhat isolated location. This place could rock if it catered to a hipper clientele. The rooms are solid Sheraton, with only a few housekeeping detail glitches, easily curable. The bright common areas are crowned by the modern 4th floor endless pool and the free wi-fi goes well with the business crowd. Choices, the restaurant, I thought was the best part of the hotel and hope will remain so with the upcoming chef's departure for the St Regis. We will definitely return, I miss it already.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BibySPHC, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you for your succinct comments - " We will definitely return ". We look forward to welcoming you back!

We appreciate your remarks regarding our staff and the overall stay.

Travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fougerolles-du-Plessis, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed for 3-nights, the rooms are of a good size and our room had a balcony. Unfortunately sitting out on the balcony my Wife got badly bitten by mosquitos. I would have thought a hotel of this category would have undertaken spraying to overcome this issue. The food at the restaurant is of good quality but the choice is very very average, it appears no or very little thought has gone into the menu choice. Breakfast is poor and very expensive, and that includes the weekend buffett. Getting served in the Bar are is a "nightmare" I had to complain on two different days, as the bar staff have their "favourites" whilst ignoring newcomers !! Complaint handled well but never should have got that far ! The Hotel is isolated and the location description is somewhat mislead. You need transport !! would I recommend staying here ? Definately NO, would I stay here again ? definately NOT

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baunach49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BibySPHC, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Sounds like we missed an opportunity to provide for a pleasant stay for you - for that we truly apologize.

We are always looking for ways to improve so you review is very important to us.

Please reach out to us in the future at prcc.sales@sheraton.com and we are sure to exceed your expectations.

Warm Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Good hotel especially for conventions and or cruise passengers. I was happy with the accommodations. As we stayed only one night, we did not take full use of the hotel’s services and amenities. Service was good and consistent. It is a bit of a ways from Old San Juan – you must take a taxi to get anywhere from the hotel. If your cruise is leaving from the Pan American terminal and you are trying to save $$ you can actually walk from the hotel (carry-on bags only).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msbianca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,942 reviews
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 48 in San Juan
4,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,172 reviews
1.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
1.1 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. The hotel’s comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots makes this hotel the premier place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing