We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
morley leeds
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were allocated this hotel for one night prior to a weeks cruise from san juan. It is a very very nice hotel, infact I would say it is rather posh. We were B & B and the breakfast was fantastice and the staff coudn't do enough for us. The pool is wow with a fantastic view of the cruise ships that are docked. The only thing I would say about this hotel is that it is a bit of a way out if you are staying for a week and it doesn't have a beach but we couldn't fault it one bit. The convention centre is opposite and when there is something on there, there is a lovely little bar that serves drinks and food at a reasonable price . You can sit and enjoy the music and the lovely fountains that are there. The locals use this too, but all are very friendly, but when there is nothing on at the convention centre with the bar being closed it is very very quiet.

Room Tip: No tips re rooms as we were only here one night, but ours was very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorleyLeedsCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    748
    294
    100
    86
See reviews for
498
677
93
505
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This hotel was nice and clean and more the satisfactory for our one night stay prior to the cruise. It is a short (and cheap) taxi ride to the cruise terminal from here and you can actually see the ships from the rooms. The location isn't ideal if you'd like to spent your time in Old San Juan but it isn't an expensive taxi ride if the hotel costs in Old San Juan are too expensive. The rooms were spacious and clean and the pool area looked nice. I can't speak to the added charges other guests were experiencing, but we booked this hotel through Hotwire and had no issues.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

First, check you bill very carefully...they tried to charge me 30 dollars for each local call I made and then charged an extra 15 dollars per day service charge, on top of the 15 dollars in taxes, which they did not mention when I booked the reservation.

Second, there is really nothing around this hotel to see...no beaches or shops. Just the convention center. It would be better to stay at the Conrad or Caribe Hilton, or in Old San Juan itself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I simply do not know where to begin to describe my horrendous my stay at this "hotel": the filthy room, the terrible service, or the mysterious appearance of an extra $40.00 ($10.00 for the bellman and $30.00 for "room upgrade") per day on my hotel bill. The room had numerous stains on the carpet and the shower curtain had dubious brown splatter stains. Upon receiving the final bill, I questioned the excessive charges. After an hour on the phone with the manager, they confessed that this was a "mistake" and removed these charges. For my stay, this amounted to $340.00 "extra charges". They promised to email me the newly adjusted bill. However, I insisted that they also give me a hard copy of this adjusted bill--more than a week has passed and I have yet to receive the bill via email. Attending a chemistry conference at the conference center, I had a number of colleagues staying at this hotel--they all had similar problems with this hotel. This is a terrible hotel and I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MolecularTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stayed here last weekend and when the next day I get my car to grab some lunch I noticed a huge scratch in my bumper of my new Pilot 2011! I told the supervisor and he told me that next day the manager was going to review the parking cameras. So I didn't get THAT worried cause I knew that everything was going to get resolve as soon as they checked the video of the valet parking...Now I just heard from the manager that the cameras weren't working the past weekend and there is a possibility that the insurance will not cover the severe bumper scratch!!!!! Now I'm really MAD and probably will get a lawyer to solve this if they can't!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DannyDC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel was clean, safe and modern with comfortable beds. It is about a 10 minute drive from Old San Juan. There was a lot of construction going on around the hotel. I believe they are developing that area. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I especially liked the idea that you are not able to get to a particular floor without having to swipe your room key in the lobby elevator first. I would stay there again if I ever have the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia110061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Overall stay here was very disappointing.

Excellent looking location adjacent to the magnificent wave-shaped convention centre. Though situated only about 15 mins away from Old San Juan in one direction and the beach area of Condado in another, the roads/motorways in between make safe walking a no-no. Taxi rides are therefore a necessity and add considerably to the cost of your stay.

Good points. Our room was spacious, having a view of the 4th floor pool area, and the bathroom/shower facility was okay.

Bad points. Housekeeping was erratic, with rooms cleaned early in the morning or late into the evening. Fresh linen was rare. We had a tead in our sheet which was never replaced. We had to exchange our keycard on a regular basis as they frequently stopped working and we had to queue for ages to get the new ones.

Service was generally slow and casual. There is only one hotel restaurant, "choices", the name of `which was contradictory to what it actually offered. The menu does not appear to change much and the food is average at best. It was rarely busy in the evenings. Amazingly for a conference facility there is no coffee shop.

If we ever visit San Juan again, even to attend the convention centre, we will be bypassing this casino-attached hotel and look for something better for our money in Condado.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeeprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,120 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#23 of 47 in San Juan
4,865 reviews
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,233 reviews
4.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. The hotel’s comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots makes this hotel the premier place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing