We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice in Old San Juan”

St Germain Bistro & Cafe
Ranked #28 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
San Juan, PR
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“An excellent choice in Old San Juan”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We ate here on a Saturday afternoon after touring El Morro; it is a short walk from there. We visited based on Trip Advisor reviews, and were not disappointed. The food and the service were both outstanding. I had the quiche and salad lunch combo, while my husband had the soup and salad lunch combo; we both had lemonade, his plain and mine with ginger. We shared the lemon loaf cake, which was topped with fresh cream and berries. Everything was fresh and delicious. Service was friendly and efficient. Prices are reasonable. It is air conditioned, which was most refreshing on a hot summer day. There is a tapas place right above on the second floor and a wine bar on the third floor; we'll be returning to visit those. You won't be disappointed in St. Germain Bistro & Café!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susanbpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    986
    292
    87
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food with great hospitality”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The food was fresh, clean and sooo tasty. The staff attentive, open and freindly - Ate here twice - including on our last night - not a fancy place but warm and delicious

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Roof top oasis”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited the terrace wine bar on the roof top . What a great spot. We had the homemade sangria, it was very good. The best part was the breeze on the roof . The service was attentive and congenial . There was no food on the roof. The lower two levels serve food.

Helpful?
Thank Veggie201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I heard about st germains on trip advisor and wish we had gone there earlier in the holiday! We went on our last night, had great cocktails in the bar with scallop cerviche and some other food and it was delicious, I was expecting it to be good but it was great. We then went up to the roof terrace and had some bubbles followed by a cheese board-delicious again, will definitely go back, the service was good and friendly even with all our questions about what to do in San Juan. Loved it

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenniemacleay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simple and tastey”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Simple and delicious food. Sometimes, you need a break from the heavy spices and oil. This place offers that break. Their ingredients are fresh and their portions are just right. Enough to satisfy you and fuel you up til a snack and coffee while exploring old San Juan. The interior is quaint and a perfect complement to the old San Juan exterior architecture and colors. Charming with friendly servers to match. Get their ginger lemonade. It's delicious and refreshing. We also ordered their fresh juice of the day: watermelon. I liked the ginger lemonade better , although both were good.

The mushroom and onion quiche was light and full of flavor. Their cerviche was delicious, light, and refreshing. The sandwich with prosciutto fresh mozz tomato and pesto was so tasty. We got both with the side of chick pea salad.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jfrondos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Germain Bistro & Cafe also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to St Germain Bistro & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing