We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mezzanine Must Do Cocktails” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Germain Bistro & Cafe

St Germain Bistro & Cafe
Ranked #28 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cafe, Puerto Rican, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Mezzanine Must Do Cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our hotel (El Convento) directed us to this cozy chic relaxed bar spot above the bistro. Our request - proper cocktails and light tapas. Experience - PERFECT! We are cocktail snobs (i.e. proper gin martinis thank you, no sugary, fufu drinks) and this place delivered. It's a very small space with comfy chairs and loads of charm. Adding to the ambience was a light jazzy piano player to highlight the experience. If you are looking for a low key spot with great cocktails and a feel of being 'in the know', this is it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nop_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francheska R, Public Relations Manager at St Germain Bistro & Cafe, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi nop,

This is Francheska Ríos from The Mezzanine in Old San Juan. Firstly, thank you SO much for the great 5 star review you wrote about us on TripAdvisor!

The only thing is, your review is actually posted to St Germain's profile page, and though it's the same owner, the two businesses have separate profile pages since they are two different concepts. I'm sorry to even ask, but it would be AWESOME if you would be so kind as to write your comments here:

tinyurl.com/Mezzanine-TripAdvisor

Thanks in advance and we hope to see you in again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    287
    86
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larvik, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ecological perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

First tip: get here early. At least for lunch. We came in 11.35 and within 30 minutes the place was filled up. Had very tasty sandwiches made with fresh bread and a good green salad on the side. Bevare of the ceiling fan that could create a draft for a couple of tables in the main room. Fair prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Torgrim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tapas Brunch was amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had heard from friends that this place was so good. The food was fresh and the service was great. They were so right. We had Sunday Brunch with Tapas. The bloody mary was tasty as well. There was tons of food that was all fresh and very tasty. Only thing we were not huge fans of was the sausage. The meatballs were awesome. I want to go back to this place. Too bad I will have to wait. Go, you will not regret it. It is worth the price for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francheska R, Public Relations Manager at St Germain Bistro & Cafe, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Kristie,

This is Francheska Ríos from The Mezzanine in Old San Juan. Firstly, thank you SO much for the great 5 star review you wrote about us on TripAdvisor!

The only thing is, your review is actually posted to St Germain's profile page, and though it's the same owner, the two businesses have separate profile pages since they are two different concepts. I'm sorry to even ask, but it would be AWESOME if you would be so kind as to write your comments here:
tinyurl.com/Mezzanine-TripAdvisor

Thanks in advance and we hope to see you in again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Wonderful restaurant in Old San Juan. Especially nice if you want something on the light side. Tasty sandwiches, quiches and drinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lefty0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Petite France in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

After some days we've spent in the US before arriving to San Juan, we were hungry for some european syle dinner, and this place is a hidden jam. At this place you can have quality food instead of the quantity. Absolutely recommended, specially after a cruise. :-)
Small place with just a few tables, but reservations are not accepted, so arrive early to have a seat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank domhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Germain Bistro & Cafe also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to St Germain Bistro & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing