We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST try place while in Old San Juan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Germain Bistro & Cafe

St Germain Bistro & Cafe
Ranked #28 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cafe, Puerto Rican, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A MUST try place while in Old San Juan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

We read many other reviews about St. Germain before our trip to PR, and one night while walking around OSJ we decided to give it a try. We have never made a better decision!! The location was tucked away and cozy, but not difficult to find. The servers were attentive, helpful, and very friendly. The atmosphere was quiet and low-key.

We got the meal for 2, which included a bottle of wine, 2 entrees, appetizer, and dessert. We chose the house white wine, which was simaliar to a sweet Chardonney, delicious! We chose the moroccan hummus for an appetizer- it came with toasted pita and was creamy and authentic tasting. For entrees, I chose the avocado and mango salad and my husband had a sandwich that contained pesto, chicken, sun-dried tomatoes, and goat cheese (I forget the name now). We chose carrot cake for dessert, although there were MANY other things to choose from. Everything was delicious and fresh! We ate 100% of everything and have not one bad thing to say about the food and service.

The prices are beyond reasonable, and even though the fair is more fresh-market than it is Puerto Rican, it is a must try when in OSJ!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingBearcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    287
    86
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
1 review
“Cool spot for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

The variety and quality of sandwichs here was some of the best i have ever seen. Cobblestone streets outside, its like a mini version of Europe. Staff was great and friendly. Go to the fort then walk to st. Germain for lunch then on to El Morro castle. Perfect day

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SneakyJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Feel at home in Old San Juan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

We rented an apartment for a week on Calle Sol in Old San Juan, and had read about the St. Germain Bistro & Cafe in the neighborhood and were curious to try it. We had a late lunch the same day we arrived, and had such a good time we came back nearly every day, and some days more than once. We soon got to know the staff by name, and it really meant a lot to be able to walk in at almost any time and be recognized and greeted as old friends. This is very much the style of a down-to-earth neighborhood cafe in Europe, something very different from so many American restaurants with wait staff carefully rehearsed how to greet, to recite the specials of the day, ask for your drinks order and then leave you to peruse a menu carefully crafted to emphasize the corporate theme. Walking down toward the harbor where the cruise ships dock, there are a lot of very touristy places of this type which we tried to avoid. St. Germain was a breath of fresh air, and in fact the location reminded me of a small hotel where we have stayed on a back street in the 6th arrondissement in Paris (St.-Germain-des-Pres, maybe not a coincidence): close enough for easy access to everything you want, but not too close to the circuit of tourists looking for Starb*cks or T.G.I.F. The bartender's Vespa parked by the front door adds to the image, as does the clientele, which is diverse: families, students, a group of ladies having a night out, a businessman still wearing his necktie meeting his family for a dinner out.

The decor is very simple and unpretentious, white tables and chairs (not necessarily matching), antique photos of San Juan on the walls. The menu offers main dish salads, ciabatta or baguette sandwiches, quiche, soups, and pita pizzas. A chalkboard on the wall lists the soup and quiche of the day. As in France, the best option is often the "formule" -- our favorite dinner for two included a bottle of house red wine (a very nice Shiraz-Cabernet blend), a shared appetizer (we always took the hummous and pita), two main courses, and a shared dessert, for a grand total of $45. There is also a lunch formule, as well as one for people just coming by for dessert and drinks. Ceviche of mahi-mahi and shrimp is excellent, and available as a starter or with a large bed of greens as a main dish salad. Quiche is another option, as well as soup (potato and spinach was very good). Sunday brunch offers quiche, crepes, and champagne mimosas. They are not open for breakfast, unfortunately.

As noted by another reviewer, this may not be the place for a conventional dinner: if you crave a steak and potatoes, look elsewhere. The menu offers nothing fried, no potatoes, no pastas, and on the table you find no salad dressings, no ketchup or mustard. Though not strictly vegetarian, St. German emphasizes fresh, light and healthy ingredients with meats as an element rather than the main feature (though we found generous servings of prosciutto on one main dish salad, and fragrant salmon on a wonderful pita pizza). We really enjoyed sharing a main dish salad and a pita pizza, but I can understand that might not be for everyone.

Dessert choices included carrot cake, brownie a la mode, a croissant with Nutella which we never got around to trying, pecan pie, and one of the best Key lime pies ever. Espresso is made from freshly-roasted, shade-grown coffee beans from Cuatro Sombras (see my review in TripAdvisor), and we learned that the owners of Cafe St. Germain are good friends of Pablo and Marianna Munoz from Cuatro Sombras, which somehow seems fitting. We enjoy supporting small local businesses run by people who love what they do. Elsewhere in San Juan we found too many places serving drinks based on packaged mixes or concentrates, which seems a shame in a place with such a variety of wonderfully fresh fruits. Cafe St. Germain serves some terrific drinks made from fresh ingredients, including (of course) mojitos, but also tall lemonades with fresh basil or ginger, wonderfully refreshing on a hot day.

The service staff were warm and friendly, and we got to know them by name: Judith, Veronica, Chris, Dey, Nanette, and the bartender Josie. Along with Cafe Quatro Sombras, Cafe St. Germain was one of our favorite places in Old San Juan, and we definitely plan to return. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fredswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY burbs
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great, fresh and healthy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

After a few days of eating fried, unhealthy food with few fresh fruits and veggies, their fresh sandwiches and salads were a welcome change. Creative and refreshing combinations in salads, sandwiches and the like were very much appreciated after a hot tour of St Cristobal. Kid friendly, have a few off menu items sure to please picky eaters. Drinks were homemade and refreshing - the agua fresca and lemonade were fab!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gooselee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Our son recommended this restaurant as he found this wonderful restaurant during his visit to Old San Juan last year. We missed their Sunday Brunch which they are famous for but our lunch experience during the week was a wonderful experience. The service was spectacular and the food was absolutely fantastic with an exciting menue and we cannot wait to go back. If you visit Old San JUan...it is a MUST.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Germain Bistro & Cafe also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to St Germain Bistro & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing