We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little place”
Review of Cafeteria Mallorca

Cafeteria Mallorca
Ranked #2 of 28 Dessert in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great little place”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a great little place that our hotel doorman recommended to us. We asked him for a taxi to get to old town, and he asked where we wanted to go. We said breakfast, so he recommended this place. It was was very popular and crowded, but quite yummy. I recommend the Mallorca (sweed bread) with ham and cheese. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. They also have pastries in the window that are divine. It is definately worth going to. It is right across the street from trolley stop number 6.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank thetwinsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    276
    74
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fayetteville, ar
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

So authentic. Great coffee and terrific food. The mallorcas are really good. Everything was good. Comfy atmosphere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bennyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surviving authentic eatery, feel like you are a local in Old San Juan!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband found Cafeteria Mallorca after wandering around for a few days in Old San Juan; and I could not be more thankful. It was packed when we arrived so we sat at the back end of the stools. We found ourselves between two senior citizens who were evidently locals that have had their meals there for most of their lives. We asked for coffee with milk (cafe con leche), and when we realized it was noon we decided to choose one of their lunch options. It was rice, beans, plantains and chicken for me; and mix of rice-and-beans, grilled pork and plantains for my husband. The energy of the waiters is amazing, their experience and authenticity is evident. They make the place and I immediately fell in love with it. I started eating and I felt I was eating simple but good tasting comfort food. The senior lady next to me started telling me how this was one of the surviving original eateries she knew all her life. She was also interacting constantly with the waiters and their small talk was just a perfect match for my comfort food moment . "Hello there... I thought you did not come to work today!" she said to one of the younger waiters. "Sometimes I also work in the kitchen, you know!. But I'm here for sure" responded the guy as if talking to his grandma-best friend. We returned the next morning for coffee and sweet bread. if I lived in Old San Juan I would eat there every day, like that older lady I forgot to say bye bye to.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Violeta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIshers, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We loved Cafeteria Mallorca! This is a diner type of place (not fancy) where natives and travellers congregrate. Why? Simple. The food is great! Very affordable prices and great ham and cheese mallorcas! We went back to this place to have pastries, and they were "oh sooo good." We could not help but to visit this place several times during our week stay in Old San Juan. Try this place for breakfast, brunch, or lunch. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The locals love it.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A good breakfast /lunch place similar to the now defunct Bombanero's down the street. Great for coffee/milk (leche) and pastries. The locals like it for its PR fare and value. Very good pastries were only$1.50 each. The rest of the fare was similarly inexpensive. A good place to sit with the locals and stretch your travel dollar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafeteria Mallorca also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafeteria Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing