We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puts Starbucks to Shame”
Review of Cafe Cola'o

Cafe Cola'o
Ranked #5 of 22 Coffee & Tea in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Puts Starbucks to Shame”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stopped her twice. Both times we had cappuccino, lattes and hot chocolate. All simply awesome and very inexpensive. Also had the toasted croissant with ham, turkey and cheese and the cheese filled danish. All excellent. If I lived in Old San Juan, I'd stop here everyday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwazimotosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    57
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Some of the best coffee in town”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

a small place (there are just 2 tables inside, with four or five outside), but great for coffee to go!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank marcnewhouse333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great coffee at a great price”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Kept hearing about this place from both locals and visitors, but had never tried as it is tucked away in the pier. Finally got to try it and is just excellent. The prices are also very good compared to similar places in the area. They also have pastries, mallorcas and sandwiches at good prices. Small sitting area inside and a few more tables outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nytoparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

While carousing and shopping Old San Juan, we stopped for a short break, In fact I was looking for Starbuck's when I came across this coffee shop. The coffee was excellent. The way they make coffee drinks it is time consuming and therefore generates a wait period. Wait. It will be worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem + Best Value in San Juan”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I stopped here for a breakfast latte and pastry. Folks here were SUPER nice and made fun designs in our latte. Our pastry was also delicious. Would have gone back every day if I discovered this earlier in our vacation. Prices are cheaper than what you'd pay at starbucks.

This place is across the street from CVS near where the cruise ships dock.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wagslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cola'o also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Cola'o? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing