We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem + Best Value in San Juan”
Review of Cafe Cola'o

Cafe Cola'o
Ranked #5 of 21 Coffee & Tea in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Restaurant details
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem + Best Value in San Juan”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I stopped here for a breakfast latte and pastry. Folks here were SUPER nice and made fun designs in our latte. Our pastry was also delicious. Would have gone back every day if I discovered this earlier in our vacation. Prices are cheaper than what you'd pay at starbucks.

This place is across the street from CVS near where the cruise ships dock.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wagslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    56
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great coffeeshop, Friendly and Knowledgeable Staff”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We came here each morning and enjoyed the coffee. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would recommend this spot to coffee drinkers.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank wahoowa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee. Needs more locations”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The coffee here is amazing. Beautifully roasted for super balanced flavor. I only wish there were more locations other than Old San Juan. We need to have dozens of Cafe Cola'os instead of Starbucks.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love what I do and what they taught.”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I love being a barista and these guys really know what they are doing. I took classes under the same barista as them, and they keep surprising me with new achived skills each and every day I go.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wingrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First day was good, second day was ok”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Their coffee was to die for. It was excellent. The gentleman back in the counter made it for me. It was delicious. Never tasted coffee like that before. I ended up buying a pound of their ground roast. I couldn't get it off my mind so I asked my husband to take me back there the next day. I ordered the same thing... cafe latte. This time, the girl back in the counter made it. Somehow, it didn't take my breath away. I think it depends on who makes it. I'll probably go back but may have to ask the gentleman to make it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fishslayer205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cola'o also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Cola'o? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing