We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ceviche, enjoyed the atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aguaviva

Aguaviva
Ranked #73 of 999 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Aguaviva, opened in 2002, specializes in seaside Latino cuisine - the freshest fish and seafood prepared with Latino – Caribbean flair by Chef Hector Crespo. Aguaviva features an amazing ceviche and oyster bar in front of the open kitchen, allowing diners to interact with our chefs and dine in a beautiful environment. Oysters are flown in daily and there are six fresh ceviche varieties, all served with hot crispy Puerto Rican tostones.The Aguaviva bar tempts with creative Caribbean cocktails such as the fresh Pineapple Mojito and Watermelon Vivatini and Sangria.Aguaviva’s design is hip and refreshing, with intimate island seaside touches throughout the glowing blue and white candlelit space.Named one of Conde Nast Traveller’s hottest new 100 restaurants in the world, and San Juan City magazine’s Best Seafood Restaurant and Best Restaurant for a First Date, Aguaviva is not to be missed.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent ceviche, enjoyed the atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had the tuna tartare ceviche and the mahi mahi- loved them both! Lots of flavor which isn't always true with ceviche. Great little restauraunt in a fun part of time with lots of other places to try around. Would definitely come back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chicagotraveler0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at Aguaviva, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
I'm thrilled to hear you found the ceviche so flavorful! We prepare it with exceptionally fresh fish and hit it with a splash of acid so that the flavor really pops. Hope you get a chance to visit again soon!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    211
    102
    43
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Six ceviche sampler with tostones <3 <3 <3”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This old San Juan Resturant has by far the best Ceviche i have ever had in all of Puerto Rico.
the 6 sample was great to share. and it had plenty of food.
only thing that i did not like was the 3 servers who kept on popping up at our table every 2 minutes to ask if everything was ok or if we were finished with the food yet!!, that was kinda annoying

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaliaToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at Aguaviva, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm honored to know that our ceviche is the best you've ever had in Puerto Rico. The next time you visit, please feel free to let our hostess know how you prefer your service. We want to do what we can to make sure our guests have a 5-star experience. Hope to see you back again soon!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We go here every time we are in Puerto Rico. It's one of our favorite places to eat in old San Juan! Ceviche is the best I've ever had!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dalej712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at Aguaviva, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much! I really appreciate you seeing us whenever you're in town. Do you have another trip to San Juan planned soon? If so, be sure to stop by for some ceviche!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

A must in PR, food was 5 star, cool decor, fun spin in drinks. Best value for your dollar for excellent food. Would return and recommend to friends. The ceviche was the best we ever had!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gigisboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at Aguaviva, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Wow, the best you ever had! I'm delighted to hear you loved the ceviche that much. If you're still in San Juan, I hope you get a chance to see us again before you return home!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood and very good service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

After reading several reviews, my husband and I looked forward to dinner here. We particularly wanted seafood and/or fish. Our waitress was pleasant and attentive. We went with her recommendations... Red snapper ceviche and paella for 2 and they were wonderful! It was fresh and flavorful. The paella was perfectly spiced, smokey chorizo, tender and sweet calamari, clams and mussels not over cooked. We were stuffed but couldn't pass on coconut creme brûlée. What a way to top the meal! If you want fresh seafood, you should come here! They were busy but we never felt rushed along. And I love the hanging glass jellyfish lamps!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petuniasattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at Aguaviva, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks so much for dining with us! I'm delighted to hear that you and your husband found our seafood so fresh and flavorful. Between the ceviche and the paella, what was your overall favorite dish?

I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their friendly and attentive service. Hope you get a chance to dine with us again soon!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aguaviva also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing