We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neet Place!”
Review of Aguaviva

Aguaviva
Ranked #77 of 1,072 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Aguaviva, opened in 2002, specializes in seaside Latino cuisine - the freshest fish and seafood prepared with Latino – Caribbean flair by Chef Hector Crespo. Aguaviva features an amazing ceviche and oyster bar in front of the open kitchen, allowing diners to interact with our chefs and dine in a beautiful environment. Oysters are flown in daily and there are six fresh ceviche varieties, all served with hot crispy Puerto Rican tostones.The Aguaviva bar tempts with creative Caribbean cocktails such as the fresh Pineapple Mojito and Watermelon Vivatini and Sangria.Aguaviva’s design is hip and refreshing, with intimate island seaside touches throughout the glowing blue and white candlelit space.Named one of Conde Nast Traveller’s hottest new 100 restaurants in the world, and San Juan City magazine’s Best Seafood Restaurant and Best Restaurant for a First Date, Aguaviva is not to be missed.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Food was great. We arrived (had reservations) at 6:30. It was a short walk from the Sheraton. By 7:15 the place started to fill up! I got a pitcher of Sangria, Yum. It was a bit pricey but well worth it! Great service and ambience!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bobbie Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at Aguaviva, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Thanks Bobbie! The sangria's one of my favorites, too. I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their fantastic service. Hope you get a chance to dine with us again soon!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 469 of 841 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

We arrived at the restaurant frustrated and annoyed by the roadwork and traffic......the attentive and friendly service quickly allowed us to put all that aside. Food was amazing. Truly and simply amazing. Well prepared and served creatively each dish from appetizer, to salad, to entree was yummy and lovely. This restaurant deserves its high profile reputation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tigpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at Aguaviva, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I'm delighted to hear that from the appetizer to the entree, your entire meal was lovely and delicious. That's the goal! Which dishes did you try? Any favorites?

I'll be sure to let the rest of the team know you appreciated their attentive and friendly service as well. Looking forward to your next meal with us!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Went with a group of 7 (had reservations) . We were seated immediately, and the menu was explained to us, since most had never experienced some of the dishes. The fresh fried red snapper with lobster mofongo, and the grilled Mahi Mahi with savory mofongo were excellent (priced around $26 each).A pitcher of watermelon sangria (very refreshing,and smooth) with a coconut crème brulee, and a flan, for dessert, will bring the bill to around $100 for two. Members of our party were eating for $35 - $45 per person. Service , food quality and quantity were very good. Prices were a bit high, but considering the quality, was fair. After we arrived, another large party arrived, and the restaurant became a little crowded. Total occupancy when full is around 35.

Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at Aguaviva, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hi Kenneth,

I'm delighted to hear you thought the seafood was excellent! Between the snapper, lobster and Mahi Mahi, which was your favorite?

I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their thoughtful and attentive service as well. Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. Looking forward to your next meal with us!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Food was good, small portions over priced limited menu. Staff reluctant to call a cab for us. There are much better values around, Oceano on Vending St for one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at Aguaviva, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Hi Joseph,

I'm disheartened to hear you didn't enjoy your meal with us. We put a lot of love into our cooking, only serving the highest quality seafood available to us. Accordingly, we believe our dishes our priced appropriately. Nevertheless, I agree that our staff should've been more accommodating towards you. I'll be sure to discuss your experience with the team so that we can better serve our guests going forward.

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

You walk into a virtual aquarium and the fun begins. Great service with very friendly staff and an excellent seafood menu. The calamari starter had a nice zing to it and the crab cake just melts in your mouth. We had the whole red snapper as an entree and shared it and it was delicious with a plantain lobster stuffing. Good selections of wines.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at Aguaviva, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thanks David! It's nice to hear you think the fun begins the moment you step through our doors. From our fresh seafood to our friendly service, we want everyone to have a fantastic time here. Hope you get a chance to visit again soon!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aguaviva also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing