We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT MEAL”
Review of Jam Rum Bar + Bistro Moderne - CLOSED

Jam Rum Bar + Bistro Moderne
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Manuel Rodriguez Serra
Description: Nestled away in the beautiful residential community of Condado is the hottest new restaurant in Puerto Rico. Jam Bistro Rum bar moderne is Puerto Rico's only Rum Bar featuring over 70 Rums from around the Island and World. Our menu consists of creative Caribbean and Latin influenced bistro style dishes. Menu is seasonally and locally driven focusing on regional ingredients, local farms and fisherman using lighter cooking methods. Children are welcome, and actually eat free on Sundays! The restaurant has an amazing energy and palate of citrus colors to match the white leather decor. Neighborhood favorite spot for the food lovers of San Juan/Condado. Unbeatable value, great ambience and energy has made Jam Bistro Rum bar moderne an instant success in Puerto Rico. Large groups welcome with private rooms.
barrington
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“GREAT MEAL”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had dinner here. It was truly a fabulous meal . Our party of seven all had the 4 course dinner special with wine pairing. The mofango soup was excellent. Also the empanadas were great. I had the rib eye which was done perfect. Our server Katya was very knowledgeable and helpful. This was the best meal we had during our 5 day stay in San Juan. We will definetly go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    89
    33
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Went back again”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

In my last review in March, 2012 I said we were going to go back to Jam. Well it is a year later and we had dinner there last night.

The White Bean Soup is still incredible as were the drinks. The Tuna Tartare appitizer and the Cerviche were excellent.

I would not recommending ordering the rib eye. They say they are known for it, but it was very thin (think 1/4 inch) and a little chewy.

We still love the restaurant, but just a little less.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlferm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Incredible Food!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went here on our last night in Condado. All we can say is that it was the best meal we had in Condado and we have been to all the top restaurants. It was a Sunday night, so wasn't too busy. Our server, Katya, was very knowledgeable and made great recommendations on all courses and drinks after inquiring about our food interests. We ordered the shrimp ceviche and beef carpaccio as appetizers, both we were perfect. Those were followed by the jam rum bar Greek salad, which was extremely fresh with a great dressing. For our main course we had the Crusted Ahi Tuna and Red Snapper. The Tuna was very fresh and fantastic! The red snapper was flavored perfectly along with a great tasting mofongo. For dessert, it was the chocolate mouse. The food and service were superb!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Third year in a row”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

As a single traveller, this is an excellent restaurant to sit at the bar and enjoy a meal. I usually stay at the Marriot and it is an easy walk. In additiion the food is wonderful especially the tuna tartar as an appetizer. I rather enjoyed the "blind bartender" cocktail as an after dinner drink. In fact, I stopped in one other night after dinner just for that cocktail. I will definitely return again next year!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iggytoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype...”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited Jam Bar last week and were pretty disappointed. We were seated at the chef's tasting table, which is a nook located at the back of the restaurant. A table for eight, but we were just four. It was comfortable, but a difficult spot for the servers.

The servers were nervous. I've not really seen this before, but they were tenative. We received a dish that we didn't order and we were actually concerned that the server would be fired. Can't figure it out, maybe it was just a bad day.

The food was good. My daughter had the famous white bean soup and it was tasty, very rich. We also ordered the calamari appetizer, truffle fries, the steak empanada, the bread with guava butter, the greek salad, the larger sized rib-eye steak and the pastelón de perníl. The empanadas were delicious. Kids loved the bread and guava butter, it was sweet and almost breakfast like. The steak was not of good quality, very fatty and very sinuey--not like steaks that we are served in NY--especially not for the $35 per plate price tag. The pastelón de perníl was good, my daughter really liked it.

The kids ordered dessert, which had a whimsical name and was not what they expected. It was essentially a fruit salad with ice cream. They were disappointed.

We also ordered drinks--the blind bartender and a mojito, both were good.

At the end of our meal, another table accross the restaurant from us engaged in a very loud argument that went on for at least 15 minutes before we left (and it was still going on) and management did nothing to stop it or to ask the table to lower their voices. Very uncomfortable.

All in all, a very strange and expensive experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jam Rum Bar + Bistro Moderne also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing