We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service & Food Excellent”
Review of Jam Rum Bar + Bistro Moderne - CLOSED

Jam Rum Bar + Bistro Moderne
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Manuel Rodriguez Serra
Description: Nestled away in the beautiful residential community of Condado is the hottest new restaurant in Puerto Rico. Jam Bistro Rum bar moderne is Puerto Rico's only Rum Bar featuring over 70 Rums from around the Island and World. Our menu consists of creative Caribbean and Latin influenced bistro style dishes. Menu is seasonally and locally driven focusing on regional ingredients, local farms and fisherman using lighter cooking methods. Children are welcome, and actually eat free on Sundays! The restaurant has an amazing energy and palate of citrus colors to match the white leather decor. Neighborhood favorite spot for the food lovers of San Juan/Condado. Unbeatable value, great ambience and energy has made Jam Bistro Rum bar moderne an instant success in Puerto Rico. Large groups welcome with private rooms.
Cleveland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service & Food Excellent”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a fantastic dinner at Jam on a Saturday evening. Our server Melvin was terrific and recommended several favorites of his own. Most successful was the drink called the Blind Bartender. Complex and delicious with a little spice. The red snapper was prepared nicely over a mofungo style cake and the other entree, shrimp prepared with a wonderful risotto, was delicious. We will definitely be back next visit and would certainly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    89
    33
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Returning again... three years running”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We vacation in Condado every year. Jam was recommended to us because of our love of Marmalade (was a sister rest. but has since been sold). The food three years ago was good but the service was OK. Last year the food was better and the service excellent. But this year the Chef has found his stride. The seasoning was perfect, the ceviche perfect, but by far my favorite was the beef carpachio as an appy. For dinner I had the shrimp risotto and I can tell you it was a treat! Comfort food with flare. For the fist time in three years I can honestly say that Jam was giving Marmalade a run for their money.
Additionally the drink were great and our waiter Melvin was a gem. He made perfect recommendations to complement our meals. Thanks Melvin! You made our dinner that much better!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferMStrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ciotat, France
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fab food, weird service. wish there was a 'good' circle.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The restaurant is cool and sophisticated whilst also feeling a little like home. The menu is intriguing and our food was very good. The service was a little strange - 2 waitresses serving us, it was almost as if they were going to fight over us. We found out one was in training, but the trainee was much better than the trainer. Good food, good experience, would recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ignore the bad reviews on this site - it was great!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went to the Jam Rum Bar because of the positive reviews on this site. (I decided to ignore the bad ones and we were so glad we did). We sat at the bar and found ourselves sat next to Richard - the off-duty bartender - so full of awesome Rum knowledge and tips for what to do in Puerto Rico, and then also met who I thought was the bartender - Christina (I think) and she turned out to be the Manager. Owners of Jam Rum Bar, let it be known you have a caring, amazingly knowledgeable, awesome Manager looking after your place of business. She suggested some amazing Rum cocktails, gave great advise about some food choices and helped round off a most enjoyable - not to mention hugely tasty Puerto Rican experience!

Cheers!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“drinks redeemed the experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

went here with another couple - we didn't have a reservation, were able to be seated right away (which maybe should have been a warning sign). cocktails were delicious, great bread and butter but we were charged $5 for a second helping (really?), rest of the food was decent but not amazing, and service was REALLY slow. would not go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KHib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jam Rum Bar + Bistro Moderne also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing