We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most excellent experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Segway Tours of Puerto Rico

Segway Tours of Puerto Rico
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.69*
and up
Old San Juan Segway Tour
Ranked #25 of 126 Tours in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A most excellent experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Very fun 2 hr tour. Juan is a gem! Loved the history, all the stops, and all the information provided to our group. Well worth the cost and something I would encourage everyone to try. Great tour!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    30
    3
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We didn't really know what to expect, but we enjoyed both the tour as well as learning and riding the Segways. After initial instruction and a few minutes of practice, you find the Segway easy to control and lots of fun! The tour covers a lot of ground without any real effort. Frequent stops provide insights into San Juan's history and its geography. Natalia, our guide, is Ukranian and has lived in several places around the world before settling in PR.
We are just under the tour's age limit of 65, and had no problems -- even on a busy tourist Sunday. If you are reasonably agile, this is a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank mgbenjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went on the tour on 1/26. Booking was a bit disorganized, but when you realize the whole thing is a 2 person operation, you will see why. Their office is right on pier 2, and we stopped by, and there was no one there and the door was locked. Info on the door said to reserve online or call. We tried both. Call was returned eventually, but online booking actually was fairly easy. They did not require any credit card info up front, just our names and contact info. We wanted to go on Friday, but Saturday was the next opening, so book a few days ahead. We had to return a conformation email and we were all set. Tours are small, groups of 6. When we got to the office on Saturday, again the door was locked. We were there 1/2 hour before the scheduled tour. So we had some GREAT coffee next door (best in San Juan) and our guide showed up about 15 min before scheduled tour. It's just her and the owner running the place. She was very friendly. On our tour was my husband and I, and 2 women who were leaving for a cruise later in the day. They were able to store their luggage in the office while we were on the tour. Another couple had reserved, but did not show. She gave us a 1/2 Segway lesson, and then we were off on our 2 hour fortifications tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable. We went from the pier, around the edge of the city wall, and up to El Morro fort. She also walked us through the fort, and admission was included in the tour. Then we rode back to the office. We has a few stops along the way for pictures, and a bathroom stop at the fort. The price seems expensive, but it was worth every penny, and my top recommendation for what to do in San Juan. It was a great way to see a lot, and get an overview of everything, plus the Segways are fun. My only complaint was my feet were tired from standing on the Segway. Be sure to wear comfy shoes. Definitely splurge for the 2 hour tour, 45 minutes would have been too short.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carloina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We took the 2 hour tour. Natalia was our guide. She was very knowledgeable about the area. We had been nervous that the tour would cover much of what we had already seen while walking through old San Juan. This was not the case. The tour takes you along the water below the governor's house and through the streets to the little fort.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LGGNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Must Do if you go to Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is absolutely the best way to see and learn about Old San Juan. You cover a lot or area in a short amount of time. Learning to maneuver a Segway is easy, Jose, our guide was excellent! There is no way you can see as much of Old San Juan taking the walking or bus tours in the same amount of time. we took the 2 hour tour and stopped at the fort where Jose gave us a walking tour. This was a highlight of our trip to Puerto Rico.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway Tours of Puerto Rico also viewed

 

Been to Segway Tours of Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing