We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it here!”
Review of Perla

Perla
Ranked #37 of 1,015 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $85
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Perla is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious and professional hospitality. DRESS CODE: No open toe shoes for men. No tank tops for men. No bathing suits.
Boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved it here!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Gorgeous setting with excellent food and service! Thanks to trip advisor friends for suggesting this wonderful spot to celebrate our anniversary. We went for an early reservation in order to see the view and have a drink before dinner and so glad we did. The staff of Esteban and Marvin were so attentive and professional they made us feel welcome and special. We ordered the grilled prawns with coconut curry sauce that was to die for. I told the chef I wanted a bowl of that sauce on its own! For dinner I had the filet which was cooked perfectly and tender. My husband had the diver scallops which were also cooked to perfection. Desert on the suggestion of Esteban was the made to order soufflé...well worth the wait. Presentation was gorgeous with a happy anniversary message in chocolate! We were not rushed and totally enjoyed everything about this restaurant. Thank you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank okie103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    235
    86
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
208 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening in every respect”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Excellent food and service in an iconic setting. The sea and shellfish appetizers were excellent as was the service. A beautiful evening all around.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TouringLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Barely and average restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The restaurant is supposed to be a very nice and upscale place. The view during the day is nice, since it is next to the water and the structure of the restaurants is unique as it was built as a clam. Unfortunately the services was awful, especially for an expensive restaurants.
The food was ok. Late but ok. The tuna tartar was average. The Lamb chops were good and the bread was excellent.
Unfortunately the lack of service didn't benefit the food at the end. We even had to get up to look for a waiter to get the bill....I would try other restaurants in San Juan before going to this one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FRDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Ambiance, view, service....all incredible. But then star of this restaurant is the food!!! Seafood is so fresh and the meats and so well seasoned and prepared. It is truly a 5 star dining experience that I would recommend to everyone staying in and around this hotel!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful 30th Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here on our 30th Wedding Anniversary. The food was very good, well presented and the service top-notch. We went on a recommendation from our hotel for a "romantic setting" for dinner. It did not disappoint, the atmosphere is very lovely and we had an ocean side table. I booked the reservation on-line and let them know we were having a special dinner in advance. Can not say enough great things about the food, it simply perfect!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celeste871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perla also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing