We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most expensive restaurant you will find”
Review of Perla

Perla
Ranked #37 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $85
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Perla is a luxury seafood restaurant serving refined contemporary American cuisine with gracious and professional hospitality. DRESS CODE: No open toe shoes for men. No tank tops for men. No bathing suits.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“the most expensive restaurant you will find”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

food was great, but think you are probably also paying for the views of the ocean, which are breathtaking. smokes trout soup was out of this world, but their "signature" sea bass was really only so-so, given how much it cost. at $150 for two, with only one glass of wine and no dessert, think the price was a bit much for what you get.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dc_babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    237
    88
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food great but not terrific”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My only complaint is that I think my lobster was a bit overcooked. It adhered to the shell and I had a lot of trouble eating it. But the beurre blanc sauce was terrific and I still enjoyed eating it. Other than that, the service was impeccable and the food excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view, tasty food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very good food. Surprised to find this restaurant in a hotel. Cool location though--1958 bandstand. Shrimp appetizer was very tasty. Spicy tuna entree was nicely done. Would return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JAG3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cannot say enough good things!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were hesitant to eat here given that it was in our hotel, but man, are we glad we did. Hands-down, most flavorful filet I've ever eaten. Superb Thai curry coconut shrimp appetizer. I could have gone home with a gallon of the sauce. The highlight was our visit from the chef. Young and super cute, he explained how his family has opened restaurants in PR for 18 years, and gave us lots of good recommendations for lunches and dinners, too. Nice personal touch to the dinner. I will definitely return, even if we don't stay at La Concha. Great lighting inside, great wine list, great service... See!, can't stop raving!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heatherdj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The place to be is Perla inside of La Concha Hotel. The food is great, the atmosphere is amazing, the staff is wonderful. Had the surf and turf meal and it was worth every penny. Definitely looking forward to eating here again on my next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perla also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing