We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ummo Sumo”
Review of UMMO Argentinian Grill - CLOSED

UMMO Argentinian Grill
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The local scene here is as hot as the wood-fired grill in the kitchen. Carnivores go for the parrillada, a savory selection of chorizo, pork tenderloin, short ribs, sweetbreads, and blood sausage (the faint of heart can opt for the fresh grilled vegetables).
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ummo Sumo”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I had to wheel myself out of this place I ate so much. From the strawberry mojito to the Gourmet Parrillada (best thing ever) to the vanilla custard to wrap it up.. We were pleased every step of the way. The service was superb and we loved our server! Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
2 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    148
    51
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great steaks.”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I had a very nice dinner here. I had a filet that was outstanding and my wife, who is not a big steak person, had the small skirt steak and she raved about it. That takes some doing. The wine list was very good and we shared a bottle of Argentinian Malbec for 38 or 39 bucks that was great. If you like steaks you can't go wrong here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank freods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, mi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious, relaxing meal”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We just ate here, at 5:30 on a Tuesday, there were no other diners when we first got there. I ordered a glass of Pinot Grigio, it was ice ice cold and wonderful. My husband and I shared the beef filet empanadas appetizer, which were so good that my husband said he could just ordered them for his meal. They served warm rolls with a cream cheese, chive and bacon spread which was really good. We both gad the 6 oz skirt steak, cooked perfectly with the most delicious chimmichurri sauce. Waitress was very helpful and attentive. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best filet and seafood ever!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us by the hotel check-in staff. Our waiter was so nice and recommended great drinks and meals. The bread was fresh and hot and served with fresh butter. My husband had the most tender beef filet ever and I had the stuffed grouper with shrimp. We also shared an Arugula Salad that was excellent and I have made this at home twice already with similar results. I loved the grouper and it was stuffed with yualita Lila. I asked the waiter to write it down so I could make it at home. He was so nice and made our meal a pleasure. We had cafe con leche with a delicious dessert. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank marern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, average service”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I had the short ribs. They were well done when I had wanted medium. Still, it was quite tasty and my wife enjoyed her fish. The server was very inattentive and was hitting up some chick in the front section. We had to summon him a couple of times and I just did not get the feeling that he wanted to be there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UMMO Argentinian Grill also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing