We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good PR food close to SJU airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropol

Metropol
Ranked #44 of 1,001 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good PR food close to SJU airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Got this recommendation from our cab driver. If you have 2 hours to kill and are hungry, it's very close to the airport and good PR cuisine. Locals eat there, but it's nice tablecloth/waiter service. Prices typical for tourist area. My husband had their pasteles, and he enjoyed them. Their mofongo, which is what I was yearning for, was terrific. They had a good, varied menu.
Tip: if you do want the mofongo as a meal option rather than side dish, ask. For some reason, it's only shown as a side dish, but you can get it as a dinner option with whatever meat/seafood you want.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CountessP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    968
    732
    231
    68
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prairieville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great lunch with local flair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

great local food, service was perfect. margaritas are excellent! Walking distance from the Ritz. Will be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kls98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place convenient to Isla Verde hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Enjoyed dinner here two nights on our recent trip to San Juan. Food was pretty good. Enjoyed the fried cubed pork with black beans and rice, and some plaintains. Price was good for the area. Service was good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SDTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You MUST Eat Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This was our third visit to Metropol. It continues to have delicious food, attentive service, and a relaxing atmosphere. We started with local beer and a mojito. Then out came the garlic Puerto Rican bread.....words fail me! It was so good we nearly finished two baskets of the complimentary bread. Our main entrees were shrimp in garlic sauce and Fiesta Cuba ( a huge plate of assorted appetizers). Very tasty! Tres Leche Cake and Puerto Rican coffee finished our meal.....delicious! All during our lunch many staff members checked with us to see if we were enjoying our meal....and we were! Do not miss this restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank Kathi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great welcome to San Juan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a great location....hidden away along Isla Verde near the airport in San Juan. We received "their favorite restaurant" from independently from two different local residents....and we were not disappointed. it's located at the intersection of Isla Verde Avenue and Road 187. The servers wear formal waiting attire. The service was extraordinary. The price was very attractive. I personally tried a pot roast casserole which provided more food than I could eat. We enjoyed excellent pina coladas at a great price. The place was busy but there was plenty of seating and quite fast service. We ate around for a whole week and found nothing bettter. We also ate at the same restaurant in Farjado. That was great too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 534RichardL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropol also viewed

 
Carolina, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing