We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find, location, value and superior to hotel room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caleta 64 Apartment
Ranked #12 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great find, location, value and superior to hotel room”
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This is located just across from Il Convento in the best location for exploring Old San Juan. It is such a value for all the room and convenience of an apartment and wonderful to step in from the hustle-bustle of the street and traffic to a quiet place. It is very old and that 's part of the charm but may not be pristine enough for some people. Betsy is wonderful: friendly, helpful, available.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    59
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
74
127
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia beach, va
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Do you love San Juan? Want to love it even more? I didn't think I could be even more enchanted with the Old City until we stayed in Caleta 64. Betsy is delightful and helpful - just easy to be with. She works hard to ensure the guests wants and needs are met. But, more, this lovely place is all about location, location, location. It is situated across from the park of the Children's Museum, midway between the San Juan Catedral and the last remaining San Juan gate and across from El Convento. It's perfect. The cobblestoned street is quiet but not remote, the ambiance is without equal, the safety is as good as it gets, and it is beautiful. Stroll around this area day or night and soak up the culture that is San Juan. You are 2-3 blocks from the free trolley stop, shopping and restaurants easily accessed - La Bombonera, El Jibarito, La Barrachina, La Mallorca - even Wendy's and Subway - just a short stroll.

And, the apartments themselves - fantastic! The amenities are nice - tv, stove, refrigerator, queensized beds, air-conditioning and whatnot - and all completely clean, BTW. But, really, turn your attention to the 17' ceilings and the doors that close with hooks hand-hammered who knows when! Look at the recess in the bedroom that shows that the walls are about 15-20" thick. Pay attention to the tiles in the foyer and the lattice on the ceilings - this place is an architectural delight.

There is a 2-night minimum and I just can't encourage you strongly enough if you are cruising - stay the 2 nights on the front or back side of your cruise. Better yet, go for a week. The rates are extremely reasonable and you can make it even more affordable if you prepare some of your meals there. There's a grocery for essentials, snacks, and liquor just a few blocks away. The food is so good in San Juan that I'd have to stay more than 2 days to get around to cooking!! Want drinks late in the evening, there's a bar 4-5 doors down or slip across the street to El Convento - the city is literally at your fingertips.

We stayed in La Puerta which is downstairs, streetside. We kept the 2 floor to ceiling doors wide open except when we slept and the temperature was quite comfortable - especially if you open the hallway door and your neighbors in Casa Blanca have their door open, too. It's just one big happy family - everyone staying there was friendly and engaging. Even the passerbys on the street stop to glance in (since the doors were wide open and the place is enchanting) and then start chatting. That may not be your cup of tea, but we loved it and met a lot of great folks. Caleta 64 is on my favorite street in OSJ - do yourself a BIG favor and spend some time with Betsy and Gustavo.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vabchtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

My family (including 2 teenage girls) had the pleasure of staying at Caleta 64 for 3 days prior to our Christmas cruise. The room was spacious and more than enough room for our family. The location in Old San Juan was perfect. Betsy was extremely helpful to us and looked after any questions or needs that we had. We would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooterCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2011

This was a superb place to stay in San Juan. In the heart of the city....steps away from San Juan gate. We stayed with our son and his wife and all had room to chill, cook and be together. We will make sure we stay here on our next visit. Our host Betsy was the best.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler38117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Betsy and Gustavo were super helpful. If you ever needed them, they were right around the corner at their store with advice. The location of the apartment is absolutely perfect. You couldn't be closer to the history of Old San Juan. The apartment we stayted in (La Puerta) was suuuuper old and charming. It was convenient, it was updated, it was right in the heart of everything when we wanted to be and when we needed privacy we shut the doors and were in complete solitude. Due to the humidity and the age of the place the apartment smells...wet...? But it's nothing terrible. The sheets and towels and everything that counts were fresh and smelled nice :) All the comforts of home but in an awesome location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nphummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Stayed here after reading about it on TA....we stayed in Casablanca. Had no problem checking in early and Betsi and Gustavo are great. Being in an old house w/ such tall ceilings was definitely neat....we even had an inside patio - which I hadn't realized when booking was an actual patio. You can't beat the location - easy to walk to everything and if you want to exercise you can't beat the path out the fort door which is just down the street. There is also a great tapas restaurant on the same street.

We did have some trouble w/ the shower, but, overall I'd recommend these apartments and the washer/dryer were definitely an extra bonus.

Stayed November 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortona in Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed one night at Caleta 64 and regretted not having more time! The apartment was beautifully decorated, well equipped and very comfortable. Air conditioned with flat screen TVs and a full kitchen with washer and dryer, there wasn't anything this unit didn't have! The fact that it is in the heart of Old San Juan and within walking distance of everything was the icing on the cake. Betsy went out of her way to meet us after a late arrival and answered every question and made suggestions that were very helpful. We will definitely be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurobimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 48 in San Juan
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 48 in San Juan
762 reviews
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta 64 Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta 64 Apartment

Property: Caleta 64 Apartment
Address: 64 Caleta de San Juan | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901-1506, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caleta 64 Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Old San Juan this luxury colonial structure dates back to the 1800s having been refurbished successively during the 1900s and most recently for the opening of Caleta 64 Apartments. It is comprised of 5 apartments on three floors.In Caleta 64 Apartments the seventeen high feet ceilings and twenty four inch thick brick walls depict the traditional style of Old San Juan. These features were designed to maintain these large structures aired by constantly circulating fresh air from its ample interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Caleta 64 Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta 64 Apartment Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing