We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the comforts of home in Old San Juan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caleta 64 Apartment
Ranked #13 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Betsy and Gustavo were super helpful. If you ever needed them, they were right around the corner at their store with advice. The location of the apartment is absolutely perfect. You couldn't be closer to the history of Old San Juan. The apartment we stayted in (La Puerta) was suuuuper old and charming. It was convenient, it was updated, it was right in the heart of everything when we wanted to be and when we needed privacy we shut the doors and were in complete solitude. Due to the humidity and the age of the place the apartment smells...wet...? But it's nothing terrible. The sheets and towels and everything that counts were fresh and smelled nice :) All the comforts of home but in an awesome location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nphummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Caleta 64 Apartment
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 262 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2010

Stayed here after reading about it on TA....we stayed in Casablanca. Had no problem checking in early and Betsi and Gustavo are great. Being in an old house w/ such tall ceilings was definitely neat....we even had an inside patio - which I hadn't realized when booking was an actual patio. You can't beat the location - easy to walk to everything and if you want to exercise you can't beat the path out the fort door which is just down the street. There is also a great tapas restaurant on the same street.

We did have some trouble w/ the shower, but, overall I'd recommend these apartments and the washer/dryer were definitely an extra bonus.

Stayed: November 2010
1  Thank JanetC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed one night at Caleta 64 and regretted not having more time! The apartment was beautifully decorated, well equipped and very comfortable. Air conditioned with flat screen TVs and a full kitchen with washer and dryer, there wasn't anything this unit didn't have! The fact that it is in the heart of Old San Juan and within walking distance of everything was the icing on the cake. Betsy went out of her way to meet us after a late arrival and answered every question and made suggestions that were very helpful. We will definitely be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurobimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

we stayed in the la puerta apartment and absolutely loved it! the place was beautiful. it was completely charming and had so much more character than any hotel. the location is absolutely ideal - a short walk to everything in old san juan, while also on a pretty, quiet street. the owner personnally made sure we found the place (even met us as we were getting out of the taxi) and was full of great tips and info to help us with our stay. the set up of th apartment made it a great place for up to 4 people to stay comfortably, and the nicely equipped kitchen made it easy to save money by making some of our own meals. really cannot say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler01010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at Caleta 64 for two nights prior to a Southern Caribbean Cruise and we couldn't be happier with our choice. A great stay always starts with your hosts and you couldn't ask for better ones than Betsy and Gustavo. We let Betsy know ahead of time we'd be arriving in town before the normal check-in time and she was kind enough to have our apartment ready for us when we arrived, so we were able to check-in, relieve ourselves of our luggage and start enjoying Old San Juan right away. When we checked out, Gustavo graciously allowed us to store our luggage by his shop so we were able to spend a few more hours shopping & sight-seeing until it was time for us to leave for the port and board the ship. Both of these gestures by our hosts were greatly appreciated and were the type of thing that would make us want to stay with them again.

Of course even if the hosts are great, it doesn't help if the place you're staying fails to meet your expectations. Fortunately Caleta 64 was all we expected and more! We stayed in the Adoquin apartment and it was every bit as charming as the pics on the website made it look. We loved sitting out on the balcony and watching the activity in Old San Juan. We felt like we were part of the neighborhood, rather than guests in a hotel. And that's the other great thing about Caleta 64- location, location, location! You are literally in the heart of Old San Juan- just up the hill from the San Juan Gate, just down the hill from the San Juan Cathedral and just around the corner from Calle Del Cristo, where many of the fine shops and restuarants are located.

As you can tell from this review, any future trips we take to San Juan would include another stay at Caleta 64 and we have no reservations whatsoever about recommending a stay there to our family & friends or to whoever might happen to read this review.

Thanks again to Betsy and Gustavo for a memorable stay in Old San Juan!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYY21fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Caleta 64 is a great place to stay if you are looking to settle down in Old San Juan for a few days. We stayed in Adoquin during part of our honeymoon and it is a super unique place for couples to stay. The washer/dryer is a huge plus and the 3 tall double doors to the balcony are gorgeous. Betsy was super helpful as well. The location is a catch 22 because it is right near everything and very close to the water but traffic was crazy and parking isn't the easiest. Keep in mind we stayed Thursday and Friday night right before Halloween, but it can be a little tricky regardless. Otherwise it's a win win situation for the anti-resort traveler.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwj301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Ok let me start by saying this, initially I was really worried about not staying in a big chain hotel with it amenities and conveniences, but I wanted to take chance,and get more of a local feel for San Juan, so I opted into stay at Caleta 64 and I'm glad I did! It was soooo perfect. It felt like a home away from home. We were there for a few days before a family cruise (Oct 2010) and it was just perfect all the way around. It IS truly centrally located. And located in a VERY safe neighborhood. It's in walking distance to everything you may need...supermarket, restaurants, bars, as well as historical sights. It's also located less than a two minute walk from San Juan Bay..... absolutely gorgeous at night! We stayed in Adoquin and Casa Blanca. I absolutely loved the Adoquin apartment, especially the wooden french doors that led to the balcony. It just gave the room a nice open flow to it. Everything you needed was supplied, and if it wasn't, Betsy was there to supply it. I can't tell you what a great help she was, from food recommendations to car rentals to whatever ...she was there to help. I also want to thank her for allowing my family and I to store our luggage the day of check out, until our cruise was ready for us to board. I definitely will be back to san Juan and I definitely will be staying at Caleta 64. If you want a truly local feel for San Juan with a friendly atmosphere, stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DFierce27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
228 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta 64 Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta 64 Apartment

Address: 64 Caleta de San Juan | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901-1506, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: $129 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caleta 64 Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Old San Juan this luxury colonial structure dates back to the 1800s having been refurbished successively during the 1900s and most recently for the opening of Caleta 64 Apartments. It is comprised of 5 apartments on three floors.In Caleta 64 Apartments the seventeen high feet ceilings and twenty four inch thick brick walls depict the traditional style of Old San Juan. These features were designed to maintain these large structures aired by constantly circulating fresh air from its ample interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Caleta 64 Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta 64 Apartment Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing