We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caleta 64 Apartment
Ranked #12 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Caleta 64 is a great alternative to a hotel during your stay in San Juan.

We stayed in Adoquin for eight days in April 2014 and the location and amenities made our stay very comfortable. We picked Adoquin for the huge doors that open onto a second floor balcony. It's a great place from which to people-watch on the quiet Caleta de San Juan.

The location of the Caleta 64 is just perfect. Steps away from San Juan Gate, El Convento Hotel, and the cathedral. It really is centrally located to just about everything in Old San Juan.

Betsy Garcia is super helpful, so its cool to rely on her for restaurant recommendations and other useful information to help you enjoy the island.

Room Tip: We peaked into the other rooms. They all look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porsche_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 262 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

If you are looking for authentic historical charm, with all of the comforts of home, in the best location, at a great value, look no further, We stayed in Adoquin for two nights pre-cruise. (We have previously stayed at Villa Herencia and El Convento.) There is simply no better location in all of the Old City; step out the front door and you can see the cathedral at one end, and the city gate at the other. The street is quiet and shaded. All sites of interest are easily walkable. You are just steps away from the forts, the Governor's Mansion, etc.
There are so many things I did like about our apartment, Adoquin. We picked up just a few things at the market two blocks away: drinks, tea, cereal, sandwich fixings, etc., and we had everything we needed to make a light breakfast or lunch. The balcony is the real star of this apartment, we spent hours sitting out there watching the cats, listening to the birds, music from the cathedral, musicians from the square, while people watching and marveling at the historical significance of the area. The apartment is well-appointed and the washing machine came in handy for a small load of laundry before embarking. The ceiling fans kept the unit pleasantly comfortable during the day (although we were out for much of the time) and the large air conditioning unit cooled it down quickly at night. Excellent television choices as well as internet connectivity. As said previously, Betsy is a fantastic host.
There are two things worth mentioning, there was the overlying smell of mold/mildew (something we've encountered frequently in older tropical buildings). This is in no way a reflection of the standards of housekeeping, the apartment was spotless, and my allergies seemed completely unaffected. There was no hair dryer in the unit and since we were in a hurry to make a dinner reservation, I did not call to see if one was available. These are minor and would not prevent us from staying here again.

Room Tip: Adoquin for the amazing balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sippican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you want to explore Old San Juan, there is no better place to stay. Just a couple blocks from everything. Betsy was a great host and very helpful in giving directions. The place can accommodate 5 nicely, very clean and very attentive to making the guest feel welcome. Do not waste your money staying in a hotel, this is the place. Enjoy the historic location right from here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed with our 2 kids. Our apartment was great for a family of 4. Clean and comfortable, on a very pretty and historic street. So much nicer than staying in a hotel room. We loved wandering through Old San Juan. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ballaja has a separate bedroom, and 2 pullouts in the family room. Great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princes646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Caleta 64. The apartment was very clean and well stocked. Beds were very comfortable. Betsy met us when we arrived and gave restaurant recommendations, All within walking distance and were excellent. There are many sites to see also within walking distance. Betsy was able to answer text messages during our stay which was very helpful. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beach_person2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This place is amazing it's in the heart of Old San Juan.The apartment is clean and comfortable full kitchen with washer and dryer.The best location ever restaurants and shopping right at your doorstep.The gate to Old San Juan is right at the end of the street with access to a beautiful ocean walk and you can walk to everything in town from this location including the forts which is a must see. The host Betsy is amazing and the nicest person you will ever meet.We checked in late at 11pm and she met us at the apartment showed us everthing and went over the map of Old San Juan with us and gave directions and suggestions of where to go and what to see.Her and husband own a store right around the corner from the apartment so anytime we needed anything or had quedtions we just stop by the store to talk to her and she was always helpful and gracious. We will always stay at Caleta apartments when we come to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwestbrooks71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Betsy and her husband were so accommodating and easy to work with from the time we booked the apartment until check out. After we arrived, Betsy spent 15 minutes going over a local map, showing us the apartment and answering any questions we had. She even gave us her cell number so we were able to text her throughout our stay if we had additional questions. So helpful!

The apartment is gorgeous, very San Juan and is in a perfect location. It's half a block from El Convento, down the street from the cathedral, around the block from Betsy's store, one block from one of the best coffee vendors, one block from the red gate and two blocks from a full-service grocery store.

You can cook anything in the kitchen if you want to, but honestly there are dozens of authentic restaurants within walking distance why would you want to eat in? At night you can hear the gentle sounds of local musicians in the park and the singing in the cathedral. You can open the two front doors onto this beautiful street and hear all of the sounds. It was intoxicating to be in the middle of such beauty, warmth and history.

Let's talk about the parking. If you rent a car, get a compact one as it will be easier to park on the streets. Don't plan on getting a space in front of the apartment unless you happen to be extremely lucky (like we were on day one), but there is public parking for just $6 a day a short 4 - 5 blocks away. No worries, just double park in front of the apartment, unload your bags and then go park. Or take a taxi. This city is easy enough to walk around day or night.

For the money you will never find a better apartment in this prime location. Thank you!

Room Tip: La Puerta can accommodate four people - two upstairs in the loft bedroom and two in the living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Sol Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Fortaleza Suites
Fortaleza Suites
#10 of 30 in San Juan
102 reviews
3 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.9 mi away
Casa Santurce
Casa Santurce
#2 of 26 in San Juan
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta 64 Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta 64 Apartment

Address: 64 Caleta de San Juan | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901-1506, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: $139 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caleta 64 Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Old San Juan this luxury colonial structure dates back to the 1800s having been refurbished successively during the 1900s and most recently for the opening of Caleta 64 Apartments. It is comprised of 5 apartments on three floors.In Caleta 64 Apartments the seventeen high feet ceilings and twenty four inch thick brick walls depict the traditional style of Old San Juan. These features were designed to maintain these large structures aired by constantly circulating fresh air from its ample interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Caleta 64 Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta 64 Apartment Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing