We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caleta 64 Apartment
Ranked #12 of 28 San Juan B&B and Inns
Evansville, IN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at Caleta 64 for three nights before we left on a cruise out of San Juan. It was exactly what I was hoping world...old world charm with modern day comforts. The location was perfect, right in the middle of Old San Juan but on a residential street so it was much quieter than many of the hotel locations. Everything was within walking distance. We were able to walk to both forts, the pier, shops, restaurants, etc. The old city door is just a block or two down the street and a beautiful cathedral was about a short block up the street. No need to rent a car to get around the old city. If you need a taxi there is a taxi stand at El Convento which is just half a block away.

We stayed in the Casablanca unit. The heart of the Casablanca is the lovely brick courtyard which is open all the way up. It is so fun to be able to look up and see the clouds floating by. The charm of the home just grabbed at my heart. I felt like I had taken a step back in time but yet there is a full bath and a half bath that have been fully updated. The kitchen is also updated, complete with a full sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, wash, and dryer. It was nice to be able to wash all our clothes before we had to pack them back up for a week on the ship. Having a separate living room was a bonus and worked well when we had some friends from our cruise stop by. All this for the same price as many of the hotels in the area.

As I write this I realize that I have a big smile on my face just remembering how much I loved this place. I would recommend it to anyone that wants to experience the local culture and soak up a bit of the Old San Juan charm. Betsy was a joy to work with. She met us at the home and showed us all around, made suggestions on places to shop for food or snacks, and the best way to get from Caleta 64 to various locations. There are maps and an info sheet in the unit for reference. I hope we will be able to make it back some day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThankfulTraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    59
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
75
127
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Took a last minute trip to San Juan when SW had the low flights! It was great. We found Caleta 64 on Trip Advisor, reviewed the comments, and booked. Betsy was very accomodating and the apartment was wonderful - just as we expected. We stayed in the La Puerta on the first floor. The location could not be better if you want to stay in Old San Juan. We had a car, and parked it within easy walking distance, since the apt is at the entry gate. The apt has a washer and dryer and everything you need. The beds were comfortable for 4 adults. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbsajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Reviewing the Adoquin room, as we've stayed there twice. Our first visit was in July 2009 so it was comforting to return to familiar surroundings. The Adoquin is the most spacious unit, with a balcony that overlooks Caleta de San Juan. Pale blue walls, four large ceiling fans and stone floors add to the lazy charm one is looking for on vacation. We'd throw our old San Juan style doors wide open to enjoy the balcony during the day. I'd park myself outside, read a book that a previous traveler left behind and listen to sounds from the street. Super relaxing! Bonus was the efficient a/c!

The unit is equipped with dishes, a mini fridge, washer/dryer, stove and microwave. The only other appliance we could have used was a dishwasher, as we had family coming in our unit frequently. It seems like many large families rent out several units during vacation, as our family was not the only one at Caleta. Despite the popularity, Caleta 64 appears to be well-cared for.

Room Tip: Adoquin! Most spacious as it is one large room. Optimal for a small family with no privacy issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a great time during our first visit to Old San Juan. Betsy has a lovely building and the location is perfect. Right in Old San Juan in walking distance to all the attractions, shopping and eateries.

The La Puerta apartment was awesome. Great loft area for the bed and on-suite and kitchen and living area below. Betsy gave us fabulous eating recommendations too.

On a side note, if you love cats, then you're in luck in Old San Juan, as the feral cats are in full force. We were awaken at 3 am as the cats had a gang war outside the building. Puerto Rican cats are tough hombres.

Room Tip: For couples, the La Puerta room is great. It also has a pull out sofa downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugoweaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay immensely. The location is great because San Juan is hot. We were able to wander out for breakfast, drop back at Caleta 64, organize a morning expedition, drop back at Caleta 64 for siesta and then plan afternoon and evening activities. OSJ is filled with interesting shops, restaurants, galleries and great architecture. I would give it five Stars, but for the awkward shower entrance tucked beside the toilet with a very little clearance in and out. Betsy is terrific. she could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a beautiful place! Based on reviews, we chose Adoquin and were not disappointed. The online photos really do not do it justice. The apartment is lovely, as is the view. Love that balcony.

Betsy is a lovely, lovely woman. She is so helpful and thinks of everything (from parking recommendations to how to sleep at night soundly with the normal noises in Puerto Rico to which beaches to visit to....). Betsy, thank you so much for the coffee recommendations. Our family loved their gifts!

Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHenry36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

As others have said, the location of Caleta 64 is perfect for guests who want to spend time exploring Old San Juan by foot. It is also good value for money, especially if there are three or four in your group. Had we to do it over again, I would have paid more attention to room selection. The Casa Blanca, while a blessing for those of us whose knees are no longer up to climbing stairs with luggage in hand, may not be the most charming. Be prepared for water that is only lukewarm. By all means, rely on Betsy for advice on anything, both before and during your visit. She is a lovely person.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmgertig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
211 reviews
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta 64 Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta 64 Apartment

Property: Caleta 64 Apartment
Address: 64 Caleta de San Juan | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901-1506, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caleta 64 Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Old San Juan this luxury colonial structure dates back to the 1800s having been refurbished successively during the 1900s and most recently for the opening of Caleta 64 Apartments. It is comprised of 5 apartments on three floors.In Caleta 64 Apartments the seventeen high feet ceilings and twenty four inch thick brick walls depict the traditional style of Old San Juan. These features were designed to maintain these large structures aired by constantly circulating fresh air from its ample interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Caleta 64 Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta 64 Apartment Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing