We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful find”
Review of Villa Herencia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Herencia
Ranked #6 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cleveland, ohio
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful find”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Before our recent cruise we decided to spend one night in Old San Juan. The Villa Herencia was not only a perfect location, but a beautiful boutique hotel! We will definitely recommend this to our friends and would love to come back for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbsunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    72
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
219
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

It is true that this hotel lacks some of the "normal" amenities that a big chain hotel might offer (I had to ask every day for washcloths, as they were not included in the linen service, but the staff always found me one, or gave me an extra hand towel to use to wash my face). However, we loved the baroque feel of our room with its enormous hanging bathroom mirror , tiled floor, exposed beams & canopy bed. The rooms on the ground floor (where we stayed) face the interior courtyard, so you are spared any noise from Old San Juan, which is literally just out the front door (we rented a car for 1 day to drive to the rainforest and after that we were able to walk everywhere due to VH's great location). The breakfast could probably be described as "continental" - granola & cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, toast with jam, coffee, fresh juices. We specifically wanted a hotel in Old San Juan that included breakfast in order to avoid the hassle of finding a place to eat every morning, so we considered this more than sufficient to start the day before stuffing ourselves with mofongo for lunch, dinner and midnight snack, but if you want something more elaborate you're probably going to have to pay for it, as I could find no hotels in OSJ that included a full American-style cooked breakfast. The staff was young, sweet and helpful, especially in obtaining a taxi to go to the airport and they allowed us to leave our bags in a secure area between checkout and departing for the airport. The rooftop terrace was lovely and relaxing, a great place to read for an hour or so between sunset and dinnertime. We felt like it was our private terrace, as no one else was ever using it while we were up there during our 4-day stay. I think potential visitors should bear in mind that Old San Juan is OLD, i.e. the buildings are historic, hotel rooms are small, there are few hotels with pools (the only one I know of is El Convento); if you want to stay at a Hilton or something of that ilk then you're going to have to stay outside the old city. If you're looking to stay in the heart of the historic old town then you may have to adjust your expectations on room size and amenities. All in all we loved VH and would absolutely go back, but we are not snobby about things like having cats on the terrace or having to ask for a washcloth or carrying our own bags to the room; if you are then that's fine, just be honest with yourself about whether that stuff will bother you and if it will then steer clear, probably of most of the properties in OSJ besides El Convento, and stay at one of the resorts in Condado instead (FYI: Old San Juan is basically overrun with feral cats, so expect them everywhere anyway!). The ambience of VH is so wonderful that minor things really are just that: minor.

Pros: eclectic decor; romantic to the MAX; comfortable bed; quiet; intimate; helpful staff; fabulous location convenient for walking everywhere; decent hassle-free breakfast. If you plan to have a rental car you can valet it next door at El Convento for about $25 a day, or try to find street parking.
Cons included: occasional drips from condensation on AC; some rooms are small (although ours had a sitting area & wardrobe for storing clothing). Small TV. Wi-fi only available in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 49LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Pros: great location in Old San Juan, comfortable bed, continental breakfast, clean, good AC
Cons: Room was not practical, very small, the feet of the bed were dangerous to walk around, lighting-lack of bed side reading light, no luggage racks, no hangers, drawers did not open, umbrella outside our room dirty and malfunctioned.Breakfast was not ready when promised at 8, they were still getting ready at 8:45. The tubs and showers on the patio were dirty and offered only cold water. All in all it looks good but is missing function. If they tweak a few things it could be very good. Staff was also okay but rather indifferent, they could use some customer service training. The gentleman who checked us in was the best of the staff. If we went back to San Juan we would look for a another place to stay.

Room Tip: chose a downstairs rooms, the stairs to the second floor are steep and hard to navigate with baggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I found VH on the web and I'm so happy that we chose to stay here. It's in the perfect location of OSJ. If you need things new and shiny then this isn't the place for you. Go to a resort. If you want a rustic, funky feel then you've found it. I found VH to be beautiful. We stayed in room H8. Rooms H8 and H9 are upstairs and each have a little piece of personal rooftop patio. There are cats that will greet you here and all over San Juan. Complimentary continental breakfast is included. Bread, yogurt, fruits, juice, coffee, cereal, and delicious fresh mini croissants and some kind of fruit preserve pastry that is to die for. Maybe clementine? There is an "honor bar" in the lounge room. You have a key to the front door and come and go as you please. We would go exploring and when we came back our bed was made and towels changed out everyday.
Rooms aren't huge but are just right for me. I hope you aren't spending too much time in your room anyway if you're in Puerto! Puerto Rico has the coolest windows. There are panels to open to allow light but maintain privacy. But you can also open the entire window to let outside in (upstairs rooms). When we return, because we most certainly will, I will always choose VH. I loved it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had been to Old San Juan once before and knew we loved this section of the city. I found this charming hotel on Trip Advisor after considering El Convento next door. From the moment we entered the front door, we loved the unusual antiques, the pretty courtyard complete with trees and plants, the uniquely decorated rooms, and the fun roof top views and amenities. It was easy to pull our car up to the front door (on the tiny, narrow street) and then drive straight to the El Convento parking lot less than a block away. The helpful receptionist was so kind to help us deliver our luggage to the room and to give us a hotel tour. This hotel is definitely not a resort, but we appreciate San Juan for its historic significance rather than perfection. When you stay in 500 year old buildings, it is more interesting to study architecture and art.
The breakfast is basically continental but more than enough to get one's day started. The entire hotel was extremely clean and comfortable and quiet.
San Juan is worth more than one day, and our only complaint is that we didn't have enough time to enjoy the hotel and the city--especially since we were there the week that the federal government closed El Moro and El Castillo.
One other tip: No rental car is needed if you are staying for a couple of days here. The taxis are fairly priced and make for more efficient travel in OSJ.
We will return to Old San Juan again and will definitely stay at Villa Herencia!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I had found Villa Herencia after reading reviews on tripadvisor. I had read that some taxi drivers were not aware where it is located. Our female taxi driver drove us right to the door. I had booked months ahead and we were upgraded to large suite upstairs suite 9. The check in girl helped us to room. Climbing the stairs was not a problem with our suit cases.

Location, Location, Location we loved being in the hart of the city and walked all afternoon and to supper at Carli's a piano jazz bar. We got up early and walked around the walk infront ot fort and also around Fort grounds.

We did not use breakfast but enjoyed coffee and asked for ice for our room, We love to eat a local places for breakfast.Mallorca has wonderful fresh squeezed juice, Mallorca with cheese and ham and fresh made pastries. We only stayed one night pre cruise. We stored our luggage in lounge and girl at desk called for a taxi to take us to cruise port.

We felt like staying here gave us the island feel. It was spotless. If you are looking for resort feel this is not for you. The bed was very comfortable. If you had a 3 person the extra room would be perfect for you.

Negatives was the water never did get very warm upstairs. We still feel we would come back we liked it so much with cold water and all. The bathroom as picture shows had little room to put things to get ready.

Room Tip: I had booked room at lowest price and was upgraded to suite #9. If not upgraded room #7 looks like i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindygad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

First trip to Puerto Rico. We just had time for an overnight before heading to Vieques. Wish I had realized how lovely this small hotel is and how interesting Old San Juan! I almost missed the entrance as we walked down the side street past El Convento where our taxi dropped us off. But once I saw the dramatic artwork through the windows,I knew I had arrived. Our room on the first floor courtyard was beautiful and comfortable, cozy, yes, but so pretty and the bathroom had nice modern glass pedestal sink, shower and a lovely antique basin and pitcher stand for accent. Staff were helpful, friendly and breakfast was simple, cereals, toast, juice, good coffee. Nice upper deck with lounge chairs and claw foot tubs. Maybe a few cats too many in the area, but we shooed them away. Lovely area to walk and walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemeNoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,737 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Herencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Herencia

Property: Villa Herencia
Address: 23 Caleta de Las Monjas, San Juan 00901-1575, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Herencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel in the middle of Old San Juan! Located just steps away from shops, restaurants and historical monuments in the city. Our hotel is filled with charm and history. Our beautiful rooms showcase antique Spanish and French furniture as well as true Spanish architecture. At our hotel, you will receive personalized service during your stay. Our primary goal is for you to enjoy what our city hast to offer and provide you with the best accommodations and information that there is to offer in Old San Juan! We hope you choose us as your place to stay in Old San Juan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Herencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Herencia Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing