We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It, Not Your Typical Hotel”
Review of Villa Herencia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Herencia
Ranked #5 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved It, Not Your Typical Hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a gorgeous hotel. The rooms are small but the character of the building is why you stay here. Lots of good pictures of the place to show what I'm talking about(renovations are finished now).
The best part is the rooftop deck/garden at night. Great place to relax after walking back from dinner and drinks at nearby restaurants.
We went during the off season so the room wasn't very expensive.
Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    71
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
214
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed there prior to our cruise. The inn is located in Old San Juan and is perfect! The staff and Manager are extremely helpful and the furnishings are exquisite. The only downside was that there was very little, if any hot water. Otherwise, it was a great place to stay!! We will stay there again if we get the opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Cruised on the Carnival Victory 9/16-9/23 and decided to stay in Old San Juan for an extra night so we booked this hotel

After disembarking, we took a cab here - it was at most a 10 minute ride, but not knowing the area, the heat/humidity in the triple digits and not wanting to drag three rollaboards up hill on cobblestones, it was worth the $15's ($12 for the both of us plus $1 per bag)

The hotel is a few doors down from El Convento and near the San Juan Cathedral. Not much to look at from the outside, the inside is a different story. A renovated home, the hotel was decorated with antiques and local art.

We had booked room H7, right by the front parlor that doubled as the office. King sized canopy bed, flat screen tv, HUGE shower - it was a very nice and romantic room. The only issue is the lack of natural light - there are no windows but that is due to how the house was built. The door and the bathroom had slatted windows that opened to the courtyard but was closed for obvious reasons. The lack of windows was not an issue for us.

There was a charming fountain in the courtyard leading up to the roof top terrace - two other rooms are up here as well as chairs, lounger, a canopy bed and bathtubs. It was an amazing place to hang out in the evening!

A continental breakfast is included - coffee, juice, cookies, pastries and cereal. Enought to get you started as there are so many amazing places to eat at! We had dinner at Barrachina's - the birthplace of the pina colada.

As I had stated earlier, the hotel is spitting distance to the San Juan Cathedral and in the heart of the shopping district in Calle San Franciso/Calle Fortaleza. At the end of the street is the San Juan Gate and it is a short walk to El Morro.

Check in/out was a breeze and the staff are extremely helpful and courteous

We will defintely be back and this will be our place of choice to stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herfnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Leap of faith made me book this hotel, which is far from the beaches, and far from many of the many other places in Old Sanjuan. It is located in a cobble stoned winding street that leads to a vista of the sea few steps from the hotel.

The room, or the suite I had was H9 on the second floor, A small living room, a small guest room and a four post bed, bedroom. The living room has a glass ceiling and a long sofa that defines the room.

The second floor, there were also canopied sun beds to relax along with two bath tub which were rather non functional. The bathtubs reminded me of the Cialis commercial :)

However, there was just a small shower in the otherwise lovely suite. Breakfast room is downstairs immediately to the left of the entrance. Breakfast served was rather limited (Coffee,juice, bread, croissant, fruits and yoghurt.) compared to what one sees in the hotels around the caribbean islands.

There was good wifi signal even upstairs which was nice, and so were the cats that prowled the second floor. Over all, definitely worthwhile if you could snare the room upstairs. (see photos)

Room Tip: Get room H9
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightndawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Me and my girl friend stayed here for two days for Labor day. We love the decor and the feel of the place. I am an antique and "all old" fanatic so obviously since I was the one who chose our place to stay in Old San Juan i fell in love with this place on line. They were very accommodating because we had a late flight and they let us check in around 1 am. We had the King Suite and it has a canopy king bed, the ceiling was very high with a gorgeous antique chandelier, the bathroom was large with french toiletries. They a very interesting receiving room and dining room full of arts from local artists. The place offers privacy for those on romantic trips. The place is also conveniently located near really good restaurants and walking distance to El Morro. They also have a rooftop that you can relax and enjoy the stars at night. We had some difficulty sleeping because of the coqui's sounds at night but after the 2nd night we got used to it. They have very limited choices for breakfast so don't expect a lot for breakfast. I super love this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms upstairs. They provide more privacy and a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wand3rlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My recent stay at Villa Herencia was wonderful. The hotel is charming, decorated with art and antiques, and close to everthing in OSJ, while being on a quiet residential street. Even the linens were fragrant ( Lavendar ?) or maybe it was the fresh flowers .The roof top deck was amazing with fruit trees in bloom. All the staff were top notch, and treated me like family instead of like a reservation. I was amazed when I entered the front door at what a lovely hotel this was , and the price was so reasonable. I highly recommend any traveler staying here, especially for a romantic retreat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelgal515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

at 1st it was hard to locate the place but once we found it, it was great. We went around mother days weekend and check in was fast the room was ready, loved our lil deck for our room. when we walked in she gave us the key a map of the area of Old san juan. 1st day i open the window saw an army of ants but the lady at the front desk was helpful and took care of the problem right away. the staff is very helpful we pretty much had the top floor all to our self. when i was ready to go to the beach she recommended some beaches out side of the tourist place and called the cab for us...My Boyfriend & I had a great time & great stay at old san juan where the hotel was located at was perfect walking distance to everything. I say the hotel is perfect for couples or a group of friends that want to go out.

Room Tip: if you want a big room & no one to really bother you i say take the second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,690 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#7 of 48 in San Juan
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 48 in San Juan
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Herencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Herencia

Property: Villa Herencia
Address: 23 Caleta de Las Monjas, San Juan 00901-1575, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Herencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel in the middle of Old San Juan! Located just steps away from shops, restaurants and historical monuments in the city. Our hotel is filled with charm and history. Our beautiful rooms showcase antique Spanish and French furniture as well as true Spanish architecture. At our hotel, you will receive personalized service during your stay. Our primary goal is for you to enjoy what our city hast to offer and provide you with the best accommodations and information that there is to offer in Old San Juan! We hope you choose us as your place to stay in Old San Juan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Herencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Herencia Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing