We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super-charming inn in a convenient location”
Review of Villa Herencia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Herencia
Ranked #5 of 28 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super-charming inn in a convenient location”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Facilities and access:
- Granted Old San Juan is small, but this hotel is very conveniently located. We were able to easily walk to all the sites. VERY CONVENIENT!
- BEAUTIFUL place. I LOVE antiques, and this place had the coolest antique furniture that were very TASTEFULLY placed throughout the hotel. It was so charming! And they use some sort of fragrance/air freshener throughout the facilities that made it smell so delightful =)
- Room was very very small :-/ But I don't hold that against them, it's the way old towns are built. People were smaller/less fat back in the days ;-)
- Rooftop terrace: so cute! There were these old-school claw foot bathtubs, I checked the faucet for one and it was fully functioning. You can probably soak in the tub in your bathing suit. They also had lounge seating everywhere. Again, very tasteful and cute.

Service:
- The lady who checked us in was very very nice, caring, and helpful. We had just come from the W on Vieques where we got mostly cool/snobbish service. This was the opposite. She chatted with us while she checked us in, then she wiped out a map and gave us a suggested route so that we can maximize our very short time in Old San Juan. She gave lots of very helpful suggestions and recommendations that in the end did truly help us maximize our stay.
- We had a super-early flight, before the time they normally set up breakfast. Well, they made an exception for us. By the time we went into the dining room, everything was set up. Thanks!

Food:
- We were in a rush, so all we had were croissants. Tasty enough, I liked the strawberry jam.
- We poured a glass of wine from their honor-system bar. It was a glass of pinot noir, and it was terrible! We paid for it anyways, but blech! We think the wine had gone bad. May we suggest a vacuum-sealed wine stopper to help preserve open bottles?

Cleanliness
- Clean room, clean facilities!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    71
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
217
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I caught a late flight into San Juan and wanted to stay in Old San Juan for one evening before we drove out to the western coast for our vacation. Surprisingly, the cost to fly in on Friday evening + an evening in this hotel was cheaper than us just flying in on Saturday. I'd suggest trying that out if you are planning a trip. Great win for us because we got an added night in PR and a great experience at Villa Herencia.

The villa is great boutique hotel that you would come to expect in larger US cities. The decor is funky and well collected, giving the entire villa a unique identity. The character and charm of the spaces and rooms is well worth the visit. The upstairs roof terrace is a great place to read or enjoy the city scape. Breakfast was OK—consisted of coffee and a few pastries. Very romantic feel.

Rooms are clean and with quality bedding and comfort. They were not very quiet as there are a few open windows towards the ceiling for ventilation. We had the room closest to the front of the property so we heard a lot of the foot traffic for the hotel. Not a huge issue but something to be aware of. Also, the hot water in the shower was limited if non-existent. I hear this is typical for PR though.

Lots of shops and eateries within walking distance. Definitely has a nice inner city feel.

Our only issue was the parking. It is definitely a challenge that will test your patience. In all fairness, it probably didn't help that we were checking in around 8pm on a Friday night in Old San Juan, but nonetheless, it took us over 1/2 hr of circling around one-way streets before any type of space finally opened up. The streets are crazy tight, full of people, and poorly signed, so take that into consideration when planning your time. You can park at the other hotel, but it is not close at all when considering you are carrying luggage, etc. around.

Even with the parking being a challenge, the place is beautiful and fun. Not sure how it would be to stay there multiple days, but for our one night stay it was perfect.

Room Tip: Check in prior to the late night San Juan crowd is recommended for parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djtoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneola fl
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for my honeymoon. This hotel has a lot of character. My wife and I stayed in the master suite in the 2nd floor. Room was beautiful. Bed was soft and sheets had high count fabric. The bathroom clean, with marble and large toilet seat. It also had a pretty large flat screen TV. It is in a good location, however there is no where to park. They give you a discount if you park in the other hotel parking lot down the street. Next time I am in Puerto Rico I will stay here again.

Room Tip: I saw the queen size rooms on the 2nd floor. The rooms and suites on the 2nd floor are even better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edward V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This place was excellent. My girlfriend and I stayed here based on recommendations on tripadvisor and expedia and we were not disappointed. This place is full of character and charm and best of all, the location is superb. It's in the heart of Old San Juan and we were able to walk nearly everywhere we wanted to go. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we had questions about the area. It's very small (only 8 rooms I think), so if you want to stay here BOOK EARLY! The ONLY complaint I have is that the shower rarely remained at a constant temperature. If I ever return to Old San Juan I plan on booking here again. Thank you Villa Herencia!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gandeeman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trion, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Like another reviewer, my husband & I stayed here the night before a cruise, so we could experience old San Juan. This place was perfect for that. Conveniently located, it's within walking distance of just about anything, but very close to El Morro, the beautiful old San Juan cemetery, and the Paseo de la Princessa. Our lovely downstairs room opened into a courtyard. We slept well, noticed little noise except a cat fight during the night (close to the cat colony). The staff was very friendly and helpful, and called us a cab the next day to get to the cruise terminal (which was walkable, except that it was SO HOT). For you spoiled Americans (I am one of you), the only drawbacks were a pretty cold shower and a sparse breakfast (cereal, bagel, juice, coffee). But everything else makes up for these minor inconveniences. If we ever revisit old San Juan, we will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Our downstairs room was comfortable, clean, and attractive, but the upstairs rooms looked fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Absolutely love this charming hotel in Old San Juan. We stayed here with our 4 year old son and had one of the rooms on the second floor - room H9. It was perfect for us, and would be perfect for a family of 4 as well. The sitting area is perfect, with a sectional couch and a glass roof - lots of light. There is a small bedroom with a twin bed, and then on the other side of the sitting area is the bathroom and another bedroom with a beautiful and comfortable queen bed. A child could sleep on the sectional couch with no problem. My inlaws had a room on the first floor, and it was beautiful as well. The breakfast was great, and everyone at the breakfast table seemed to love the hotel just as much. The hotel is on the same square as the El Convento. The children's museum is on this square as well. Unfortunately we weren't in OSJ long enough to go to it, but it would be a fun diversion for for a couple hours for kids. The best shopping in the area is a very short walk away as well, as are awesome restaurants. Can't wait to return to OSJ and this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Recently stayed here before a cruise and was glad we found this hotel. Beautiful rooms and the staff was great. Had the suite upstairs and really enjoyed sitting out there at night and listening to the singer from the park up the street. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Old San Juan. Upstairs rooms will require you to bring your own luggage up. The deck upstairs is not restricted to second floor quests so if you stay and end up with a first floor room make sure your go upstairs and look around.

Room Tip: H9 upstairs if you can get it. You will have to carry your own luggage up the stairs but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewYorkJameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#14 of 47 in San Juan
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Herencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Herencia

Property: Villa Herencia
Address: 23 Caleta de Las Monjas, San Juan 00901-1575, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Herencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel in the middle of Old San Juan! Located just steps away from shops, restaurants and historical monuments in the city. Our hotel is filled with charm and history. Our beautiful rooms showcase antique Spanish and French furniture as well as true Spanish architecture. At our hotel, you will receive personalized service during your stay. Our primary goal is for you to enjoy what our city hast to offer and provide you with the best accommodations and information that there is to offer in Old San Juan! We hope you choose us as your place to stay in Old San Juan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Herencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Herencia Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing