We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great location, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Herencia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Herencia
Ranked #5 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, great location, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for 24 hours prior to a cruise vacation. The hotel is located half a block from the Governor's mansion, and practically next door to the elegant (and expensive!) El Convento Hotel. It's only a few steps to a lovely little sculpture-filled park and the Cathedral - or a few steps in the other direction takes you to another small park with an impressive scupture and a gorgeous view of the harbor. It was an easy walk to anything in Old San Juan; the hotel is located about midway between the central plaza and El Morro fort in a very pleasant and quiet mainly residential neighborhood.
The staff could not possibly have been nicer or more accomodating, and our beautifully-decorated room was lovely, large, and furnished with lots of seating. The bathroom was huge and featured a two-person shower with double waterfall showerheads. One of the things I especially liked about the hotel was its intimate small size, and the feel of being in an authentic and elegant Spanish-style home rather than just another hotel.
My only complaint was with the complimentary breakfast, from which most of the food seemed to be gone by the time we arrived in the dining room about 9AM. Several people came in after us so we weren't particularly stragglers. Perhaps there had been guests ahead of us who ate more than expected.
If I return to San Juan I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyWithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    69
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
207
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

This is not your 5-star hotel where they carry your bags and things are over the top. This IS the place for a charming courtyard, fountain, terrace and EXCELLENT staff. The staff offered us several different maps to get around Old San Juan and even offered their card so that we could call if we got lost or had questions.
The rooms were a bit small, but very romantic and fun. We had not even checked out and were already highly recommending this place to family, friends, and our travel agent. It's a 1-minute walk to the Catedral de San Juan and maybe 5 minutes to the San Juan gate. Everything in Old San Juan is easily walkable from this gem. The taxi drivers may not know how to get immediately there from the airport, but it is well worth the stay. I LOVED Villa Herencia while on my honeymoon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahtx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

After much looking, we decided to try Villa Herencia for our one night in Old San Juan. Before leaving for our 10 day trip to Puerto Rico, we had searched for a "reasonably ' priced room in Old San Juan. We only needed a room for one night, Friday, before flying home. We were so pleasantly surprised at this charming hotel in a perfect location - just a short block from El Convento Hotel. The lobby and dining room, where we ate breakfast, were both beautifully decorated with ornate chandeliers,oil paintings, and gorgeous antique furniture. Our room was fairly small but also quite pretty. There is a rooftop terrace, but it is only partly complete at this time. Even more special than the villa itself, were the two wonderful young men that helped us. Franklin and Javier were both so courteous and helpful, giving us excellent advice about restaurant choices and night spots.Their friendly, welcoming manner made the last day of our trip very special.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

This hotel very much exceeded our expectations. I'm afraid it lives in the shadow of El Convento, which is literally just up the street. Everything looked nice online, and the price was fantastic, and we were very, very pleased with the hotel in person. You never know what to expect when booking online, but I guarantee nobody would be unhappy staying at this boutique hotel. The room was great- everything was spotless, the bed was very comfortable and the fact that the windows and doors opened up to the outside was fantastic for the cool San Juan nights. We will definitely return on our next trip to San Juan.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksucat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

Stayed here for one night in February 2011. I was a little put off by some of the negative reviews, but found a good deal on Hotels.com and decided to try it. I was pleasantly surprised by the place.

Upon arrival, we rang the doorbell and were welcomed into an old family home that had been transformed with some stylish, modern decor. (Think old plaster walls and zebra-print upholstery in the dining room.) The staff was friendly and helpful, and they showed into a lovely, traditional courtyard with a tile floor and a fountain; I believe all the rooms are entered through this courtyard. Our room had a tree growing up through the floor next to it.

The room itself was very small, but well-decorated, with an antique (or almost) armoire and nightstands and a (thankfully) modern bed with a good mattress. The bathroom had all new fixtures with a huge old, ornate mirror hanging over the sink. There was a dressing table in the bathroom; a very civilized addition except that there really wasn't room for it and we had to put the chair somewhere else. And some of the tiles in the shower were loose. I think the A/C was centrally controlled, but it was certainly cool enough. The doors don't provide the utmost in soundproofing or privacy; if a fellow guest or staff member were so inclined, they could flip open the wooden louvres and look into the room. The floors were old geometric tile and the ceilings were high.

Breakfast was coffee, juice, and some pastries served in nice dishes/glasses/flatware; totally adequate considering that we were planning on a big lunch of PR food. The dining room setting was lovely, and we had the opportunity to chat with a fellow traveler.

The location is excellent. It's a block and a half from the Cathedral in one direction, and the old city wall in the other. It's on a quiet street, but close to Calles Sol and San Sebastian, and anything in Old San Juan is walkable from there. There are a couple of places where this place misses the mark, but that's probably going to keep the price reasonable. In general, though, it was charming, pleasant, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

Villa Herencia is an Oasis of peace after a busy day visiting the sites in San Juan. The hotel is charming with most rooms of off a cool, central courtyard. The staff - every one of them - went out of their way to help us and to make sure that our stay was perfect and it was! We stayed for seven nights. The villa is also in the most attractive and perfectly located area in Old San Juan. Do yourself a big favor - stay here!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsea551594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

It will probably sound like I work for the hotel but i am staying here right now and i think its one of the coolest places i've ever stayed. the location is perfect...just a block or two away from the action and a block from the water. The room is huge with tiled floors and very high ceilings. the bathroom is also great and the bed is this huge king canopy--we actually got upgraded because of availability. there are two common rooms with really interesting furnishings...zebra-striped chairs around a formal table. the staff is really friendly--they let us check in early and the staff person on site gave us maps and showed us lots of places to see. the only drawback i can see is if you like full service--the staff leaves around 10 pm but you can get in and out and you can call them if you need to. there's also no restaurant on site if that matters but many places nearby. i would recommend this place really highly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawng914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#5 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Herencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Herencia

Property: Villa Herencia
Address: 23 Caleta de Las Monjas, San Juan 00901-1575, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Herencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel in the middle of Old San Juan! Located just steps away from shops, restaurants and historical monuments in the city. Our hotel is filled with charm and history. Our beautiful rooms showcase antique Spanish and French furniture as well as true Spanish architecture. At our hotel, you will receive personalized service during your stay. Our primary goal is for you to enjoy what our city hast to offer and provide you with the best accommodations and information that there is to offer in Old San Juan! We hope you choose us as your place to stay in Old San Juan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Herencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Herencia Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing