We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sushi, meticulous sushi shef”

Yamato Sushi and Teppan-Yaki Restaurant
Ranked #403 of 1,036 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Yamato Sushi and Teppanyaki Restaurant, an authentic Japanese eatery located inside the beautiful and historic El San Juan Hotel. A visit to Yamato isn't just dinner -- it's a dining experience. Our professional chefs have been trained in the art of teppanyaki cuisine, so you'll be getting both an authentic meal and superb presentation when you visit Yamato. In addition to our stunning teppanyaki, Yamato offers high quality, handmade sushi that is prepared using the freshest ingredients around. Our sushi bar allows our guests to watch as their sushi rolls are prepared, rolled, and presented to perfection. No matter what you order at Yamato, we can guarantee that your meal will be as delicious as the presentation would suggest! Our restaurant has eight teppanyaki tables designed for a more intimate meal amongst loved ones, and two extra-large tables if you're in a bigger group (or if you don't mind meeting new people). We also have private rooms equipped with teppanyaki tables if you're looking to host a company lunch, rehearsal dinner, or any other intimate affair. If you're looking for an authentic and flavorful meal that will entertain both your eyes and your tastebuds, head to Yamato Sushi and Teppanyaki Restaurant inside El San Juan Hotel. We're looking forward to providing you with a truly unique dining experience!
Cold Spring, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good sushi, meticulous sushi shef”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The sushi was very good and the ambience was relaxing, away from the hibachi fun. Watching the chef make the sushi boat we ordered was entertaining as he meticulously arranged the sushi in to place. It's nice to be able to ejoy sushi right from the El San Juan resort & casino.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renedv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    42
    28
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too expensive and Poor service”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just because gratuity is automatically included on the bill doesn't mean it gives the server a right for poor service. Too unattentive and it doesn't help that the food was expensive. When leaving, the hibatchi guests looked very unhappy. Overall, skip the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth8778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awful. Food was in edible. Skip this.”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I get it. Why eat Japanese food on a Caribbean island? We love hibatchi. How can you screw up filet on the grill? Well they managed to. I am pretty sure the cut of meat I was served was not even filet. Most of it ended up half chewed in my napkin.

Just atrocious

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MuffyLoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Skip this restaurant”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The restaurant was very crowded and they stuck us between 2 very large and noisy parties, We placed our order, with sushi as a appetizer. They served the soup and salad, then informed us they only had one sushi chef and he was behind, do we want our dinner first then they will bring the sushi, we told them to bring the sushi first, she said 10 minutes. It was almost an hour later that we told the waitress to forget the sushi and just bring the rest of our meal, 15 minutes later it all came at once, sushi and two dinners, the steak was overdone and chewy and we returned it, sharing one dinner and just wanting to get out. The managers excuse was it was busy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aplblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly mediocre/subpar for the price”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I ordered at the sushi bar. The chef was clearly very experienced and professional and took great care in the preparation. However, that was the highlight. The fish was so-so: reasonably fresh but probably kept in the cold for a few days and starting to taste a little bland and starting to get mushy. I ordered Miso soup and I believe what I got was instant ($5). After the meal I ordered green tea and I got very hot water and a teabag, and ended up with dimly flavored brown hot water. Real green tea leaves seeped in tepid hot water would be simple and cheap to provide, so why go for the fake stuff? For 9 pieces of sushi, some hot sake, miso soup and a salad I paid $70.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_in_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Sushi and Teppan-Yaki Restaurant also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Carolina, Puerto Rico
 
Carolina, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Yamato Sushi and Teppan-Yaki Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing