We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice seafood”
Review of La Atlantica

La Atlantica
Ranked #335 of 1,095 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Diner, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Esta página es solamente de Atlántica del VIEJO SAN JUAN, detrás de “El Hamburguer” en Puerta de Tierra.Atlántica del VIEJO SAN JUAN es una auténtica tasca española con 23 años de experiencia como mejor Marisquería de Puerto Rico. Se estableció en el año 1989. Es el restaurante favorito para el deleite de pescados y mariscos frescos preparados al estilo español y para satisfacer el paladar más exigente que busca degustar los frutos del mar. Cuenta con servicio de valet parking, espacio para 118 personas y salón privado con televisor para 25 personas. Se preparan exquisitas Paellas para disfrutar en el restaurante o para llevar, Lubina a la Sal, Pulpo a la Gallega, Salmón relleno de Gambas, Crema Catalana y mucho más. Además, se preparan carnes y pastas. La carne es de alta calidad, Carne Angus Certificada (Certified Angus Beef). Preparan “catering” y menús especiales para actividades o convenciones.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The best paella, ever, after my Mom's. You can get nicely prepared, spanish style seafood, to eat in or to go. Service can be erratic when they are busy. Located in a way that you can get there either entering or leaving Old San Juan.

Thank HTPWT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander L, Guest Relations Manager at La Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear customer, thanks for your visit and opinion. It was a pleasure give you the best fresh fish and seafood prepared as Spanish Style. We appreciate your feedback because it helps us to improve every day. Once again, we appreciate your visit and see you soon.

-Marisquería Atlántica of Puerta de Tierra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 112 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very good and fresh sea food with very nice atmosphere. Very good parking. the service is quite good and the prices are fair good wine list but little expensive.

Thank Maritza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander L, Guest Relations Manager at La Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

From Marisquería Atlántica of Puerta de Tierra, San Juan, we are glad that you enjoyed a lot the dinner. We apreciate a lot your sincere comments, it helps us to improve every day.

-It was a pleasure to serve you and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This restaurant exudes old-world charm. The bar is a bit loud but the rest of the restaurant is very calming. The wait staff are mostly older gentlemen who give exquisite service. The seafood was delicious. Not an inexpensive meal - more like a special night out restaurant. The adjacent fish market is a gem.

Thank LesaGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander L, Public Relations Manager at La Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hi LesaGK,

It was a pleasure give you the best fresh fish and seafood Spanish Style and the best service because you deserve it. Thanks for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Though I usually go to their location in Puntas La Marias (near Isla Verde), this spot is always reliable. It's tucked behind "El Hamburger" on the beachside road leading toward Old San Juan (if you're coming from, say, the Caribe Hilton). Great attentive service. Reminds me of the nicer places my folks would take me to on vacations as a kid. Great Seafood and a great Churrasco (skirt) Steak!

I had an unusual appetizer of Tostones (Flattened Plantains) with Homemade Tomato Sauce, Manchego
Cheese and Shrimps, (I asked that they omit the shrimp and they were happy to do so). No problem. I was pleasantly surprised at how good this appetizer was, sort of like a "Vegetarian Veal Parmesean", deelish! Also enjoyed their homemade Potato
Soup and a good Caesar Salad...I was in the mood for veggies. I would DEFINITELY come here again, perhaps for a late-afternoon lunch at the bar after a day at Escambron Beach or when I want to pass up Old San Juan's offerings and go where the locals go to eat well and be well-treated. The owner is very welcoming and definitely cares about every guest. With its refined service, it feels a bit like a Spain.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GringaGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander L, Manager at La Atlantica, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Hi GringaGrrrl,

It was a pleasure give you the best fresh fish and seafood Spanish Style and the best service because you deserve it. Thanks for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We really enjoyed the ceviche. The chef has a heavy hand with garlic, good for us, but some might want to be warned. The Grouper was good. Seemed like others in the restaurant were locals, not tourist, I find this is usually an indication of good restaurant

Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Atlantica also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing