We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mexican hideout in OSJ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lupi's

Lupi's
Ranked #172 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mexican hideout in OSJ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

It's a place to get a quick bite if you have the desire for Mexican food while in OSJ. It's not my favorite because it seems to be more fast food Mexican rather than the rustic authentic cuisine, but not bad.

Helpful?
Thank bsayerspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    79
    55
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Ahhh Lupi's.
This is a restaurant not to miss. We originally went a year ago, and returned on our trip in May. The deep fried pork steak with tostones is to die for, the mojitos are also awesome. Great staff and very reasonably priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank vacationfreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and sports bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The fried ice cream was GREAT and the flat screens everywhere made watching the playoffs really an exciting experience! Great drinks and prices also!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Parrish451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in Puerto Rico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I know locals criticize going for Mexican food in Puerto Rico, but my husband isn't too adventurous with food, so Lupi's was a great choice for us. They have a great location in Old San Juan and decore was a unique mix of Mexican restaurant and sports bar. We loved the chips and salsa (they charge for them), but well worth the money. We enjoyed the sweet yet spicy bite to all the salsas we tried in PR though. Lunch specials were very reasonable and portions were on the large size. We visited on a Friday and it wasn't busy, so our waitress was very attentive. Side note* we weren't offered refills anywhere in PR, so be aware its just not done here. Will definitely go back on our next trip, because this was my husband's favorite meal in OSJ.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hotelguest2650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
“Went there on our vacation...was the biggest disappointment ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Last month went to P.R, and while trying to figure out what to eat we passed buy LUPIS. SO WE FIGURED WHY NOT.....We Sat at a table for something like 15 minutes, no menu, no waitress, just some guy screaming on the microphone to what I thought was the beatles...And still no service, I asked for the manager and the employee said he was outside smoking. After 20 minutes we found the menus by ourselves, asides from absurd prices. The service and entertainment was the worst ever. only 2 people sang the entire night there was this one guy who started to try to give me singing lessons(when he himself sounded like a drowning rat) the host wasn't that bad but it sounded like he ate the food there and needed to go to the bathroom, or he was a strangled racoon. The bathrooms were a disaster, the floors were sticky and from time to time you could see a roach running up and down the walls.Moral of this story AVOID THIS PLACE!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCADWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lupi's also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Lupi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing