We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must when in Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofia Italian Kitchen & Bar - CLOSED

Sofia Italian Kitchen & Bar
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Dear Guest: We are under RENOVATION to improve business facilities from May 27- July 31, 2015 Authentic italian cuisine with mediterranean flavors.Pasta, thin-crust pizza, risotto, seafood, meats and a variety of italian wines with affordable prices. Open for lunch and dinner from 12:00noon - 10:00:pm Families with children are welcome Available for groups, buy-out or just for a romantic dinner for 2
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must when in Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I are huge fan of Italian food. So I never would have thought of finding a great Italian restaurant in San Juan, Puerto Rico. From the minute you walk in the door, Sofia's breaks that misconception. Beautiful atmosphere, excellent wine and drinks (We recommend their white sangria, it's delicious), great service and staff, very reasonable prize wise, and delicious, delicious food. That's why Sofia is a must for us when we visit Puerto Rico.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louatu1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    58
    28
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Affordable Piece of Italy in Old San Juan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was reluctant at first but this very rustic and antique restaurant was surprissingly enjoyable with a small but great selection of homemade pasta and fresh meat. Wine List has a decent sample for all tastes. The price was great and the food was simply delicious. There are other fancier and pricey italian restaurants in Old San Juan but this one gives them a run for their money. Food takes a little but everything was fresh. The decoration based on actress Sofía Loren was beautiful. You feel like eating in a regular restaurant at Italy in the middle of Old SJ.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weyoun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian Food!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've been to this restaurant at least 4 times in 2013 and it has been a very consistent experience. The service is good, but I wouldn't call it "Very good." A "very good" rating can be easily given to the food, which has always been to my liking. When these are combined with the atmosphere and the fact that it is never very crowded, makes it very easy for me to recommend this restaurant to couples.

I would recommend their Filetto di Pesce alla Siciliana, easily the best dish I've ordered in this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orodmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed in service, food just okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The appetizers (cheese and meat tray and risotto balls) we tasty but the Caesar salad had no taste and the Caprese salad was bland. Dinner was pretty good but the server shoved our entries out with our salad "because it was all ready." Drink service was slow even though there were only 2 other tables occupied. Owner walked by our 3some several times without asking about our meal and while our glasses set empty. We asked if the overhead fans could be turned down from monsoon setting but no action was taken so I hid my arms under the table. Couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Threekittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I enjoyed the vibe in the place. Very laid back. I just had a mango mojito which was yum and the calamari which was not so yum. Others in my group had meals and said everything was good. It did take a while for them to bring the check.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McGee4Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofia Italian Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing