We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet beautiful paradise”
Review of Seven Seas Beach

Ranked #149 of 586 things to do in Puerto Rico
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of La Cabezas Nature Reserve, this is a prime beach for relaxing.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quiet beautiful paradise”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

If you are in the area, you must go to this beach. Be careful about passing it as we did many times. The sign above the entrance to the parking lot has waves on the left and then the word "seas" on the right. If you see that, you are there. Parking costs a few dollars for the day but closes at 5pm so make sure you get there early and stay the whole day. I would also advise getting a sandwich or packing a lunch before you go as there are no places to grab anything nearby. The Seven Seas beach itself is very nice (bathrooms are just okay) but if you walk to the left along the beach towards the rocks there is a short path leading to the Governor's Beach which is even more amazing. It takes about a halr hour walk in total to get there. When you exit the path stay to your left and you will have the beach all to yourself. There is a coral reef where you can bring your snorkelling gear as we did. You will be speechless, trust me. It's a little hike but words can't explain how worth it it is. There is literally no onle else around. You and paradise.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank abardoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    84
    34
    23
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fajardo
2 reviews
“Revitalized Beach”
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I own a vacation condo in Fajardo for years now and have seen first hand how much this beach has transformed. Recently they renovated this Balneario and as a result, it was awarded the Blue Flag rating. This rating means that the government guarantees the beach provide clean safe water to swim in, shower/bathroom facilities, police presence, life guards and wheel chair access for handicap bathers. In addition, they also provide small huts that can be rented daily or nightly as well as camp sites. Last time I was there they even added a beach chair & umbrella concession. The Seven Seas restaurant was taken over by new management and now serves very good food and a mean pina colada all at affordable prices. In short, the beach has come a long way from days past!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank CondoRental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Black Eddy, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't go.”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

My husband and I drove to Seven Seas Beach from San Juan because we had read that it was beautiful, a short drive, and good for snorkeling. None of those things are true. It took us an hour and a half to get there because traffic was terrible. The beach was dirty and the only fish around were in the rocks right as you walk into the water. There were only a few locals around, it is not a tourist spot (which we normally like). However, after we came back to the beach after swimming about 30 minutes, both sets of our beach shoes were gone! Who steals Crocs??? Thankfully, they were the only things that we left on the beach.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great beach for kids!”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We loved this beach and went back three or four times. It was very quiet with few people. Calm water even on the windest day of our trip. Perfect for my two year niece to play without worrying that she would get hurt. Might want to bring your own food though, only one stand nearby and the food isn't that good. Definitely get the sorbet that the locals sell on the beach, it's awesome. Also bring bug spray, the sand flys arn't quite as bad here as other local beaches but we did get bit a few times.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbrat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seven Seas”
Reviewed December 19, 2010

I just read Cattalks review and I could not disagree more! Yes, it is a public beach which in PR generally means there are no ammenities. If you are looking for some facilities, you'd better stick to "Balnearios." FYI, Balnearios are public beaches run by the government. Maybe the meaning was lost in the translation, but in Spanish "public" means "no thrills, no frills." Bring your own everything (and take it back with you when you are done). Keep in mind that although for most tourists escaping the December cold, December is not really considered a beach month in PR. Precisely because sea weeds abound this time of the year. If you are the type of person that wants everything catered to, don't bother exploring; stay in the hotel. The reviewer missed the protected area adjacent to Seven Seas, which also has a bio bay (you can sign up for a tour just past the beach almost to the end of the road); not to mention Playa Colora (just west of Seven Seas along the shore line) where you may be able to nude bathe (although it is generally illegal in PR) or the light house. Bottom line, it is a beautiful beach and has lots of sand and natural beauty. Maybe the rater was there during high tide which would explain the idea of no sand. I was there just the week before and everytime I go to PR I go there. LOVE IT!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Zier0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Seas Beach also viewed

Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Seven Seas Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing