We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful ocean cliff views around the lighthouse.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabo Rojo

Cabo Rojo
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.00*
and up
1-Hour Jet Ski Tour at Boqueron Beach
Ranked #143 of 576 things to do in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Relax amid natural surroundings that consist of a broad protected bay with plenty of incredible beaches ideal for swimming, boating, picnicking and boardsailing.
Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful ocean cliff views around the lighthouse.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

The ocean view hike around the lighthouse area was awesome! Look for some big iguanas too!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    6
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cabo Rojo Lighthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

This area is awesome! The sea from the cliffs is beautiful and there's a great cove beach to swim and play on. It's very clean beach (which so many are not). This beach is a hidden gem. Make sure you catch a sunset from here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CRtravelerDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cabo Rojo - Puerto Rico's Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

Getting to Cabo Rojo from San Juan was a real journey. My group and I had decided that in order to make the best of our trip, we would do the trip in two days and in the interim stop off at a few local spots in route to our awaited paradise. We came across a few really interesting restaurants, Parks and Beaches with the help of some locals, including a very nice police officer. In Puerto Rico, you will never fall short of a helping hand. The people there are known for their warm hospitality. One of the nicest parts about this trip was driving along the coastline of this amazing Island. Its a drive worth every mile and every minute. Do come prepared with a full tank of gas, extra clothes, water, Sun Protection and be sure to bring a camera!

The next morning, we discovered that the main road leading to the Beach was completely unpaved and full of tiny pot holes! What should have taken 5 minutes took a shocking 25. It was like riding a bull the entire time. We later learn that the entire area is protected under special wild life preservation laws, which only adds to the character of this trip after the the many other challenges we encountered along the way. Finally, when we reach the end of the road, a top a steep hill, we find plenty of other cars parked in a makeshift lot. To our surprise, we were not the first to arrive. Again, we stay focused on the idea that the Journey to this Caribbean wonderland will prove itself to be a true replica of the photo seen in the "Que Pasa" tourist guide only a day ago.

Yet another hike up this rocky hill, this time by foot, we could see nothing other than a man-made walking path whereby others ahead of us only seemed to disappear. While Cabo Rojo insists on flirting with our emotions, my group simply grew more eager and excited.

At last, we reach the end of the walking path and ....OH- MY- GOD-!!!! this place can't be real. It was more beautiful then what the photo revealed.... the sky - a soft and bright blue, the water - pearls of aqua gleaming from the sun above and the sand, a sugar white.... there were two small mountains that embraced the ocean for many miles then let out into the ocean, where you could see several jet-skiers and one small boat. Our group quickly looked for a place to settle in but it was clear that these beach-goers were experienced and knew exactly were to find the best seats in the house. So, we simply dropped our bags and ran for the sea...

The destination - Cabo Rojo. The Journey, Priceless!

Helpful?
12 Thank LeahMunoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lighthouse and Beach .. A MUST SEE !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2008

After traveling from San Juan to the western part of the island I was longing for some paradise, and found it at Cabo Rojo. We were told about this area by our hotel owner at the Blue Boy Inn. I didnt notice the area on Tripadvisor places to see. Anyways, this little beach, lighthouse, rock cliff area was the best part of the puerto rico trip. When you first start driving into the site it turns into a dirt road. Be careful with rental car in this area ( many potholes ). Also you NEED a rental car in PR, dont kid yourself into thinking otherwise. You can drive right to the beach, dont stop at the first parking area. There will probably be few people there, so you wont feel pushed around. The light house is the highest point to be seen, and you can walk directly up hill and take pictures. The lighthouse itself is just ordinary, and surrounded by fence so people cant get close. The sight to see is the cliffs nearby. ( see pictures ) The beach is an awesome sight from atop the cliffs. A semi circle beach with aqua blue calm waters. **At this point I must warn you to use sunscreen. HIGH SPF. There is a clam wind that makes it feel cooler than it is, and you can easily get severe sunburn as i did. You will easily find a part of beach just for yourself. The water is shallow, it takes about 30 steps to get around 5 feet high. There is also more to see on the LEFT side if the beach area. There is a trail to take you to other side ( away from the lighthouse ) where youll see more cool things. You'll have to see for yourself.

Helpful?
6 Thank sebring4449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coral gables
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great experience!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

i was amazed at the great changes this hotel has undergone over the last few years with the new manangement ....

we visit boqueron every year and this hotel has the best location at the entrance of the "poblado"

the pool area and the pool bar are heaven in paradise!!
the rooms were very spacious and super clean with a very simple decor and beach like atmosphere!!


the staff was awsome and everyone was super corteous-- keep up the good job

we will be there next year for sure!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank rsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabo Rojo also viewed

Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
 
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cabo Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing