We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise found”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Parguera

La Parguera
Book In Advance
More Info
$199.00*
and up
La Parguera Glowing Bioluminescent Bay Tour from San Juan
Ranked #121 of 575 things to do in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tiny village by the sea full of homey bed and breakfast inns.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

As a native Parguereno, l always find time to visit my island and go directly to my home town. I grew up inLa Parguera and saw it developed from a lovely fishing village where everybody knew and helped each other to an enchanting township known worldwide. We are friendly to everyonevwho visits us and always try to give them the best we can offer. We have all the water sports there are. Come and find out why we are that good,

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank OCasiano13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    60
    30
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place to experience local life”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

There are various small shops, bars and eateries. When visiting I recommend you take a boat to the bioluminescent bay, which is a rare attraction and one of the few in the world. Take the smaller boats to the bay, they are cheaper and you spend more time out on the bay. Our boat diver took one of the the glowing organisms and brought it to the boat in a bucket of water. The kids were pretty excited to see it and feel it. Great place to relax with the family and experience local life.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honky tonk town”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Came here to spend the evening prior to taking the cruise to see the bioluminescent features of the bay. Got there at 5PM for 8PM cruise - it was pure touristy, tacky honky tonk town (picture a sleazy Coney Island). One decent restaurant - rest are loud bar/eateries. It was the longest three hour wait ever. And the two hours on the boat (one of which was waiting at the dock for them to fill the boat) was not even worth the $8 paid for the tour. The attraction consisted of ten minutes of watching some guy jump off the boat to stir up the biolumenescence for a mere five minutes!! The rest of the boat ride was dark, and accompanied by blasting techno music!! Don't waste your time!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a Poor Town”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Contrary to popular belief La Parguera is neither rich nor poor. Most of the residents have lived in this tourist village for well over 60 years and take pride in it. We take care of it and we can also say that as far as crime is concerned we are not plagued by it either. Naturally on Mondays and Tuesdays a lot of the establishments are closed because most work outside of the village. But when u come to visit u have the best and most wonderful time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank aurora789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“La Parguera - hidden paradise”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Go to Aquaviva Ceviche Spoon Bar. So good! Rent a Kayak and explore the keys. I rented mine from Ishmael at iLeya. Very knowledgable guy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jmf300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parguera also viewed

 
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Lajas, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Parguera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing