We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bahia fosforescente, Vieques, Puerto Rico” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phosphorescent Bay (Bahia Fosforescente)

Ranked #276 of 570 things to do in Puerto Rico
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors observe millions of glowing tiny animals that react to the slightest disturbance in the water: a fish, boat or hand can light them up like millions of tiny underwater light bulbs.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bahia fosforescente, Vieques, Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

It is definitely a MUST SEE. It is the only phosphorescent bay that you can swim in. My kids thoroughly enjoyed it, evertime you lifted your hands out of the water, it glistened!!! Etxcellent experience for the whole family and the tour is very organized.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank OMD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
813 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have been visiting La Parguera for a very long time and it has never changed. Highly recommend visiting the Bahia Fosforescente. We took the tour with Johnny's Boats and really enjoyed it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank love2traveltogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurabo, P.R.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We went to the Bay at night and my children had a good time. The Bay was not as "lighted with the sea life" as we thought it was going to be, but it was ok. The guide was nice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janissie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must be on a moon less night.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

To fully enjoy the spectacle, you must go on a moonless night; otherwise you will miss the magnetism of seeing the bioluminescence effect.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Paradise Scuba & Snorkeling Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We chose to do the combination snorkeling/sunset bio bay tour. Four of us arrived and were fit to our flippers. I discovered that I really hate snorkeling but my companions loved the hours they spent in the water investigating the coral reef. The bio bay portion we all enjoyed. Swimming as the water sparkles is quite an experience. My swimsuit sparkled for 24 hours after the swim.

Paradise did a wonderful job ensuring the safely and comfort of the group. "Grandma's" chicken empadillas were excellent.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank smtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phosphorescent Bay (Bahia Fosforescente) also viewed

 
La Parguera, Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico, Caribbean
 

Been to Phosphorescent Bay (Bahia Fosforescente)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing