We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Guess house/Hostel near Jacob's ladder”
Review of Jah B's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Mountains National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jah B's Guesthouse
1 review
“The best Guess house/Hostel near Jacob's ladder”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

So I've been to the Blue Mountain National Park last weekend and it was a great experience. I've been there many times before but never stayed at Jah B's guest house.The view from the balcony is great, the whole guess house was really clean, kitchen and bathrooms were exceptional! I went with a group of 16 persons and No one complained as how they did when the group was 21 last year when we went to Portland Gap Cabins which was in a really bad state!.. Any ways Jah B made our stay in his guess house very comfortable that we all will be going back later this year. Big up yo self Jah B!

I put excellent for fitness center because going to the peak! all I can say, you dont need any more exercise for the rest of the year! lol!

Room Tip: I would recommend the room beside the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
2
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

A wonderful place to stay! The scenery is breathe taking. Love the lay-out for the rooms. Jah B's is so humble, nice and friendly! This is my second time to the peak. The first we stayed at Portland gap,which was terrible.. Jah B's is the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This kind of experience is specially for people that love adventure, if you expect 5 starts hotel you won't get it, that doesn't mean that the experience is not amazing!!! My friends and I are interns in Negril from all over the world, we almost ready to leave Jamaica and decided to do something out of the typical ( meaning just go to the beach or waterfalls), so we wanted to hike the Blue Mountains. We contacted JAh B's place thanks to the other good reviews....we rented a car from Negril to Mavis Bank(closed by Kingston), It had a few problems with the car and the GPS took us to the middle of no where with no battery in the car and stock in the dirt... We called Jah b for directions and help, it was almost 2 am, He sent his son Rasah to help us and finally we got help, he didn't have to do that but he did. They took us back to the cabins and help us with our rental. The place is very simple but cozy, I personally loved it! Next day Rasah took us hiking for about 7 hours, 7miles up and another 7 down...it was amazing !!!! The experience was out of this world and at the end I big sense of accomplishment !!!! Sadly we had to go but we all had an amazing experience... Thanks to Jahb and family for being such wonderful and warm people with us.... Forgot, he also made breakfast for us along with some amazing Blue Mountains coffee...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Best location to start from if you want to go to the peak. They can arrange everything for you: airport pick-up(100US), guide two the top, starting at 2am(50US). The room is 45US. Dinner and breakfast is also available (9 and 7US).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roald22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A once in a lifetime experience and not for the faint of heart! Just a 10 min walk from the Blue Mountains Peak Trail, Jah B's rustic cabins are the place to stay. Don't expect much more than a nice hard bed and a cold shower and you won't be disappointed. The views are amazing and Jah B's cooking is superb. Be sure to have one of his sons (Alex, Ipal or Nebo) pick you up from the airport and guide you to the Peak. It's not only safe but an enriching experience since you'll learn a lot about life in Jamaica, the mountains and Bobo Rastas way of life. Make sure to bring some snacks with you and be familiar with the prices since everything "is possible" but has a cost (in USD):

Private Cabin with Bathroom is 45$ per night
Breakfast is 7$
Dinner 9$
Guide 50$
Airport Pick-Up 100$
Blue Mount. to Port Antonio 200$

Totally worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Me and my friend decided to get this completly different experience of Jamaica. So we went to Jah'bs. His son Alex picked us up from the airport. He was really nice and friendly. If you dont have a car I would definetly recommend him to pick you up cause the roads are so narrow and steep I dont think a regular taxi or a car would make it. He is driving fast but you can feel that he has been driving the same roads for some time. Jah B's place has amazing view and its so relaxing. Very simple but makes you appreciate things in life.
One thing I would really recommend that nobody mention on tripadvisor. Cause you will be so far away from civization stop on the way to buy some water and some snacks that can stay good without fridge. Also if you want some beverages. Especially some snacks. He cooks really good vegetarian food but they take some time to prepare it so it would be really helpfull to have some snack on us. Of course you have to have the hand grinded blue mountain coffee.
Other things we found lucking is comunication before tours. Nobody informed us about the length of the tours and what we should take with us especially the farm tour which sounded like 15 minutes away at the end we walked for 2 hours there and 2 back up the hill in the midday sun without any water. What saved us was some berries we found and kept eating them just to get little of the juice to moist our dry mouths. The same with the peak tour. Take some water and some snacks as bananas or some musli bars cause you will need them. We didnt plan to do the peak tour but it was amazing but very exhausting. Again nobody informs you but bring with you flashlights cause we had to use our mobile phones instead. They dont provide you with anything.
These are the things that nobody mention here and we would find pretty usefull before the trip.
But overall this was amazing experience and I will never forget it. Jah' B was great!!!!!

Room Tip: If you dont like sharing room with strangers ask for room with a bathroom in the main house. Its wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beatinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
negril
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I live part time in Negril but my first time to blue mtn. was just a couple months ago. When you get to the top to stay you see Jah B`s and you go what but once you settle into the very basics of life you get the over whelming feeling of peace. Jah b and his sons are true in soul and warm and kind in all that they do. The view from their home is past breath taking. I would do it all again but bring junk food and toilet paper. Have a blast and live in peace and serenity for a moment. Hi from canada

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bbhkccaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains National Park
0.6 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 81 in Negril
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
0.2 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.1 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 81 in Negril
5,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jah B's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jah B's Guesthouse

Property: Jah B's Guesthouse
Address: Whitefield Hall Area | Hagley Gap, St. Thomas, Blue Mountains National Park, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Blue Mountains National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blue Mountains National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Jah B's Guesthouse Jamaica/Blue Mountains National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing