We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Vacation!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We just returned from a weeks stay Feb 26-Mar 5/14 in a Royal Golden suite travelling with Transat Holidays. The trip from the airport was 70 minutes. This hotel is LARGE but not unmanageable to find everything if you are able to get around. It is wheelchair accessible, however this might involve going around the extremely large pool or searching for elevators which there are many. As a travel agent we travel a fair bit and I would rate this property a 4-4.5 star.
It is very clean, with wonderful staff and good food. Everyone works very hard here.

There are different room categories.
Junior Suite is on the lower floors which includes 3 a la carte dinners.
Royal Golden (RG) Junior Suite is on the upper 2 floors which includes 4 a la carte dinners.
Don Pablo (Luxury) Suites are located in a designated building which has been renovated and this category also give you access to it's own pool or beach area, with upgraded chairs. This also includes unlimited a la carte dinners.
These last two categories also give you access to their own lounges. Speaking for the RG, there were 4 computers with internet access included as well as a bar there, this had Caribe beer in a can which you also get in the minibar, however it is draft beer in a cup everywhere else on the resort. Majority of people were using their own thermal mugs.
There is also the Privilege Club with it's own designated areas with sales people located in the lobby and throughout specific areas at the resort. This is a time share program of some sort and just saying "no thank you" puts a stop to them approaching right away.

We were on the 4th Floor in building 17, #17416. It had a beautiful view of the pool & ocean. The suite was very large with 2 double canopy beds and 1 twin as well. The bathroom had both a tub & shower and was also fairly large. The terrace/balcony is very large. We had a coffee maker and minibar which was stocked daily and also a safe which we had to put a $50.00 fully refundable deposit down to receive the key. If you book just a junior suite you have to put the $50.00 deposit down and it costs $6.00/day for the safe when you check out. We also received robes & slippers. A couple of the lights didn't work when we arrived but maintenance came and it was fixed right away.

The Orchid main restaurant is a very large buffet with many choices. We also found a smaller one at the Palmyra around the corner although it was only permitting Don Pablo guests at lunch & dinner.
I would recommend booking your dinners as soon as you can after you arrive. Two of our dinners were prebooked (Transat must have made this arrangement) but we were able to change the night & time. We ate at The Grill (fantastic), The Don Pablo Gourmet (fantastic), The Mikado Tepanaki where they cook in front of you (fantastic) as well as The Dolce Vita Italian which was our least favorite, although it was still good.
We loved the Jerk Chicken right next to the Beach Snack bar for lunch - it was really good!

The beach is expansive and for the most part the water was fairly calm except for 1 day, but it was still safe to swim. The pool is gorgeous. As with most resorts towels are placed on the chairs early if you want to sit somewhere specific although there seemed to be plenty of chairs at both the pool & the beach.

The Pueblo Principe is the shopping area and this is also the theatre at night. We only saw one show there. We preferred the live music which was on the Terrace every night. It was a lovely area to sit just off the lobby. There were 2 different singers that we saw and they were very talented! There is also 1 hour of free wi-fi per day per device located just inside off the Terrace.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are on the opposite side of the disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank liss64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to know that you have had a memorable vacation in our Resort as well as you have enjoyed our great room view, the variety of cuisine as well as the quality at our a la carte restaurants.

Thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you back once more at our Grand Bahia Principe, an unforgettable experience in Jamaica.

Your sincerely,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,083
    3,510
    1,814
    855
    663
See reviews for
3,474
4,464
161
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,117)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Once again we had a great stay, usually we like to explore a destination but again we never left the resort during our 7 day trip. Maybe next year we can go for 10 days and leave time for some trips to explore the island.
I am sure most reviews are based on valid experiences but we have not experienced anything that wold prevent us from returning or recommending the Bahia to our friends! The 1st year we did ask to switch rooms and it was done the next day with the usual inconveniences that you might expect when on holiday in the Caribbean.
And yes, we always bring some extra face cloths when travelling "south" as it is a common complaint, however this last time we did not require the extra we brought.
We have tried all the restaurants and have our favourites but that can be a matter of personal taste as much as anything, they are all good in their own way.
Air Transit provides a dedicated bus to the resort which is waiting as you exit the airport, I would recommend making the 1 hour trip in daylight in order to see some of Jamaica on your way to the Resort.
Our check in at the resort with the ROYAL GOLDEN package is easy and this time our room was ready by the time we arrived (2:30).
People putting towels on the lounges is still a common practice but we never had an issue getting what we wanted. On our 1st visit our room faced the beach and one of us would go b4 breakfast and do that. This year we were in the other section and it was (800 steps) she counted, lol, so we didn't bother. After breakfast we went to the beach and always found a suitable spot.
Lunch do course was the Jerk Chicken on the beach everyday and then back to the pool about 4, again finding no problem with finding a lounge for that last hour or so before dinner.
Never could understand how people seem to wait for water or coffee I. The restaurants or buffet as we always ahead 1 (or more) people right at our table wanting to get us something. At the buffet we always liked sitting in the same area as it is good to get to know the staff that usually works a section from day to day. There also is a smaller Adults only buffet that looked great but we never actually used it.
Kind of disappointed that the internet in the Lobby is now only 1 hour per day as we are I Pad users and it was always nice after dinner or breakfast to walk over to the Lobby for a bit and catch up. The hour is ample time but it is only once in a 24 hour period. We bought the 40 pak of time in the little store off the Lobby as it worked well in our room, pool and almost to the beach, lol.
With the Royal Golden there are computers in the dedicated room the have that actually always seemed to be available anytime we passed by.
To concluded the rooms if you look close might be showing their age put very clean and well kept, the beds are firm, but we like that, the pillows aren't as puffy as ours at home but there extras in the closet so use 2, our maids were very nice, just speak with them and get to know their names, and leave a little tip for everybody that is always appreciated.
If you travel with the Royal Golden package look for and say hello to "CASSONOVA" she will always help you with anything you have concerns with. We can't begin to say enough about how she made our stay enjoyable, the Bahia is lucky to have her.
If anybody wishes to contact us for an other information please feel free to do so.

Room Tip: A higher room is quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank goldenbair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We always try to leave a wonderful experience in every heart we touch to exceed our guest’s expectation is our main hallmark; that’s why we are happy to know that you were able to enjoyed during your second stay at our property.

Thank you for vacationing with us, it was a pleasure to host you and we hope to host you again during your next trip to our Grand Bahia Principe in Jamaica.

Cordial greetings,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

There was a complete lack of attention to detail and to the guests. We were in the Don Pablo collection, it was supposed to give you that extra attention...not the case at all. My husband and I are not vacation snobs this was our first vacation without kids in 5 years. Issue one our room had 2 double beds not a king as requested and no king rooms were available. I'm not going to go into all the details because it's too long but here were some additional issues;
No fresh towels at the towel hut each time we asked, however dirty towels were left around the pool all night every night!
The Italian restaurant was terrible...service and food. The server had no idea about anything on the menu, when asked what kind of seafood was in the Chef's Seafood Special...response "seafood"!
The buffets were mediocre at best, most of what was supposed to be hot was cold. You could get a fresh hot omelette ever morning so that was a savior. Cold coffee from room service. The bartenders for DP were awesome but we went to the lobby bar and the bartender was rude! They didn't have any garnish for cocktails...I was looking for a lime for my vodka tonic...A LIME!! Barely fresh fruit at all and what was available wasn't good at all.

If you are looking for long walks on the beach go someplace else, parts of the beach were man made, sand on top of concrete so it was small and crowded.

Here are some positives;
Japanese Steakhouse and Don Pablo-great service and food!
The property was very nice and well maintained

We made the most of out time and tried not to let this stuff bother us but it did add up to annoying! Especially since this was a huge treat to leave the kids at home to celebrate my 50th birthday.

We would not return to this property clearly it is poorly managed!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is good to know that despite of some issues you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your complain and we wholeheartedly apologize. Please, be assured that we will certainly be looking into the service you have received. Our policy is to try to ensure our guests satisfaction before you have departed.

Thank you one more for letting us know about your dissatisfaction, which will help us to improve the service we strive for, and for vacationing with us; at the same time we would like to be given the opportunity to host you again to recover your trust in us.

Yours respectfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We traveled the last week in January of this year. We had an amazing time. The weather was perfect the entire week. We arrived on a Monday and check in was very smooth. We got block 18 for our room like we had requested and on the 5th floor, facing the ocean. It was absolute perfection. The room was clean and our fridge was stocked every day. We really only drank the water out of the fridge but it was replaced every day, which was perfect for us. We never had an issue with bath towels. Face cloths yes, but there were always hand towels which you could compensate with. The shower did leak out into the bathroom but we just put a towel down and adjusted the head. No big deal. We were on vacation and I don't have to clean the room :) The bed was SO comfortable. The pillows weren't that great but we are really picky about pillows and don't like pillows even in hotels in the US and Canada, so can't fault these guys for not having what we like in the pillow department.

The beach was smaller then what we were use to in Cuba and a bit rocky in spots but the far side was very soft and sandy. We never had a problem getting chairs with a little hut but we are relatively early risers too. The water was so warm and perfect for swimming. We didn't have much luck with snorkeling. Saw a few fish but nothing really great...maybe we were in the wrong spot from the other reviewers that saw good stuff. We love being at the beach so block 18 was perfect for us. Just out the back door of our building and you were at the beach and the beach bar with the Jerk chicken was right there too. We loved the location of our room. Wasn't noisy at all at night and we're light sleepers. It also wasn't a far walk to anywhere. I'm not sure what ppl are talking about when they say it's so far to walk to anything. To us, you're on vacation...all you do it eat and walk and sit...so for us...all the walking was ok. It wasn't more then a 2 minute walk to the lobby or to the buffet or other a la cartes.

The a la cartes that we went to were all great. We did the Japanese, The Grill and Don Pablo and all were great. The portions were a bit small at The Grill but the steak was amazing. Done perfectly. The buffet was also really good. My husband loved that they had curried goat and lamb almost every day. He couldn't get enough. I really enjoyed all the fresh salads and the fish. I can't say I had one thing that I didn't really enjoy. I didn't try the goat or lamb...so can't attest to that but he loved it. The oatmeal at breakfast was also really good!! The jerk chicken at the beach restaurant was also really good and the guacamole was amazing too with the fried nachos. So delicious. We liked eating there cuz the lower section where the jerk chicken is, is right by the water and it's just so peaceful and beautiful. Loved that spot. We're not big drinkers so can't attest to the drink service but whenever we did get drinks, the service was always good and quick. I think being polite and saying please and thank you helps alot. They are at work and we're on vacation...if it was reversed, we might not always be so pleasant either. We didn't have any complaints about the service anywhere.

It was also nice at the lobby every night they did a feature drink. The mojito's were PHENOMENAL! So fresh and just the perfect mix...might have just been that bartender but he did them amazing!!

I guess my only complaint is there should be free wifi in your room. For the price that you pay for this hotel, free wifi is kinda expected. You get one free hour a day while in the lobby area per device which was fine for us. We didn't mind not being connected while we were away. An hour a day was more then enough for us. But it would have been nice to have the option. And the safe should also be included. I find it cheap that they don't include the safe with the room price.

The pool I can't really speak to since we didn't spend any time there except to exchange our beach towels. But it was very large and had a bunch of different sections and seemed very nice. We exchange them every day around 3 or 4 and there was usually only about a 10 minute wait, so we just waited and watched whatever entertainment there was going on at the pool. No big deal.

Overall, a great time. Jamaica is beautiful and we will definitely go back but will likely try a new place...just to do something different.

Room Tip: Ask for block 18, 5th floor. Beautiful view and quiet and close to the beach if you like the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethesun79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted reading your honest review letting us know about your recently vacation experience in our Property. We are glad to know that we were able to provide you an amazing time that exceed your expectations.

On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, a 5 star experience in the Caribbean.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conception Bay South, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had an Ocean View 7th Floor and loved it! Stay away from the Italian Rest, it was terrible I'm not the first to say that either. as for the rest of the resort,I would not hesitate going back there again, especially the Don Pablo Collection. Loved all the staff. Thanks

Room Tip: Stay away from the Italian Rest, it was terrible I'm not the first to say that either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your note about your recently stay in our Hotel. We are glad to know that you have had a good time with us.
Thank you for vacationing with us and for your words of praise toward our staff. We will make sure to let them know about your compliments.
Thank you for your collaboration and we hope to serve you again in our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, your best Hotel in the Caribbean.


Yours faithfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

It didn't ruin our vacation...but we had issues with this resort.

1. no facecloths in our room. We had to call the front desk everyday for facecloths. Tipping the maid and leaving a note requesting them seemed to work for a few days, but then they just took the money and didn't leave the facecloths.
2. The beach...not a good beach. The man made section is very hard, like concrete. The other section has a breakwater wall built , which is in dire need of repair and the beach sand has washed away behind the wall. Just not comparable to other beaches.
3. We had no hot water in our room for 4 days. Cold showers with very low water pressure is not what I paid for. I dont think it s too much to expect a hot , or at least a warm shower everyday. Our friends also had the same hot water issue plus their toilet didnt work for the same 4 days.
4.The Disco....it stinks! Very strong smell of sewer. Horrible. You can even smell it sitting outside when the door opens. Very dirty in there, the floor was always sticky, never cleaned.
5. Entertainment was mediocre at best. Just not up to par with other resorts.
6.Once the shows were over at 11 pm, there was basically no service outside for dinks. Unless you happened to catch someone walking by, you had to go into the sewer smelling Disco and get your own drinks. And they didn't seem too pleased to have to get them for you when you did ask. Tipping well on the first few orders didnt help at all.
7. Bugs! The bugs at the pool were unreal. We had numerous bug bits which swelled up and were very itchy...even several days after we arrived home. Nasty looking bites. I also received a wasp bite on my knee which still bothers me two weeks later.
8. Our freinds had their passports stolen from their room. Who do you think stole them???
9. The pool..very nice. Best pool I've seen yet!
10. The food...no issues with the food except we ate at the buffet everynight because we couldnt get any early settings at the A La Cartes. 9 pm too late to eat for us.
11. Hope your stay is better than ours. Enjoy! :)

Room Tip: if you are early to bed people you may want to avoid rooms close to the main lobby as the people on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ray w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Ray,

There is nothing more important to us, than to meet our guest’s expectations. That is why we thank you for kindly sharing your review and let us know about your discomfort during your recently vacation at our Resort. We would like to express our gratitude for the highlighted aspects you have really enjoyed, while taking note of all your recommendations that we ensure will be appropriately communicated to our Management, to have them completely avoided in the future.

Thank you for vacationing with us .It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to have the opportunity to host again in the near future to regain your trust in us.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We are in the home stretch of our vacation here at the Grand Bahia Principe in Jamaica. I feel compelled to write about our experience this past week.
The facilities are beautiful, the staff is very courteous and engaging. However, I feel very badly for them. This week has been nothing short of a disappointment in terms of experience; and if it weren't for the beautiful setting and personnel, we would not still be here on this 7th day of our vacation. The workers here have been overworked this week and it shows.

I found out yesterday that the hotel has been overbooked this week; they are offering current guests a transfer and stay at the Riu in Montego Bay with a paid for excursion. This explains what I am about to describe below. I still do not understand why a hotel can book its rooms for more guests than it can accommodate, and have its paying customers suffer from poor service and a lessened experience. We work hard for our money and have limited time with our families as a result. Vacations are important and I feel that we have been taken advantage of.

When we arrived with our two young girls (7 and 4 years of age) on Friday, February the 28th 2014, we were assigned to a room directly facing the discotheque. Needless to say that our two first nights were not restful at all. Our kids had trouble sleeping until about 2AM; their bedtime was 9PM. As a result, they were tired the following two days and irritable. Also, this room had no towels and the shower and sink drains were clogged. My spouse enjoyed a foot bath in the walk-in shower.
Complaint #1 to the front desk: Why are families with young children assigned to rooms facing the discotheque?
Answer: Rooms are booked based on availability.

In my opinion, disco rooms should NOT be available to young families. I conveyed this opinion to the supervisor.
If rooms are booked based on availability and you have more guests than you have rooms, how can this work?

I requested a new room after the first night and was told that the hotel was booked at 98% capacity and that it might be difficult to switch us. We enjoyed another night of noise until 2AM.
On the third day we were informed that we were changing rooms but could not be told which room it would be (this is hotel policy because the new room is currently occupied). Our luggage had to be packed by 11AM or we would not be given a new room. We would only be told at 3PM that day which was our new room. And so that morning, while my daughters and spouse were at the pool, I spent over an hour packing up our room and taking 8 pieces of luggage back to the lobby for it to be stored for the day until our new room was assigned. No help from the hotel with this by the way. Instead, my spouse left the kids with friends and came to help.
Complaint #2 to the front desk: Can anything be done about the wasted time and effort; complimentary Internet access perhaps? Also, I am paying for the room safe every day; will I have to pay for the day that I move rooms since I have no choice but to keep all of my valuables on me?
Answer: We will send up a "special attention" package to your room. Safes are charged per night.

The safe may be charged per night, but I am in the room at night; I need the safe during the day. If I cannot make use of my safe for an entire day, I should not be charged for that day.
We received our special attention package two days later. It consisted of a plate with 8 uncut fruit and a 200mL bottle of Appleton Jamaica rum. There is a full buffet only steps away serving these fruit, prepared each day. And the rum is free-flowing at the bars. My spouse doesn't drink currently although I think I might open the bottle soon as I write this.

Speaking of the buffet and restaurants, we attempted to schedule our à la carte restaurants the day after we arrived and they were all booked except for a few that had availability at late evening hours. Not the best dinner time for children under 8. We worked around this by showing up the night of and asking if they had reservation cancellations. This worked for us once.

The buffet was overcrowded every day with long lineups and items missing and not being replenished fast enough.
Service was under par a couple of days. For example we waited 30 minutes after sitting down to get water and coffee one morning. I ordered from three different waiters and ended up walking over to the Maitre D' to get our beverages.

Some more random thoughts:
On arrival, Air Transat left us at the airport. We had to find another operator to take us to the hotel.
We had to keep our pool towels every day because they ran out within the first hour after the pool staff started their day.
Our second room had no blankets and not enough towels.
Our friends paid for the "Golden Upgrade" which guaranteed them an ocean view room. They were given a room facing the opposite side.
Chocolate bars at the convenience shop are $2.50 and chips are $8.50 a bag.

Finally, be very mindful of what you pay for and what to expect from this establishment. It is an absolutely stunning resort and the people are delightful. However we have travelled to 5-star resorts in the past and I would not rate this one in the same category simply because of the lack of attention paid to their guests. Overbooking is unacceptable given the amount of money we paid for our stay. We will not be coming back to a Grand Bahia Principe for this reason.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are not assigned a room facing the Pueblo Principe. This is where the discothequ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Phil,

Thank you for letting us know about your concern. From the bottom of our heart, we can assure you that we are very saddened to learn that you are unsatisfied and deeply regret that due to an overbooking at our Hotel you felt that has damaged the quality of our services as well as your room change, please, accept our most sincerest apologies.
On the other hand, please, let me clarify that the transfers from our guests to the RIU hotel in Montego Bay is voluntary along with a paid trip to Negril, one of the best tourist attractions on the island.
We would like to thank you for your review, and for vacationing with us. Your suggestion and recommendation will be taking into consideration, at the same time we hope that this issue does not tarnish your perception about our Hotel and you will give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Yours respectfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
39.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,438 reviews
52.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
65.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#27 of 80 in Negril
5,443 reviews
35.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
5,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing