We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Nearby Hotels
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$445
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$330
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silver Creek Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$100
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franklyn D. Resort & Spa(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$650
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardiff Hotel & Spa(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piper's Cove Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$107
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Ambiance(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
$220
$159
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11,915)
Filter reviews
11,915 results
Traveler rating
4,402
3,764
2,001
973
775
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,402
3,764
2,001
973
775
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjerk chickengold clubdon pablothe grilla la carte restaurantstime sharedolce vitakaraoke barbeach snack barmain buffetnude beachair transatjapanese restaurantorchid buffetface clothsair canadatowel hut
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,072 - 6,077 of 11,915 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Excellent service, variety of food and things to do, beaches are nice, but not the prettiest. Staff is what made the trip so memorable. Restaurants have a variety to choose from. Super clean resort with maids always asking you if everything is okay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Shana,

We are proud to hear that we have played such an integral role for providing you a fantastic holiday during your stay. Your comments about our excellent service, cuisine and overall the warmth and helpful staff meant a lot to our team who are always doing their best to provide our guests with a wonderful vacation experience.

Thank you for vacationing with us; we are looking forward to host you again soon in our Grand Bahia principe Jamaica, all inclusive Hotel in the Caribbean.

Yours faithfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I spent 1 week at the Bahia in early February. We travel often and this is our 4th Bahia Principe resort we have been to. We love the Bahia chain and no what to expect and are never disappointed.
We upgraded to the Club Golden (as we always do) through Air Transat. I emailed the resort ahead of time asking for the top floor, ocean view and the corner room with the huge balconies. They met our requests and we weren't disappointed.
The GOOD:
Beautiful clean resort with well appointed rooms. Fairly large but had no issues with getting around anywhere. We like to walk and take in the scenery. Unless you have major mobility issues it isn't a problem
Great friendly staff who go out of their way to be helpful.
Many activities, evening musical entertainment near the main lobby bar as well and the Pueblo at night.
No people bothering you on the beach selling their wares.
Upbeat and fun atmosphere.
Lots of Canadians at this resort
Great food at buffet and restaurants. Our favourite was the Don Pablo Gourmet restaurant.
With Club Golden you get room service from a "light" menu, robe, slippers and pool towels in your room upon arrival and free in room safe
Great housekeeping, bar and restaurant staff
Huge pools at the perfect temperature
No problem booking ala carte restaurants with the Club Golden staff
Jerk Chicken at the beach buffet....Fabulous!
A few staff that made our trip great, Marvin at the Main Buffet, Gregory from the main pool bar. Richard and Dave from the quieter pool bar and Gerrick at the Beach bar.
The NOT SO GOOD:
The Beach was bit of a disappointment. We are beach people and it is very small. One side is all rocky with small pebbles instead of sand. This was supposed to be the snorkeling area.
There is another sandy beach which is nice but very small. No long walks on this beach.
The snorkeling was a waste of time. I think we saw one fish and went out 3 times. We should have left our gear at home.
Horrible bed pillows, either totally flat or lumpy
Room service took 2 hours one time but they were very apologetic and offered to bring us a bottle of wine
Pushy time share people are a pain but since we realized who they were right away (after being at other Bahia's) we stopped them in their tracks right away.
Wi-Fi only in the lobby and only 1 hour a day. In this day in age there should be Wi-Fi everywhere and unlimited. I would have been willing to pay a small fee for Wi-Fi in my room.
Table wine is horrible. Don't bother ordering the house wine if you are a wine drinker, it is like vinegar. Pay for a decent bottle of good wine, they have a good wine list.

There is so much more I could add to this review but it would take too long! LOL
Overall we really liked it and loved the staff and people of Jamaica. Have any questions, please feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors and a corner room with the large balconies.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted reading your comments, and happy to learn that once again we did not disappoint you; enjoying our room view, entertainments, and delicious food especially at our Don Pablo restaurant and our Jerk Chicken Center. We also noted your comments, which we have already discussed with our team.
Thank you for your remarks; we will be more than happy to host you again on your upcoming vacation to our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, a 5 star experience in the Caribbean.

Yours respectfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Grand Bahia Principe from Jan. 31-Feb. 7. It was our first time to an all inclusive and we loved it! Jamaica is beautiful & the people are so laid back and friendly!

The resort itself is beautiful. Quite large. We were in room 17309, it was huge with a beautiful view of the beach and mountains behind the resort. The bed was ok, could have used more blankets (but we like a lot of blankets!). Overall pretty quiet. When we first arrived in our room there were no towels but we called the front desk and by later that night a pile of towels had been put in our room!

The food was great! My husband is pretty picky and he never went hungry! We went to the buffet most of the time as the selection was huge and we could all find something we liked. We did go the The Grille which was also very good! For lunch we always went to the beach buffet to get jerk chicken, yum!

Entertainment was great from what we watched. Mostly we just entertained ourselves. I liked the shops on the resort!

The only negative thing I can say about this resort was that the beach wasn't great. I'm a beach person and when I think of Carribean I think long, sandy beaches. The beach is a fair size but there is a large section that's washing away. They had a retaining wall and caution tape up. The sand by the water is nice and soft but the rest of the sand is rocky and seems to be lacking. They could make it a lot better if they brought in a bunch of sand.

Overall, I would return but now that we have the travel bug we want to go everywhere! ;)

Room Tip: Section 17/18 are close to the beach on one side and pool/buffet on the other, excellent location.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Katie,

Thank you for your heartwarming review; we are very pleased to know that we were chosen to have for your first experience in an all inclusive Hotel providing you with a great time. Thank you for your acknowledgement words about the beauty of our Hotel, delicious food, and the entertainment.

It was our pleasure to host you and we will be always waiting for you return to our property.

Kind regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went there in November 2012, the place is excellent, so many choices of a la carte, all very good, no problem with food there. beach beautiful but not seven mile beach. The rooms are awesome and service is great. Lots of stairs and walking though but its exercise. Did not encounter any problem there at all. Such a beautiful place. Need taxi if you want to go out not walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fussy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Please accept cordial greetings from the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica.

We are elated with your words, letting us know that you have enjoyed your vacation with us, we would like you to know that it is our intention to make each and every moment memorable.

It was a pleasure to meet you and we are look forward to host you here again in your best Hotel in Jamaica.

Kind regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at this same resort in the Dominican and it was equally nice. Check in was very efficient and we absolutely loved our room. Very spacious and the view was great. We faced the pool but had a nice view of the ocean yet were close to the entertainment. Our maid service was excellent. Food in the Japanese and Don Pablos restaurants were excellent. The meal at the Italian restaurant was awful. The pre-meal buffet was good but we couldn't even eat our main course. Too bad because the setting was beautiful. The Friday night seafood buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: The corner rooms had a very large balcony. We faced the pool yet still had a nice view of the ocean. We were on the 4th floor and there were no noise issues.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0rRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It is good to know that you have had a great vacation experience in our Resort as well as you have enjoyed our great room view, and our excellent cuisine at our Japanese and Don Pablo Restaurant.

Your comments about our service meant a lot to our team. Thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you soon.

Yours faithfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews