We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun,fun,drinks,party,friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Yeh Mon!! great resort and lots to do with family,friends,singles and honeymooners. We had sooo much fun and still wish we were there.Whether at the beach or pool..which has a bar and lots of fun pool activities.The staff works 24hrs a day and alway has a smile.
The buffet "irie" yumm yumm lots of variety. The night life was entertaining for all ages BUT the club was sooo much fun and still laughing.....
Thank you staff for making our family trip rememorable.
Respect
Kim G

Room Tip: south side if you want to be closer to beach and entainment square but also close to pool. we prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Kim,

We are delighted reading your note, your kind words reaffirm that the main goal of our property is to make our guests dreams vacation come true.

Thank you for your comments, and we are looking forward to host you soon in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,971 - 5,977 of 11,676 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

The property was standard compared to resorts in this class, and all the food was not spectacular but I had no complaints, except for the isolated incident when they served uncooked jerk chicken at the lunch buffet. The service is also sub-par. A friend we traveled with had to change rooms twice due to various issues (broken AC unit and a door that doesn't lock) and the front desk was less than thrilled. Plus, the management is pushing people to upgrade to their premium resort package that gave you access to various things (such as a newer room) which is a bit of a bother. The beach, Runaway Bay, was very rocky and seemed to have suffered from erosion. A couple trucks full of sand could help out this beach. It is a beautiful beach, though, with a perfect view of the amazing Jamaican sunsets.

I had an amazing time at GBP Runaway Bay, but I wish there was more Jamaican culture infused into this resort. If I were to do it again, I'd opt to stay at Ocho Rios, where you get a taste of local flavor and real Jamaican cuisine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phifatech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We felt privileged to host you and provide you an amazing time. However; it is with regret that we have learnt you have left our property unsatisfied with some of our services. We apologize wholeheartedly for not meeting your expectations and for all the inconveniences you have pointed out.

Please, let us kindly to inform our guests that we are undertaking improvements of our facilities as we are cognizant that the quality is of utmost importance as well as the confort of our guests.

We are looking forward to host you again, and do our best to provide you an amazing stay.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This resort is definitely eye popping, with it's grand lobby and huge winding pool. My husband and I are first time visitors to this impressive resort. We had a Junior Suite shared with our daughter, we found the room clean, but the plug in the bathroom did give us some trouble and kept popping into the wall. Our maid for the week was nice and friendly and greeted us with a smile as did other staff members. We found most staff were friendly. We did not like being approached at all about the Time Share staff that seemed to be a little 'aggressive'. We found the food to be very good in the main buffet area as well as at the Palmyra. One staff member, Damion Morgan at the Palmyra stood out as very friendly, outgoing and cheerful, he was very attentive and shared some tips on making 'jerk chicken'. We enjoyed the 'jerk chicken' at the beach, but the Grill Restaurant was not good at all, Dolca Vita was great as were the 'Silverbirds' great steel drum band, their energy was breath taking! We truely had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to recommend this resort to our friends and family.
Richard and Barb G.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank five3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Richard and Barb G,

We are very happy to know that you had a great vacation in our Resort. Thank you for your feedback, and for your words about some of our staff members. We will make sure to let them know about your compliments.
We also noted your comments;and assure you that we are going to take it into consideration.

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you again for your collaboration. We will be more than happy to host you again on your second trip to Jamaica.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is clean with good food and a good vibe you can have a lot of fun around the pool near the bar.The lobby bar at night is a nice place to have some drinks.This ressort is good for anybody I had a blast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted reading your note letting us know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing more important to us than to fulfill our guest’s satisfaction.

It has been a pleasure to host you and we hope to host you soon in our Resort.

Best regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

With a group of friends. A nice place to relax, get some sun and have fun
It was a great stay, water is amazing.
A lovely bay, man made but very nice.
The staff, the great issue, not very nice and they don't like to work :(
Maybe because of the hot weather

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Rui I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Rui,

We are delighted to know that you have had a relaxing time and a great stay, which is our main objective in our property.
Thank you for your note. It was a pleasure to host you and we hope to host you again in our Hotel. We are looking forward to host you again to provide you another amazing stay.

Yours sincerely,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Second time here at this resort. Very satisfied with the overall experience. Everyone is very helpful, food is great and the beaches are awesome. Being able to use kayaks and the catamaran was very fun. Shopping at the resort was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glennforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on this website. We felt privileged to have been able to host you for a second time and to know that you had especially enjoyed our cuisine and the warmth and friendly of our staff.

We will be looking to your return to provide you another wonderful stay in our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, all inclusive Hotel in the Caribbean.

Yours faithfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This resort was excellent. We came down for a week for mybrotherinlaws wedding. We had the basic room package which gave us everything everyone else had except one extra alacarte, robe, slippers, and premium booze. We had an amazing view of the pool and ocean. Food was ok but both excellent. The Don Pablo restaurant was amazing and so was the Milako (Japanese food) but we did not enjoy the Grill. We would go back again. Our maid was absolutley amazing. She went it of her way to make sure my hubby and I were as comfortable as we could be. Tipping goes a long way. The staff will do a lot for you just for a few bucks. They are very friendly, approachable and all of them were either smiling or singing the entire trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelbug2013_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments; letting us know that you have enjoyed our excellent Resort and especially the comforting warmth of our staff, and the variety and taste of our cuisine.
We look forward to serving you again soon and trust that you will not hesitate to choose our Grand Bahia Principe in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
1.4 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
12.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
9,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.3 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.1 mi away
Villa Sonate
Villa Sonate
#2 of 7 in Runaway Bay
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $201 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing