We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 17-24”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Hey All,
This was my first trip to Jamaica and to this resort.
I can honestly say from reading some of these reviews I was a little scared but after arriving and being there for a week... I wanted to extend my vacation
It's a beautiful resort, the people, food and amenities were awesome!!
Let's just say I'm already looking to book my next trip there with my family.
My only negative comment and advice is the tours they offer is very pricey, we took a taxi from outside the resort and it was wayyyy cheaper!
Other than I was very pleased.
For the other negative comments on this review, all I have to say if your picky or expect absolute royal treatment.. Then you will probably have bad things to say.. Just my opinion.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Sharlene Natash... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Sharlene,

We are thrilled with your note. It is good to know that after your stay in our hotel you have a completely perception of our service.

There is nothing more important to us than our guests and it is rewarding to see that we were able to surpass your expectations.

We are already looking forward to host you again in our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Jamaica.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,947 - 5,953 of 11,377 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

food was excellent. everything was wonderful there. I especially liked the entertainment crew. Many scheduled activities around the pool were a lot of fun. I cannot think of one restaurant that was not fabulous. The buffet on a Thursday n1ght had fresh lobster tails and served with drawn butter.
The rooms were always spotless and we never had an occasion to call for maintenance of any kind.
The downside was that that we had to land in montego bay airport, then drive an hour to our hotel. No one really wants to drive an additional hour before arriving at your hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Marianne,

We highly appreciate your kind note. It is wonderful to know that we have achieved your full satisfaction in our Hotel, also that you were fascinated by the excellent food, cleanliness of the room, maintenance of the property, buffet, and the entertainment around the pool.

We are already looking forward to host you again in our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Jamaica.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We flew here for a 5 day stay, it was very hot and humid, 88 feels like 100 per weather app., the AC in our room did not cool very well, call to fix twice, it got temperature down to 85, that seems to be the temp they use most in Jamaica. Our door key went bad 2x, had to walk way down to front desk to reload keys. We were on the 5th floor, the elevator was out of order for a day, had to to go up and down the stairs for a day, and my wife just had a new knee, so was hard on her. they give you and ice bucket, but no ice machine in hotel, have to go to the bar for ice. They have a buffet for 3 meals a day, but was not very good, did not recognize some foods, and others were miss labeled. They only have WIFI in the lobby, and it is very slow and etc. there high end restaurants are very good, the place is very clean and well kept, lots of pools and bars. Wished they had a hot tub. the tours and busses are run very good, but its hot and dirty in Jamicia.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the 5th floor, is the hottest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear John,

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to know that the cleanliness, pool, bars, the Dolce Vita a la carte restaurant and the well kept of the Hotel captivated your attention.
On the other hand it is with regret that we have learnt that we didn’t meet your expectations during your recent stay at our Hotel. There is absolutely nothing more important to us than to achieve our guests satisfactions; your comments become a tool through which we can evaluate our performance and take actions where needed.

In relation to the comment about the elevator, we would like to offer our sincerest apologies and kindly point out that in our Hotel all the elevators are connected in each building to prevent possible issue with the malfunction or possible breakage so that our guests have the opportunity to make use of others, Please, also notice that at our buffet the food are labeled in five different languages. Talking about the free WIFI we can say that our guests can find it in different areas such as pools restaurants, lobby and all the areas around these, also at the room service but with an extra charge.

We sincerely apologize again for all the inconveniences experienced. We would like also to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future, we are confident we will be able to change your current perception of us.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful resort from October 10-17/13. What a paradise! We were part of the Diamond club and treated as a king and queen during our entire stay.

Prior to our arrival, I communicated via email with a lovely lady named Kenesha of the Diamond Club to set up all our A la Carte dinners for 7 pm, our room location and a special lobster dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Kenesha is very professional and answered all of our questions. She is a delight to deal with.

Check In:

As Diamond Club members we had a private, quick and efficient check in. Kenesha, whom I corresponded with prior to arrival greeted us with a smile. We were given a refreshing non-alcoholic cocktail while she gave us an orientation of the hotel, explained our package and map, and handed our dinner vouchers and bracelets.

The safety deposit box was included in our package; however we needed to provide a $50 reimbursable deposit for the key and instructions. That process which is handled at the front desk was quick and efficient.

A porter brought our luggage to our room and ensured everything was functioning properly. Great service!

Enryn was also very helpful and a pleasure to deal with during our stay. Due to a mix up with our lobster dinner, needing to be re-scheduled, we received a fruit basket, bottle of rum, bottle of champagne, two GPB T-Shirts and extra coffee. That was an extremely generous and wonderful gesture which was not expected.

Room:

We stayed in room 18505 (fifth floor) overlooking the ocean. What a view!

The room was clean and beautiful. AC was great! It had a four post king size comfortable bed, dresser with mirror, night stands, mini fridge, wicker table with glass top, 2 wicker chairs, a couch that can be used as a bed, a TV, radio clock, a closet big enough to hand all our clothes, ironing board, iron, umbrella, extra pillows and blankets, and a balcony table and two chairs. Having coffee on the balcony every morning was a treat.

The bathroom is huge, all marble. It has a Jacuzzi tub, separate shower stall and toilet room. Shampoo, gel soap, regular bar soap and lotion were replenished accordingly.

Diamond club members had robes, slippers and beach towels in their room upon arrival.

Our room was cleaned and fridge replenished early every morning. It was a treat to come in every afternoon to a cleaned room.

Although not an issue for us because we brought our own towels, the room towels were most often replenished at night only (around 8 ish) which could create problems for some families. One night we didn’t get any towels or floor mat. Obviously a towel washing management issue. Perhaps Management could look at making sure there are enough clean towels on the resort to replenish while the dirty ones are getting washed.

The resort grounds are immaculate and well groomed. Very stunning.

Food:

Nothing bad to say about the food, it was absolutely amazing.

• Buffet: We ate at the buffet for breakfast every morning, for lunch when we spent the day at the pool and for dinner on two occasions. There dishes were plentiful and provided a vast selection of meals. They were also well presented, having different food carvings. Many thanks to Neisha, Natasha, Marvin and Maxine for always providing excellent service with a smile!

• Pisces Shack: Located by the beach and volleyball court. They served the most amazing BBQ’d jerk chicken ever along with other tasty buffet items. Staff were very nice, especially the jerk chicken chef, he was very entertaining. There was always a steel drum band playing during lunch time.

• Garden Grill Restaurant: The ambiance was warm and nice. We were greeted by a lovely hostess who offered us a nice cocktail prior to being seated. Raymond the Maitre D’ was also very nice. Appetizers were buffet style along with the desserts. Everything was so yummy. For entrees, I had the “surf & turf” – tenderloin and shrimp and my husband had the ribeye. Both our steaks were very tasty and cooked as ordered. Steve, our waiter was humorous and charming. It was a fun night.

• Picasso Restaurant: Well greeted by the hostess and offered a cocktail. Restaurant is cozy and well decorated. The appetizers were buffet style and very good. I had the trout and my husband had the snapper. Both meals were very tasty. Desserts were served at the table. I had the trilogy of cream fritters and my husband the chocolate mousse. Oh so yummy! Many thanks to Kenesha our server. She was bubbly and very sociable.

• Dolce Vita: Our special lobster dinner (cost $100) was served on the patio of the Dolce Vita Restaurant. We were well greeted, by name and offered a cocktail prior to being seated. The table setting on the patio was romantic and breathtaking. Our menu included a lobster bisque, lobster salad, lemon sorbet, lobster tail entree, pineapple mousse dessert, and coffee, a bottle of white or red wine and bottle of champagne. Dinner was out of this world. Many thanks to our amazing waiter Richard and Chef Sanchez for a making this night a remembering one! Would highly recommend this dinner!

• Don Pablo Restaurant: Very inviting restaurant. Greeted with a smile and cocktail. The meal was scrumptious. We both had the wild mushroom soup to start. For the appetizer, I had the crispy shrimp and melon and my husband had the smoked salmon tartar. We both enjoyed the Chateaubriand entree which is plated at your table. For dessert, I had the chocolate mousse and my husband had the banana flambé which is prepared at the table. OMG...so delish! Our waiter Jermaine was fun and entertaining and made our night so enjoyable!

• Mikado Restaurant: Although the food was very good, this was our least favorite restaurant. We were seated at a Tappan table for 10 including a cranky two year old child making the dinner not so enjoyable. Following the show, the child was allowed to run around the “hot table”. We were both afraid he would put his little hands on the table and get burnt. We both love the company of children; however this surrounding was not conducive to young children, especially at 8 pm at night! Next time, we will choose a table for two on the floor instead.

Pool and Bar:

Pool is a very long winding river with two pool swim up bars. It was always clean and refreshing. Never had to wait too long for drinks and never had an issue with getting shaded chairs. Nathan the bartender was quite entertaining and Tyrone the lifeguard was a pleasure to talk to. There were tons of activities for both kids and adults and the music wasn’t too loud. It would be nice if the hotel offered little treats such as popcorn, chips or nachos with salsa in the afternoon as the buffet was closed between lunch and dinner. If you wanted a snack, you needed to go to the Pisces Shack which is far away from the pool.

Beach and Bar:

There are two beaches. One near the wedding gazebo which is full of rock and coral and you need water shoes to swim. The other one is located by the volleyball court and Pisces Shack. It’s beautiful and the water is warm and clear. Sand is soft and never gets hot. There is also a coral section to the side with fish, sea urchins and other little creatures. We also saw a baby octopus. We never had problem getting shaded chairs. Check out Gerrick at the Beach Bar, quite the character and super bubbly guy. He will make you “happy” drinks!!

Wedding Gazebo:

It was beautifully decorated for daily weddings. We met a couple who were married two days prior to our arrival and they highly recommended having your wedding at this resort. It was top notch all the way. We saw their wedding photos and they are absolutely gorgeous.

Misc:

The shows / entertainment were good and located in the mini onsite shopping plaza. You could also find nice shopping shops, disco, sports bar and burger place. They also had movies rolling on a big screen prior to shows.

Pool Towel stand is located by the pool and Orchid Buffet Restaurant. We never had issues with exchanging our towels.

This resort offers many cobblestone walkways and stairs. It also has elevators in every building.

There are two bars located in the main lobby and the main terrace. WIFI is also available in the main lobby.

Weather was absolutely hot and gorgeous every day from early morning (6 ish) to about 3 pm. Then, the clouds would set in and some days we had a storm at around 4 pm lasting about 15 to 30 minutes. It cooled down the temperature which was refreshing. The sunsets were amazing. The nights were clear and moon and stars illuminated the sky. It was beautiful.

Bring tons of sunscreen, the sun is extremely hot! We brought bug spray however never used it. Bring immodium and pepto bismol as they do not sell it on the resort.

There are timeshare invitations. We politely declined and were never bothered again.

Smile and talk to the staff, especially about their family. Their faces light up and they carry a wonderful conversation with you! Tip your chambermaid, waiters, bartenders and hotel workers for their help and service. They work so hard! We also provided Halloween chocolates along with their tip. Small things like that go a long way! Our chambermaid left us notes of thankfulness and gratefulness for the little gifts and tip we left her every day.

Being pleasant goes a long way. We really cannot understand how some people staying at this resort can be so miserable and rude towards other patrons and staff.

All in all, this was an amazing holiday and we highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Room 18505 on the fifth floor is close to the ocean / pool and has a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank FoxyRoxy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

We have felt proud to know throughout your detail review that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay in our hotel.

It is rewarding to see that we have been able to impress you with the room view, beach, entertainment, bars, the variety and quality of the food choices, a la carte restaurants and overall the warmth and friendliness of our staff.

We really value your recommendation of our hotel to other possible travelers and cannot wait to serve you again in our resort.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Service was terrible.We had a wedding with more than 20 in our group. We stayed in different parts of the hotel & experienced the same dissatisfaction. Asked for a roll away bed 3x's then day of the wedding an iron-since the one that WAS in the room was gone- asked 3x's & received 45 min before wedding! Never washcloths without asking. Housekeeping was seen holding a guests dress up to show another maid. So many things went wrong- be careful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby. My mom struggled walking to our room that was a distance. Be read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 357bj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Is with great regret that we have learned that your experience with some of our facilities have not met all your expectations, we really sorry for any problem you might have passed through. We can assure you that this is not our intention, since at Bahia Príncipe, we have very clear that our guests are the most important, as well as their comments.

Please rest assured that all your comments are being taking serious and have been forwarded to the relevant department’s heads in order to avoid the reoccurrence of such a situation and corrective measure will be taken; as a service-oriented company, our objective is not only to fulfill, but also surpass our guests’ expectations to avoid this kind of situations in the future.

We are also very surprise to have received your remarks towards the attitude of our staff, because on the contrary, we always received excellent comments from our guests about our staff attentiveness and professionalism. We would like also to inform you that we constantly train our staff members through our Human Resources Department as well as the Bahia Principe Quality Department in order to ensure that we provide our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Jamaican people. We are deeply sorry we could not impress you in this sense.

We sincerely hope that this issue does not tarnish your perception of us and you could give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed another wonderful vacation at the gran Bahia principe with our 9month old and another couple and their 4 yr old.

Overall we all had a great time. The resort has everything needed and more. Staff wonderful, food great, room clean. We were located in building 18 which made us close to everything. I wouldn't consider myself to be the "active" type but based on all the reviews complaining about the amount of walking I must be ;) as I didn't find it too overwhelming even lugging around the kids and their gear!

Weather too was great - although it called for thunderstorms daily we only had a few mins of rain in the early evenings which was refreshing!

Only negative; this was the first time that we had been since the "VIP" sections/programs have been introduced and found this to be less than desirable for many reasons. The pressure to buy the timeshares and be a part of the sectioned off "VIP" areas is not something we had expected to be a part of our stress free vacation! First time at a resort that had sectioned off areas and personally found that it took away from the "Jamaican vibe" that we love!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you had a great time in our Resort and enjoyed the friendliness of our staff, gastronomy and room facilities.
We thank you for sharing your comments concerning your experience with the Privilege Club representatives. We assure you they have been shared with the Club Management for internal review.
It was an honor to be chosen to spend your vacations in our Hotel in Jamaica and we would like to see you again and provide you another wonderful stay.

Yours sincerely,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Hi just returned home from GBP Jamaica , missing everyone already .
We have travelled all over the world , but never met so genuine & friendly people .
This is a stunning beautiful hotel , very clean , fantastic food ok we sometimes had a grumpy waitress on a morning , but not everyone likes mornings including my husband
We had no issues whatsoever with anything , from landing in Jamaica to leaving on our flight .
I am so pleased I chose this resort to scatter both my parents ashes , because I know in my heart they are with caring , genuine friendly people .
I'd like to say a big Thank you to everyone at GBPJ for making our stay special , giving us the most beautiful view from our room ,
Hope to see you all again soon , big hug to Donna at the beach ❤️ xx

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Gillian,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted reading your words of gratitude in relation to our staff as well as the beauty of our property.

It is also rewarding to learn that we were able to fulfill all your expectations during your last trip to our Hotel in Jamaica. In our Resort we have a commitment and it is, does our best to achieve or guests satisfaction.

Thank you for your review once more and we are more than ready waiting for you on your next trip in our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Jamaica.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
1.4 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
12.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
52.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
35.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: $160 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing